We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel that manages to be good although being aged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel that manages to be good although being aged”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our two kids. Nice spacies rooms, good internet, large bathroom + seperate toilet. Nice restaurants in the hotel. Ship transport to the nearby city 300 meters away + cable way to the nearby 1356 meter peak. Good to the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bos_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    210
    78
    23
    19
See reviews for
178
148
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed Hakone Prince Hotel for 2 nights in Sep 2013 and it's very well known hotel in local. We are amazed by their surroundings in the hotel, huge mountains and the peaceful sea. My husband and I love to sit on the bench to enjoy the magnificant view right in front of us; Also, I definitely recommend you to try the French dinner once in Prince Hakone hotel. Perhaps it's becuase we are really hungry but the whole set is so delicious and fresh!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jzdeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,302 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,033 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Mar2012. It located on the banks of lake Ashi giving you a view of Mount Fuji.
Hotel offers guests a free shuttle service to get to the hotel from the nearest rail station which is Odawara Station.
the hotel is huge…… Check in was smooth for us. Rooms are cozy..bathrooms are clean and modern. We enjoyed the Hot spring pool in the hotel and also a massage. It’s quite a relaxing place. You can stroll in the garden backyard. Enjoy the lake and Mountain view. Evenings are generally cold lake side.
The hotel has a cute little souvenir shop, a cafe shop. For dinner you don’t have much choice thou but to be in the hotel and relish French delicacy.
If you looking for quite place to simmer this is the right stop!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel has beautiful views over the lake, but the draw back is that it is out of Hakone itself where the Hakone 'round route' fanicular and boat trips start. If you are only here for 24 hours I am not sure it is the best place to stay, although it is in a fairly quiet location. The hotel lobby is grand, but our room (without a lake view) was very tired and disappointing. Whilst clean, it had drab and dated decor and the hotel felt soulless. Clearly the selling point for the hotel is the lakeside location and the courtesy bus transfer which happens three times a day from Odwara station was welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelledpartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osan, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I only spent one night at the hotel, but the whole atmosphere was incredibly relaxing. While it is a bit out of the way, it's worth the extra bit of cash for the taxi there as the atmosphere of this hotel was absolutely peaceful. The hotel sits on the shore of Lake Ashi and as I wandered outside after dinner and enjoyed the peace and quiet, I found it to be the exact opposite of Shinjuku, the area I'd just come from. The staff is polite and more than helpful, the hotel/my room was clean, the room was large, the bathroom decently sized and the onsen, a delight to have onsite. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeMartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As soon as we arrived we went to reception to book a meal in the hotel for that evening. We were informed that there were 2 separate restaurants; one Japanese and one French. We decided to go for Japanese - but were then told that they only had a table for 5.30pm - way too early for us. So.... we requested the French and were told that it was fully booked!

Bearing in mind that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, I got a bit irritated ('This isn't good enough' etc) and a phone call was made. Sure enough a table was found for 7.30pm.

So, imagine our surprise when we turned up at 7.30 to find the restaurant more than half empty!

I have thought long and hard - and can find no palatable explanation. Forget customer service - this was downright obstructiveness - but on what grounds I just don't know.

The building is a maze of curved concrete corridors with eerie fog rolling in over the lake - a great location for a Japanese remake of 'The Shining'. The hotel itself is quite interesting architecturally with an 80's Motel/Barbican sort of vibe, but the 'resort' is run down and a bit depressing. It was too misty to see Mount Fugi.

I guess I would feel more charitable towards the place if it wasn't for the strange incident which did rather sour our stay. We left the following morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night during our stay in Japan. If you are looking for a quiet hotel outside then you will most likely like this hotel. This is not what we expected when we booked our Mt. Fuji tour, but it was fine by us. The restaurants around this hotel closes around 5:00. The busses also stop running around 5:00. The restaurant that serves dinner in the hotel is very expensive. We got a cab to an Italian restaurant about 10 minutes away. Our outdated room was spacious and fine for one night. If we had stayed longer I would have been disappointed. If you have limited time I would not suggest this hotel or Hakone. It's very sleepy and there is not a lot to do or see. The lake is the prettiest part of the entire area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIll2012826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#24 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Ashinoyu Onsen
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
#41 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
#6 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#39 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
#37 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#3 of 241 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko

Property: The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Address: 144 Motohakone, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0592 , Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakone Prince Hotel is built right on the shore of Lake Ashi, surrounded by greens of Kamiyama, and Komagatake.You can see Mt.Fuji over Lake Ashi, and surrounding forests. We have wide variety of guest rooms including cottages and family rooms. An open-air hot spa which has a beautiful view of the lake, it will ease you and refresh you on your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Prince Hotel Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing