We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
98
56
18
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
98
56
18
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool absolutely blown away magnificent experience sake tasting superior room information desk free coffee and tea hot tub on the balcony cover charge shuttle bus mountain view amazing hotel western breakfast japanese design onsen tub modern hotel public onsen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 203 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

Billed by our travel agent as a typical Japanese Ryoken it is nothing like that. It is a pleasant hotel with the unique feature of your own hot tub on the balcony and tatami matting in the room.
Check in was slightly chaotic but the restaurant provided an excellent traditional Japanese dinner.
Service throughout is pleasant and adequate rather than exceptional.
Overall, a pleasant but forgettable experience.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is amazing!

The room views are incredible. I would recommend requesting a room with mountain views as I noticed some rooms were facing the street. We could hear the steam while we were on the balcony in the bathtub. The Onsen water comes directly to the suite tub.

The onsen itself was beautiful. It had an infinitely style pool. The bath area was very well kept and clean.

Breakfast and dinner were extremely good! I have allergies and the restaurant manager offered me amazing substitutes for some of the items on the menu.

I would strongly recommend booking half board as the hotel is secluded. There is a large indoor waterpark across the street that had some food options.

Hotel was easy to get to from the main Hakone train station.

All in all, I would definitely go back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Savvy-Explorer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

Luxury hot springs hotel in Hakone. Beautiful lobby, nice rooms with private hot springs bath on patio if requested. Western breakfast option available. Dinner is traditional Japanese but 1 night was Japanese fusion cuisine. Teppan and Shaba Shaba restaurant on the grounds along with old noodle shop that used to be a home. Had beautiful gardens. Hotel shuttle available. A more family oriented hotel on grounds too

Room tip: Room with private hot springs bath
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank countrygrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Our family of 11 including grandparents & children really enjoyed the indoor onsens with bubbles, the outdoor infinity pool onsen with Mountain Views and best of all the outdoor onsen with a waterfall view. It is so great that they swapped the different onsens on alternate days between men & women so everyone could enjoy all the different views!

The breakfast was good but the same everyday. Dinner was amazing and different everyday. Really nice sashimi, seafood soup, duck rolls, strawberry mousse cake etc. The bar & lounge has nice sandwiches with a lovely view of the garden. Serene.

On our last day, the garden opened after the snow was gone. Beautiful to walk up the stairs by the stream to take photos.

The rooms were nice and modern although the air cond vents seemed a little dusty.

The hotel is also not far from local attractions such as the pirate ship ride on Lake Asahi, The Prince Hotel cable cars, aquarium & petting zoo plus the Gotemba outlet mall.

We had a great time! Would love to go back again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 521jessicay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019

...unfortunately, we only had one.

Our travel agent booked us here saying it was similar to a ryokan; that's not really accurate. It was more of a hotel than a ryokan, but nonetheless it was a magnificent experience.

First, a tip: use one of the luggage delivery services to send most of your luggage to your next destination. Then, if you come in the morning, while at the Hakone-Yumoto train station, have the Hakone delivery service deliver your overnight bag to Kowakien Ten-Yu. That will make your time in Hakone easier to manage. But, if you can do 2 nights here, we suggest coming from Tokyo in the mid-afternoon, to arrive at the property around 4:30-5pm; that will give you enough time for a pre-dinner bath (or dinner at 7 and an after-dinner bath), either in the onsen or in a private tub on your balcony (if, like me, you're too western for an onsen).

The hotel restaurant was excellent. They also did a great job working around our list of food issues/restrictions.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeligPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews