We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Japanese Sweets and Matcha”
Review of Chimoto Ekimaedori

Chimoto Ekimaedori
Ranked #2 of 14 Dessert in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Description: This is a Japanese traditional sweet shop.Located in the Hakone hot spring town.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a Japanese traditional sweet shop.Located in the Hakone hot spring town.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

You can enjoy Japanese Traditional Sweets and Matcha(Traditional Fine Grained Green Tea).
お抹茶と優しい味のパフェなどが楽しめます。店員さんも気がきいて箱根の楽しいひと時を引き立ててくれる場所だと思います。
能享受日式的传统的抹茶和甜品。口味也很不错。强烈推荐的一家。

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank MichioH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Me and my friend just got here by accident after we got lost in the streets of Tokyo. To our surprise we met the most friendly people you can imagine. The food and service was brilliant and if you want to you can also learn traditional calligraphy or dress as a Ninja. I would recommend anyone who visits Tokyo to drop by at this wonderful place.

Best regards from Germany

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Tobias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

This small shop serves a limited number of different Mochi but all are wonderful and each gets it's own package and style. The taste is possibly the best we had in Japan.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

it's a wonderful stop to make at this tiny cafe for japanese tea and mochi.
the shop is small, having a capacity of like 10 pax.
it's very cosy and relaxing place.

they offer choice of "set" with drinks and mochi, and also sets with free choices of yours on different combinations of your likes.

we ordered the red bean soup with grilled mochi, tasted terrific.
also ordered the matcha, which was great too.

a nice spot!
please note it's closing early, like 4:30pm and the queue would be suspended earlier than closing.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

It's super soft with very a light citrus flavour. It matches so well with green tea. I don't usually like Japanese rice cakes as they are too sweet but this one is very special. Must try. Just buy one from their shop costs 210 yen but it's better to sit down to eat their set next door for 700 yen with hot or cold green tea. They have other types of sweets but I like the traditional one best. Can't buy too many home as all of them last 4 days only.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank kmzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimoto Ekimaedori also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Chimoto Ekimaedori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing