We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hakone Hotel”
Review of Hotel Okada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Hotel Okada
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hakone Hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

As a family of four, we spent two days here recently (June, 2014). Check in was fairly seamless; the English spoken wasn't perfect. However, I asked to change to a different room and they changed us immediately without a problem (the fault was my own in booking). We had a Western/Japanese room. The tatami beds were laid out nightly for two kids and the other two beds were Western (Sakura Katoba rooms). We enjoyed a specially laid out dinner in the evenings in our room and we felt that the breakfast buffet was very convenient. There were both American and Japanese selections, which allowed us to try new things. Location was great; very easy access to the train station. My only complaint would be a very tiny and older-style bathroom. The price was also fairly expensive, but this seemed to be the case at many Hakone Ryokan. I can't comment on the onsen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetogeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    118
    61
    20
    14
See reviews for
114
58
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel, first night in a standard Japanese style room and the second night in a upgraded room. The standard Japanese room is average, the only complaint was the in room temperature, it was too warm and we couldn't find any switch to adjust it. Since we were too tire (just arrived Japan that day), we just slept through the night and didn't make any complaint. The upgraded room is much better. It has a much modern design, everything was newer. There is outdoor open bath which was extremely nice.

The hot spring is standard, nothing special compare to the others I've been. The pictures certainly make it look nicer than it is.

We didn't purchase the dinner package and we only had a ramen in the basement floor, I am quite happy that they open until 11pm. The ramen is standard.

Overall, the service is good, however the staff doesn't really speak English that well.

If I will go to Hakone again, I will visit another hotel rather than Hotel Okada.

Room Tip: If possible, pay extra and get the upgrade room, it is a totally different experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

At $320 a night this was supposed to be a treat. $320 for a Monday night at that. Months ahead of the date the hotel could not accommodate a request for a no smoking room.

Lobby is very tired and unintersting, it really looks like there has been little done to it for years.

Room 411, what a shock. Extremely dirty carpets especially around the refrigerator. Dirty furniture. Stains on the wall scroll. Stained woodwork, stains on the entrance door. Old yellowed bathroom. For $320........

Of course we expressed our amazement to the duty manager and in fairness he was mortified and did give us an upgrade to a larger room (802) with an indor and outdoor bathroom. This was substantially better and had obviously had some work done on it recently but the bathroom was still old and the bed bases in the western part of the room had holes in them. In the evening we asked if the Japanese style beds could be made up as we wanted to have the experience of sleeping Japanese style (which is one of the reasons we choose this hotel) and were told that we would "get a better night's sleep if we used the Western beds". We insisted.

The outdoor bathroom was a unique experience as was sleeping Japanese style, but with the number of hotels to choose from in the area I can;t believe that this hotel offers alue for money, certainly not by our standards. This must rate as the worst value for money we have ever experienced in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Design123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hakone-machi hotels

Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We travelled with children 5 and 8 and this was the perfect Ryokan hotel for us. After reading reviews about the food being not so good, comments like you will starve so go stock up at 7 Eleven etc made us worry before the trip but I really can not understand those reviews. Yes, the buffet dinner may not be the most genunine or romantic but for us travelling with children this was PERFECT! There was also a playcorner in the restaurant where the children could play. Also a little game corner. We even sang Karaoke in the evening, which we all enjoyed.

I do recommend that you pay the extra money to get Luxury Room with Tatami Floor + Open-Air Bath - its a bit expensive but its definately worth it for the experience. You get breakfast and dinner inkluded in that price too. We all got Yukatas to wear so you do not need to change for dinner. The kids got their own too. My daughter loved it.

The onsen is man and woman separated and you need to be in the nude. The hotel has their own onsen outside and inside and the Spa next door has nice outdoor and indoor baths too.

There is a shuttle bus from the Hakone Yumoto station, costs 100 yen per adult, Cross the bridge, down the elevator and you will see the bus stop. A-course.

We made the entire Hakone Loop sightseeing train, cable car and boat ride in one day. The view of Mount Fuji was breathtaking. Go to Hakone!

Room Tip: Luxury Room with Tatami Floor + Open-Air Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icing70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After leaving the surreal and serene onsen at Matsumoto, Hotel Okada is a real disappointment. At what works out to be about $200 usd per person per night, we were surprised how poor value we were getting. The buffet meals are terrible, and the hotel itself looks like a late 70's throwback. The waters are nice however but I'm sure that's not the doing of the hotel but a function of the area. Not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

not bad, but a bit old hotel. meal could be better, a lot of food, but not very tasty. just ok.
but nice onsen!
rooms are quite big for Japan with a nice view. but the japanese style one we stayed in looks old, as well as furniture.

Room Tip: rooms western-japanese style on upper floors looks newer and better than usual japanese style rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikari-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuo, Japan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The spa in the balcony Veranda is made by china ceramic. it has good design and keeping hot water, gave us relax spa time. Yuno-Sato which connected this hotel has many kind of spa also giving relax time. Dinner was serviced in the room, good taste, mashroom soup, pork on the ceramic board. thank you.

The bus from the Hakone-yumoto station to Okada is every 30min, 100yen.
If you buy a souvenir of the Kamaboko, courier service becomes cheaper.

Helpful?
Thank OZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
466 reviews
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#23 of 242 in Hakone-machi
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
#32 of 242 in Hakone-machi
361 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#7 of 242 in Hakone-machi
143 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Aura Tachibana
Aura Tachibana
#21 of 242 in Hakone-machi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okada

Property: Hotel Okada
Address: 191 Yumotochaya, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0312, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Onsen Hotel in Hakone-machi
#17 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okada 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okada Hotel Hakone Machi
Onsen Hotel Okada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing