We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I only spent one night at the hotel, but the whole atmosphere was incredibly relaxing. While it is a bit out of the way, it's worth the extra bit of cash for the taxi there as the atmosphere of this hotel was absolutely peaceful. The hotel sits on the shore of Lake Ashi and as I wandered outside after dinner and enjoyed the peace and quiet, I found it to be the exact opposite of Shinjuku, the area I'd just come from. The staff is polite and more than helpful, the hotel/my room was clean, the room was large, the bathroom decently sized and the onsen, a delight to have onsite. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeMartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 501 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

As soon as we arrived we went to reception to book a meal in the hotel for that evening. We were informed that there were 2 separate restaurants; one Japanese and one French. We decided to go for Japanese - but were then told that they only had a table for 5.30pm - way too early for us. So.... we requested the French and were told that it was fully booked!

Bearing in mind that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, I got a bit irritated ('This isn't good enough' etc) and a phone call was made. Sure enough a table was found for 7.30pm.

So, imagine our surprise when we turned up at 7.30 to find the restaurant more than half empty!

I have thought long and hard - and can find no palatable explanation. Forget customer service - this was downright obstructiveness - but on what grounds I just don't know.

The building is a maze of curved concrete corridors with eerie fog rolling in over the lake - a great location for a Japanese remake of 'The Shining'. The hotel itself is quite interesting architecturally with an 80's Motel/Barbican sort of vibe, but the 'resort' is run down and a bit depressing. It was too misty to see Mount Fugi.

I guess I would feel more charitable towards the place if it wasn't for the strange incident which did rather sour our stay. We left the following morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night during our stay in Japan. If you are looking for a quiet hotel outside then you will most likely like this hotel. This is not what we expected when we booked our Mt. Fuji tour, but it was fine by us. The restaurants around this hotel closes around 5:00. The busses also stop running around 5:00. The restaurant that serves dinner in the hotel is very expensive. We got a cab to an Italian restaurant about 10 minutes away. Our outdated room was spacious and fine for one night. If we had stayed longer I would have been disappointed. If you have limited time I would not suggest this hotel or Hakone. It's very sleepy and there is not a lot to do or see. The lake is the prettiest part of the entire area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIll2012826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staying at the Prince Hakone was a pleasure! The English speaking hotel staff was very nice and room was very comfortable. The onsen hot spring bath overlooking Lake Ashinoko was wonderful after a long day of traveling. The Kaiseki Hana 9-course dinner at Restaurant Nadaman was one of the best meals I have eaten in a long while. The waitress explained what each course was before the dish was presented, I could see the chef peeking out of the kitchen to see how we were doing on the meal so he could send out the next dish. Service was excellent! I will stay at the Prince again on my next trip to Hakone.

Room Tip: Non-smokers: Ask for non-smoking room at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kekoa303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

For those of us who work hard all year long and need to find the best get away....look no further !! At this place you will find the most gracious service. Their hospiltality and warm smile makes you feel like family !! Our stay exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Prince for one night and that was long enough. Reading previous reviews we wanted to book the shuttle bus from the station otherwise the taxi fare would have been extortionate for the 45 minute journey to the hotel. The hotel did not respond to our email and we had to call from a payphone the day before to see what was happening. The receptionist could not speak English and luckily my boyfriend could speak Japanese to book the shuttle.

The shuttle left exactly on time and we got the 1130 one from the station. It only ran about 3 or 4 times for the day. The shuttle dropped a few people of in Motohakone which appeared to be the busier area with a few shops around. Further up the hill we were dropped off at the hotel.

Check in was OK but we asked about the Free Pass around the area and were told that it was only available at Odawara station. This is not true as we bought the Izu Hakone free passes at the bus terminal booth near the hotel. The Odakyu Hakone free pass does not work at the end of Lake Ashi, only this pass which cost about ¥2800 and makes sense if you are going up the cable car and taking the ferry on the lake.

Our room was spacious with harp music playing in the background and the bed comfortable. The problem was that we were next to the cleaners cupboard and above the restaurant which both caused a lot of noise. We asked to change rooms and had to wait about half an hour for it to be sorted out. The second room seemed better but later that night we realised the air con wasn't working and the room smelt of blocked drains. It was too late to change rooms so we put up with it.

The hotel was like a resort with its own shopping arcade, kids zoo, restaurant and bakery. The shops closed at about 4-5 pm. The restaurants at the hotel were really expensive so we had a large lunch at the lunchtime only restaurant before it closed at 3pm, bought some cakes for dinner and walked down to the pier. It wasn't very busy but there were boats coming in every few minutes til about 5pm. The buses also stop at about 3 pm.

The onsen at the hotel was a pretty good experience but beware the mosquitoes outside!
We would not stay at the Prince Hotel in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a special experience staying by the lake with snow all around, a beautiful setting which took advantage of the natural beauty of the area. The rooms are nicely appointed, service is excellent, the spa was clean and relaxing. The food was a little disappointing and transport around isn't all that easy. Put those few issues aside and sample the atmosphere of a very special location.

Room Tip: Lake or towards the Mt. Fuji aspects are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#24 of 244 in Hakone-machi
259 reviews
Ashinoyu Onsen
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
#37 of 244 in Hakone-machi
158 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#33 of 244 in Hakone-machi
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
#15 of 244 in Hakone-machi
316 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#3 of 244 in Hakone-machi
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko

Address: 144 Motohakone, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0592, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $219 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakone Prince Hotel is built right on the shore of Lake Ashi, surrounded by greens of Kamiyama, and Komagatake.You can see Mt.Fuji over Lake Ashi, and surrounding forests. We have wide variety of guest rooms including cottages and family rooms. An open-air hot spa which has a beautiful view of the lake, it will ease you and refresh you on your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Prince Hotel Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing