We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy gyozas, still trying to find the pork”
Review of Gyoza Center

Gyoza Center
Ranked #6 of 484 Restaurants in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We went to Gyozas center after saw it in Lonely Planet guidebook.
It seems the place burned and they are running a temporary place. Only take away is available but with a room to dine in.
The problem was not the premises.
The gyozas are very greasy, moreover, even it's indicated there is pork and lard in all gyozas, we cannot find any meat in it (see pictures, "cabbage and pork" and "stamina with garlic" types).
We told at the counter and to the cook, there is no meat, they said there is a "little little" pork! The cook show us the bowl with mixed vegetable and pork, and yes there was a "little little little" pork, almost nothing.
We like veggie meals but we like also to have what we pay for.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Vanemarc974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2019

The restaurant suffered a fire a while ago, however they are still making beautiful gyoza, and have a room upstairs which appears to be a local community hall, where you can sit and eat. It's easy to miss the new location, but just go up the hill from where the restaurant used to be and you'll see it to your left. When we went there were a few people on the street welcoming and directing us. I highly recommend getting gyoza from here, they were truly amazing! Service is lovely too.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

This place seems to have burned down with in the last year. A sign seems to indicate that the may do take out from another location.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

When we visited the restaurant was only offering takeout after a fire. However they have a room upstairs and some tables outside where you can sit if the weather is good. All made worthwhile by the delicious dumplings - tasty fillings and with just the right amount of crunch. Try the Kimchi and Japanese herb. Not to be missed!

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank I8948KHpetert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Stopped by this small roadside restaurant after a visit to the sculpture garden. It’s easy to miss from the street. Look uphill and there’s a small sign with English translation. Appears to be a family business. At time of visit they were recovering from a fire in the kitchen so it was take away service only but they still offered plenty of seating. Delicious gyoza, friendly staff and English menu.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 78seanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyoza Center also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Gyoza Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing