We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
93
162
76
25
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
93
162
76
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese style room kaiseki dinner shuttle bus highly recommend hotel small bus outdoor onsen buffet restaurant tatami mats nice hotel yen per person hotel guests japanese experience hot springs hakone station booked this hotel hotel onsen family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 374 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

We spent one night here. Our room was very nicely appointed and we had an in-room stone bath allowing us to avoid the public nudity requirement of using the shared baths.

Dinner and breakfast were included buffet style and the food was reasonable for a buffet but also no better than average for a hotel buffet.

The price was astonishing really; it was at least five times what we’d pay for the same thing outside of Japan. It was also twice what we paid for a similar experience the other side of Mt Fuji. The challenge I think is that hotels in Japan double the price when you have two children in the room; something we’ve not experienced to the same degree elsewhere.

The view from the bath is of a wooded hill. You can see into other peoples’ rooms though and so the experience isn’t completely private.

The hotel is about a twenty minute slightly uphill walk from the station; we had no difficulty arriving on foot with luggage in tow.

There is an all-inclusive transport pass available called the Hakone Free Pass that can be used all around the Hakone area; it is not free though and it pays to confirm you will actually save money using it before buying it. For us it was cheaper to pay for the transport we used rather than to buy the pass.

We might stay here again, with the hesitation coming only from the price not seeming to align with what we received compared to other options.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrYellowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover780250, マネージャー at Hotel Okada, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you for your feeback regarding your stay in Hotel Okada.
We're glad to know you had a good time, and we're really happy with the words "We might stay here again".
We'll try our best on keeping our service and making it better.
We all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Arrived after 7 pm and took taxi from station. They have a set fee of 730 yens. The shuttle is 100 yen per person. Check in was quick and chose a Japanese style room with an indoor onsen. A bit small for 4 people. We were asked about our dinner time and by the time we were back beds were prepared. Yukata was offered in different sizes. We booked breakfast and dinner. Food was abundant. It was ok. The service was excellent. Wherever you go in Japan the service is great and so were the staff at Okada Hotel. The onsen was also very nice with indoor and outdoor facilities. They had a group of students so we were told when to avoid going to the onsen and dining area which was very nice. There is a swimming pool but it was open in summer.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover780250, マネージャー at Hotel Okada, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you for your feeback regarding your stay in Hotel Okada. We're glad to know you had a good time with us and really happy with your feedback about the staff hospitality. We'll try our best on keeping our service and making it better. We all look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

We are from the uk and thought we would give a traditional hotel a go. We loved it!

We stayed on the floor beds which aren’t as comfy as a proper bed but such a great experience!

Loved the customer care of the hotel too.

However the food is basic and the furnishings are a little tired which meant we could only 4 star

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chrismorrowfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover780250, マネージャー at Hotel Okada, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Chrismorrowfrost

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.
Your helpful comments are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

Looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

Do not recommend you book this hotel, false advertising of their room versus actual
Unprofessional staff and food not as good as they look in website
Stayed in different other hotel in hakone but by far the worst

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover780250, マネージャー at Hotel Okada, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Dear Heidi

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.
We are sincerely concerned and apologize that we fell short on your expectations in some part.

Your helpful comments are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

Easy way to see the Hakone area . The planning and booking was super easy using the Japanican website and Sunrise Tours delivered on what they promised. We stayed at the Hotel Okada with meals included. The Kaiseki dinner was serve in our room, we picked the time for it to be served. It was very delicious and fun to experience a Kaiseki meal. We used the spring baths at the hotel and found them clean and relaxing. I would recommend buying the Hakone transportation package when you get into Odawara station. It is an affordable way of using all the modes of transportation, from the train, cable car, gondola and pirate ship. Fortunately Mt. Fuji was out and gorgeous.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover780250, マネージャー at Hotel Okada, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Dear Terry G

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to your stay with us.
Your helpful comments are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our guests.

Looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews