We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST see”

Hakone Venetian Glass Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,329.87*
and up
Private Chartered Taxi Tour to Hakone from Tokyo
More Info
$1,329.87*
and up
Private Chartered Taxi Tour to Hakone from Yokohama
Ranked #6 of 102 things to do in Hakone-machi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A MUST see”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is in my opinion one of the more stunning places to visit and I will go back again if ever in Hakone. It is like walking into a beautiful picture book complete with a lovely restaurant and Italian men singing opera. The glass is stunning of course but the setting with the gardens, Italian buildings, mountains and water make you feel you have dashed off in a time machine to another country. Don't miss this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank birchwoodfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    331
    85
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“So much better than I expected”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am always a bit dubious about themed museums but this one is very interesting and apart from whatever the exhibition is the gardens are beautiful to wander around in. The current exhibition is about mosaic work in both glass and wood featuring both Murano glass and Japanese woodwork. I usually avoid souvenir shops but this one has a vast range of some very desirable bits and pieces as well as the usual tat. I fell in love with a glass plate and now it is mine! Within the souvenir shop area are another two galleries with exhibitions by international artists. Don't miss them. The on site cafe Terrazza is good value for lunch, quality food at reasonable prices. If you buy your entrance ticket atmyour hotel and with your Hakone Free Pass you can get a discount.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Need own transport or catch local bus to get there. Probably more for ladies, but really spectacular.....trees and bushes made from austrian crystals. Very specacular when sun is out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Beautiful Italian style villa set in tranquil gardens dotted with glass artworks in the form of sculptures, trees and chandeliers. Interesting glass museum but my favorite by far was spending the afternoon in the lovely terrace restaurant sipping some bubbly while listening to an Italian crooner and looking out at the amazing view.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dallia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Visit a Venetian Museum in Japan??”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I agreed with the previous review, i also think that it was quite odd to visit a venetian Museum in Japan. Tourists come to Japan mostly because of its unique culture and distinctive lifestyle, so i think this museum is built for the local and give them the environment to experience what it would be like in Venice. But it was quite impressive with all the glass decorations. But be careful if you are with kids, because you don't want them to bump into anything, and you wouldn't want to look at the price tag.. haha

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jinxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakone Venetian Glass Museum also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Venetian Glass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing