We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$128
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline$209
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
115
178
82
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
178
82
28
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 424 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I went to Hakone several days ago..and because I went there with my family,so I need the comfortable room and also easy transportation from station.Okada hotel was quite expensive..cause it depends on how many person will stay in your room.By odakyu train we went to Hakone Yumoto,and from the station we went downstairs to find bus to the hotel.We must pay 100 yen/person.Hotel Okada was quite old hotel..we had booked japanese style..and we were excited with the interior design here..
They had managed time for our dinner..so when we went to have dinner,they prepared our tatami..so nice.Dinner was so great...with variety foods..and many people use yukata here..it's nice to see..
The onsen was so nice too..

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Recently came back from the trip to Hakone. Hotel Okada has great (if somewhat dated) facilities. The Japanese style room was quite interesting. The onsen hot springs was a great experience and the dinner and breakfast buffet also has a great selection of food. However, to get to (and conversely from) the hotel you must take a shuttle bus from the Hakone Yumoto Station so expect to wait some time.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeisureToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Travelling with (Japanese) wife and 2 teenage daughters we needed a really nice hotel with onsen and food for a base to do a 2 day tour of the area using a Hakone Free Pass.

We lanede at Narita at 09:45, took the 10:40 Narita Express to Tokyo, the 12:20 Shinkansen to Odawara then a 20 min train to Hakoe - arriving about 1.30pm We put our bags in a locker at Hakone Yumoto station and went straight on a tour to the cablecar & ropeway before dark. We returned to the hotel about 6pm

Room was ready and was excellent set of Tatami rooms. Bathroom was a bit tired but we never used it as we took advantage of the hotel Onsens (indoor and outdoor - quite nice - uncrowded when we returned from our Hakone trip at 6pm. We spent 1hr in the onsen followed by a Kaiseki style meal in the room at 8pm then sleep!

Next morning - before breakfast - we used the more traditional onsen, associated with the hotel but a 5 min walk away in a different building, which had a wider variety of pools / baths

Breakfast was a large buffet or many styles of food on the 7th floor "sky room". Views were excellent.

After breakfast we checked out and embarked on our second day in Hakone including the "Galleon Ride" before heading back towards Tokyo.

Room tip: Go for the bigger rooms. We got 1108 on the 11th floor. nice view of teh mountain / foliage.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Just came back from the ryokan trip. It is much better than what I expect with the low price of only 9900yen/pax (booked from Odakyu web). This is my first time experiencing ryokan but it was much more comfortable and enjoyable than I foresee with such a steal.

Transport takes a little effort from Hakone-Yumoto station and a 100yen coin to board whenever to or from the ryokan. The trip to hotel only takes less than 5 minutes and rest assured that you won't be lost as the bus driver will name out every station it's going to stop. Okada ryokan is easy to identify and the driver is friendly and helpful. =)

We were welcomed by the ryokan staff. However, there will be a slight little problem with non-Japanese speaking visitors as the staff only speak and understand very basic English. The pro is that the staff still try their best to express themselves and make you comfortable throughout the stay. (I speak basic Japanese though)

Proceeding to our room, it was much larger than we expect in fact quite spacious (can run around the room bare footed on the smooth tatami). Our room is facing half facing the scenaries but it doesn't really bother us. The room is naturally fragrant with tatami smell and extremely comfortable and clean that we just lay down on the tatami itself. TV, water heater and fridge are available too.

Dinner was great! Everything is nicely prepared and exactly presented like a typical kaiseki (ryokan dinner). Sashimi may be a little disappointment (only 1 small dish) as it wasn't fresh and kinda bloody. Personally I only eat raw salmon and ika and quite critical about seafood freshness. It should be alright if you like raw tuna. The rest of the food is more than enough to eat and very delicious. An experience and taste that you can never experience anywhere else except Japan.

The smell in Hakone is unique and the weather is cool. A pair of complementary onsen tickets (Yu no Sato) were given to us as we booked the ryokan and I would really recommend to all! There are many onsen with the open air to the scenery views. Inside the onsen, branded moisturiser and other facial products are generously provided for your own needs. The onsen are very clean.

Foot and body massages are available for free usage in the ryokan. By machine.

Breakfast was okay and normal. There are no restaurant near the ryokan and the hotel cafe is closed on Thursday.

For Romance car+Hakone pass, I would recommend anyone to buy at Shinjuku station in case you miss the train you're going to board (if you are going your first day). Price is the same as you book from Odakyu as they are of the same company. Romance car can save up to 30min or more during travelling. There are plenty of space available so please don't worry about no seats.

Overall the stay is very comfortable! I would highly recommend this to cheaper valuable and traditional ryokan-wanna-experiencer!

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uglybutadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is the first time we are staying in a ryokan. Many new experiences to look forward to like kaiseki dinner, onsen, sleeping on the floor. Paid 56000 Yen for a package from Odakyu that includes RomanceCar tickets and Hakone freepasses.

Access -- Take comfortable RomanceCar train from Shinjuku station. Ride from Tokyo about 1.5 - 2 hours. Once reached Hakone Yumoto station, you can either deposit your luggage at the station or have it delivered to the hotel for a fee. From the station, take a shuttle from opposite the station. Pay 100 yen per adult for a short 5 minutes ride. I think this one is better than to take the publick Hakone bus which is free with the Hakone free pass.

Room -- Was a bit disappointed because it looked old and color a bit faded. Furniture is also a bit old looking. TV is small and no English channels. Sleeping on futon was an experience. Was expecting to feel aches in the morning but didn't. Perhaps slept very well after the onsen treat hte night before. Toilet is small but useable. Room isn't very big but enough for 4 persons to walk around.

Meals -- Breakfast is buffet style in restaurant. Nothing to shout about. Typical fare. Dinner is Kaiseki style served in room. The lady server is very helpful and explain things in her limited English. Many dishes served. Was looking forward to the fresh sashimi but ended up rather disappointed. Fish was big chunk and very tough to chew. Felt too raw even with the wasabi and soy sauce. Other dishses depend on your taste. I finished only about half the dishes I think.

Onsen -- This is first time dipping naked in public pool. Embarrassing at first but the enjoyment of the warm water more than made up for it. Great to relax. There is a foot bath one to start with. Inside hotel, there is a big indoor bath. Nothing special there. Take a short 3-5 minute stroll to the hot bath themepark next door. More enjoyable there to try the different styles outdoor. Cold but very enjoyable and relaxing. A good night sleep will surely follow.

Overall, a good place to try Ryokan for first timers. But don't expect too much especially the room and food.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newpc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews