We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
22
26
9
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
26
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern ryokan suite spa floor futon dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2018

We were expecting a traditional Japanese ryokan and reserved a room with private bath. Though the main building was very traditional and had this flavor, we were accommodated in the annex building which entrance decor was very strange with western "modern" leather sofas, and in the rest of the building you could find pretentious ornaments ( such as a dog sculpture covered with brilliantine) and other western items which pretended to give a "luxurious" feeling, clashing with the rest the Japanese traditional decor. In general the place is nice, well located and with good service, but this decor and some furnitures in the room ( glass tables) which pretended to give a "modern" touch, gave more a 90´s feeling clashing with the rest of the Japanese nice aspects ( tatami with futon, and hinoki wood bathtub. Our recommendation to the hotel: less is more, and stick to one style. Recommendation to future guests: reserve a room at the main building.

Room tip: Nice mountain views. The shiatsu massage was great!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful views from room, excellent food at their restaurant and great service. Love this modern ryokan with private onsen in room. Will definitely return! Free shuttle at mayanoshita station to the ryokan.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Queenfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

We loved this little Ryokan. Only 8 rooms and the service was amazing! Really, the all staff were great, but unfortunately I only remember mr. Sasa. Really helpful and nice guy.
The rooms are beautiful and with great view and privacy. Stunning hot spring wood bath in every balcony. Hot water running non stop. Was fun to use it after a long day of walking.
Breakfast was very good as well. Could be served at the dining room or in room.
Dinner was superb. 14 course dinner. 3 hrs.!
Hotel stuff will pick you up and return to the train station any time.
Also communal indoor/outdoor bath/Onsen on site.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank newac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Complimentary champagne at check-in, excellent dinner with the best shashimi tuna I have ever had, delicious breakfast spread, incredible view of the Hakone valley, and a private Onsen bath that can easily fit 2 people. I researched dozens of ryokans in the Hakone area, and this one had the best value for the price. Incredible stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NoloBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

This hotel is a must for all who are looking for a quite, friendly, welcoming hotel that is off the beaten track. The quality of the accommodation, the food and the service was superb.
We had a room with a private onsen on our balcony with some amazing views of the valley below and the passing trains of the Hakone Tozan railway. Simply idyllic!
Breakfast in the room on our balcony made it a perfect stay.
Our thanks to the management and staff for their high quality service. We were made to feel very welcome.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zzz900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews