We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but nit a great location for the Hakone pass” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but nit a great location for the Hakone pass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We booked two nights and found out time ruined by torrential rain (no one's fault obviously).

Had we tried to use the Hakone pass we had bought in Tokyo it would have been a challenge as the boat and rope car from beside the hotel were not included and neither were most of the buses that went by the hotel. If you stay at this hotel don't bother with the pass and pay as you go.

The rooms are large and very comfortable. The Japanese bath house is delightful.

Eating at the hotel is VERY expensive but good quality. They appeared annoyed that we did not book for dinner and kept has waiting for nearly half an hour to get a table in a half full donning room.

Watch out if you want to eat late. We went to bed hungry as we triedto eat at 8.30pm one night!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjh2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    202
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
173
139
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful location and we took advantage of the Togendai ropeway and Kamagotake Cable car to hike along the mountain paths at the top. The onsen had indoor and outdoor pools (for each gender) and were wonderfully relaxing (there are instructions available about the proper etiquette for using onsens if you've never been to one before). The restaurants in the hotel are pricey at the present exchange rate, and the quality of the food was good. We took a taxi to Moto Hakone, the nearest village to the hotel, for a pizza dinner one night - the taxi cost 1200 yen (one way) and dinner (2 pizzas, 1 bottle of wine) cost 7000 yen, so even eating in restaurant outside of the restaurant complex is expensive. On a clear day the views of Mount Fuji from the hotel are breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromupnorthLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The Fuji view room was excellent and, on our stay, lovely views of the mountain.
Hotel service very good. As others have noted the food is good but very expensive- £100 pp for japanese set meal with a few drinks. The european breakfast buffet should be avoided. Onsen was excellent.

Room Tip: Fuji view. Seems pointless to get any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel feels more like a large church than a hotel. It is very large, and has quite a serene, almost eery atmosphere to it. The staff was quite nice and helpful. The restaurants are a bit on the expensive side, however. I would consider this hotel more of a higher-end resort than an actual hotel.

My room was quite large, clean, nicely furnished and had a balcony that opens out to a wooded area. The bathroom was large, clean and nice.

I very much enjoyed the spa. The outdoor hot spring / pool area was very lovely. I highly recommend taking advantage of this amenity.

The weather in Hakone can be variable at times. If you end up having to stay in the hotel, you might find yourself a bit bored. TV variety is quite limited. I'd suggest bringing your own entertainment in such instances, wandering the enormous hotel and shopping area, or spending additional time at the spa.

Overall, it was a very nice hotel. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hotel was lovely but possibly in need of upgrading and modernisation. Tends not to have many non-Japanese there which was good. We did not eat in the hotel but they seemed to have a good range of choices. Room was large with a view of Mount Fuji (in the distance it must be said but still a view). Hotel is on Lake Ashi and area around is nice too. Pickup from Odawara station was good and you really feel out of the hustle and bustle of Japan here. Onsen (indoor and outdoor) was fabulous and clean. It was really well laid out and an enjoyable experience.

Using the Hakone Free Pass was a bit of an issue. There are two passes to buy. One includes a boat trip and a ropeway and is really close to the hotel but that is it and is not really worth it. The other is the Hakone Free Pass which includes a lot more and is good value. However to use it, it is a bit of a hassle. There is a free bus to bring you to the boat trip area from near the hotel but it is very infrequent and we ended up taking a taxi (not cheap). The boat ride is on a pirate ship! and was really good. If you are spending one night in the hotel and want to do all the sights then arrive early, leave luggage and get to the base for the boat when you can. Then take the ropeway, cable car, and train to see the sights. You end up in a little town at the end of the train line where there are lovely little restaurants. Take the local bus (not free and not included in the pass) back to the hotel (tourist info opposite train station was very helpful). You can do the boat ride on the lake the next morning and take the 1pm hotel bus back to Odawara station. Definitely worth doing all the sights and take in the sculpture museum if you get a chance.

Room Tip: View of the lake great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked a double room (the hotel's smallest) and it was by far the biggest, most luxurious room we stayed in during our Japanese holiday. The room had a terrific king bed, a sitting area, a cd player with forest music, beautiful Pola bathroom products, great aircon, even a balcony. Our room was in the ‘west wing’.

Had dinner in the Japanese restaurant - Nakamon? - and it was odd and expensive. Beautifully presented, but the meal was TINY. We had choice of 5.30 and 7.30 and at 8 were asked if we wanted anything else as the kitchen was closing. Bottled wine was hellishly expensive. Restaurant itself is huge and noisy (even with the widely spaced tables and small number of diners) - hard surfaces everywhere - floors, ceiling, walls, no table clothes, timber chairs, huge amounts of glass.

Breakfast was included with our package. Had this in the French restaurant and it was FANTASTIC. The French restaurant is the polar opposite of the Japanese. Same space but more tables, carpet on the floor, drapes, etc. As it was daylight looking out across the lake also added to the experience.

Used the open air onsen a couple of times. Was the second onsen we went to during our trip. Amazing sitting in the hot pool looking out across the lake although it was just a bit too hot for us.

If we could have actually got it to work, booking one of their online packages such as room, dinner and bfast was cheaper than any price we could find online. Unfortunately, when I contacted The Prince Hakone they were of no help with my issue with their website. There was all of JPY1100 difference for our bed and bfast package but the dinner package would have been a bargain.

We loved The Prince Hakone and wished we'd booked two nights.

Room Tip: If you book a double, ask if you can look at something other than the carpark. Trees would be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was a beautiful find and me & my friend got a fab deal online. When we reached the hotel we saw our room was actually worth approx £600!! We paid approx £100 i think. I dont know what the star rating is on this hotel but it seems like at least 5star. Really vast and plush against the stunning backdrop of Lake Ashi. Our room was massive with a queen bed each, a dressing area which we loved and big bathroom. Only thing I wd say is more a place for couples, perfect for honeymoon! As opposed to a couple of friends! But we still loved it as it was so peaceful and a welcome retreat from busy hot Tokyo. Hakone is a very quiet area.

You must be very organised as things in Hakone shut down early afternoon! Buses stop running at 3pm so make sure u plan how u are going to get home! The hotel had amazing restaurants but at minimum £50 a head per meal was not cheap!! However this was a buffet and the waitress catered fabulously for my vegetarian friend, the chef made meals specially for her nothing was a problem. By the way you will most probably end up eating in the hotel as there is very little nearby and chances are you would have an effort trying to get back to hotel given that transport shuts downs early afternoon.

There is a hot springs bath but when me & my friend turned up in our lovely new bikinis were told you must go in naked!! So just be prepared for that, we declined!
On a clear day you can see Mt Fuji but unfortunately we didnt due to the heavy mist which is typical of the area so bare that in mind to avoid dissapointment.

(NB if you are veggie- you will have probs finding food in Japan unless you eat fish, my veggie friend was told a lot of food had no meat no fish but as her 'taster' I found 99% of the food did, so she lived on plain pasta/noodles a lot of the time)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JumpingJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Ashinoko Onsen
Hakone Hotel
Hakone Hotel
#27 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Fujiya Hotel
Fujiya Hotel
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
#36 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
Odakyu Hotel de Yama
#10 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
#42 of 242 in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko

Property: The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Address: 144 Motohakone, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0592 , Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakone Prince Hotel is built right on the shore of Lake Ashi, surrounded by greens of Kamiyama, and Komagatake.You can see Mt.Fuji over Lake Ashi, and surrounding forests. We have wide variety of guest rooms including cottages and family rooms. An open-air hot spa which has a beautiful view of the lake, it will ease you and refresh you on your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi
Prince Hotel Hakone Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing