We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and exceptional meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night. Worth splurging for the private room with bath!
The room is impeccable with futon and a "kotatsu" - foot warmer table! Its an experience itself to stay here!
The stay usually comes with meals plan - I would suggest that you take it up as food places are located quite far and the meals served there are changed according to seasons! Was there during the Sakura viewing period and the meals there definitely add to the novelty of the season! Furthermore, its Japanese style food - so there can't be anything wrong with it :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joantym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Arrive at Odawara station from tokyo for Hakone trip with shinkansen,make use of JR line. It took 30 minutes with shinkansen. Then Took a Hakone bus togendai route in front of the station, cost 970 yen per person. Took roughly 25 minutes to long winding road, beautiful lush scenery along the way. Stop at Shinanoki Highland Hotel bus stop then just accross the road..the ryokan is on the right . Our room 210, is lovely, japanese twin style bed, very comfy, very clean, two types of tea are provided and no shower. Have to use the public bath inside the ryokan, which is in the second floor. Its great onsen or hot spring experience. Separated women and men onsen, indoor and outdoor bath. very nice, clean and lovely. We book package with breakfast and dinner. Dinner served 6 or 7pm,its standard meal of shabu shabu, like soup, which is so lovely with lots of pickles..just lovely...authentic japanese food,great experience. Breakfast, was amazing too, japanese style brekky, just great. If you want to explore the area, nearby the hotel, go to main street and follow the pedestrian to the right, ask first or grab the discount book from the hotel lobby, go find the small restaurant, run by team lovely husband and wife, home cooking dinning experience lunch called Inakaya Daichi, have their bento, and grab the agedashi tofu...its just amazing!!!!!best i ever had in the whole world..!!..and finished off the dining experience further down, find lucky cafe, its lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

First of all, this ryokan is not near a train station. It's abt 25 min by bus away from the station. Timings though are pretty frequent n the bus stop is just a 1 min walk away. Buses which link to gora n the gotemba premium outlets pass by the ryokan. Couldn't wake up for breakfast but the dinners were pretty good with different sets over the 2 nights. The futons are soft n comfy although it takes a little getting used to. Felt strange not to have a chair. Can't be good for lower backs. ;-p The onsen in the balcony area was just nice for 2 pple, the only reason I chose the place. Felt clean enough. Not much of a view outside but good enough for me. Lovely place for a day or so. Thumbs up !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bladerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1night only, it will be perfect to stay for 2nites. Easy access, dont forget to buy all day bus ticket so you can explore many museum along the way from the ryokan to the cable car.

We got the room next to the onsen, 2nd floor. Divided into some rooms, first is the shoe rack, basin for washing hands n brush teeth and close toilet, then the living room with table and warmer below the table. They put some japanese oemobushi like fruit candy which was nice plus 2different tea. Our kids loves making tea, while enjoying snack and watching TV with warm heater under the table.

the rest of the living room was so big that enough to sleep 4-6 people. In this case me and 1kid end up sleeping here. They only give tatami sleeping bed, which supposed for my 2kids but my son after an hour coming to me sayi g he couldnt sleep there since it was to hard, so I changed bed and yes it's so hard since it's only like a double bed cover put on the floor. For the price we charged which was individual they should give a better/thicker tatami bed.

One of the bed was dirty with stain, we informed the manager on duty and he went up, say sorry and changed it himself right away.

The third room was the bed room with 2bed, each has a matrass on the tatami then the japanese style sleeping bed it was so good.

Then there is door to a little room to put towel and get ready to the patio with private onsen and wash area and a little japanese garden. Everything so neat, clean, perfect.

Next to the room were 2 public onsen, indoor and out door, nobody use it while we were there so it was a perfect experience for us. If someone else was there maybe it will be akward since we never use onsen before which need to be completely nude in public.

The food was the best we had during pur 10 days japan vacation. We end up order more meat for the shabu2. Not cheap but worth the taste. Simply the best.

The downside maybe the bus going back. It was so packed and many tourist bring big and many luggages which they pu on sits and make other stand along the way.

We missed it already, will come again soon. simply the best to experience, but get our room, 2nd floor next to onsen. For meal choose the most expensive one.

Room Tip: Private onsen, next to public onsen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hotel Access:
1) Take Hakone Tozan Railway from Odwara to Hakone-Yumoto (300 Yen) and from Hakone-Yumoto, take Hakone Tozan Bus No.3 towards Sengoku (730 Yen). Pictures of the bus stop is attached to the review. On bus route, get off at Shinanoki Highland Hotel bus stop which is approximately 25 mins from the Hakone-Yumoto bus stop.
2) I believe you can also take the Hakone Tozan Bus straight from Odawara station as well. The cost would be round 1,000 Yen one way and the bus stop to get off for the hotel is also the same as 1).

After you get off, look across the street and you will see an alleyway. Walk up the alleyway and turn right into the first building where the reception will be to check in. The annex complex is across the street from the reception area.

Hotel to Other Areas:
- take the bus going the opposite direction to where you got off for the hotel. If you take the one that goes to Gora station (ask driver) you can ride the cable car to Souzan and then take the ropeway from Souzan to Togendai. From Togendai you can go on the Hakone Sightseeing Cruise which will take you to Hakonemachi. From Hakonemachi, take the bus that makes a stop at Miyanoshita. Cross the street to the other side when you get off and get on another bus bound towards Sengoku/Togendai. You will get off once again at Shinanoki Highland Hotel bus stop in order to arrive back at the hotel.

Check-In:
Friendly and helpful staff. Handy with bus times and what to do in the area. Smooth check in and staff was able to speak some English.

Rooms:
Our room was 202B which was a second floor unit. When you enter the room, to the right was the washroom and some closet space where you can find the bath robes (ukata). Straight on was our tatami sitting area and two thin mattress beds to the right, sectioned off and a bit above the sitting tatami level.

Straight ahead was a modern sitting area. To the right was a mirrored sink and a shower area. Behind the shower was the relaxing private onsen which is exposed to the outside with wooden windows.

Ukata came in different sizes to fit everyone (small, medium, large)

There was a welcome snack which they also sell at front desk. Nice touch.

Private Onsen
- loved this perk! The water was at the perfect temperature and we loved the privacy and it was open air onsen (i.e. only wooden shutter ans all else was outside) The weather during our visit was foggy and windy, however, the breeze was very enjoyable while we were soaking our tired and sore body in the onsen.
- you can drain and refill the onsen by simply unplugging the two tub stopper. The tub will automatically refill.
- shower attached to the private onsen area had shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash as toiletries (big bottles and not take home packages) which we appreciated.

Dinner
- we opted form the gourmet package when we booked with the hotel and it was a great choice. Please see the fabulous pictures of our dinner. Loved and thoroughly enjoyed every bite.
- served at the dining hall which actually had great decor so you are not missing out by not having dinner served in your room (all guest have to go to the dining hall at 6pm or 715pm time slots)

Sleep
- the bed was firm and the pillow was very low. Another pillow would have made the sleep a bit more comfortable but nonetheless, having soaked in the onsen prior to sleeping made for a peaceful and relaxing sleep.

Overall,
- we absolutely loved our stay! The room and food were fantastic! We took a gamble booking the annex as it did not have any reviews in tripadvisor but from conducting my own due diligence and also requesting additional pictures from the hotel itself, we minimized our surprise (only experienced pleasant surprises!)
- private onsen hotels/ryokan are a rare find in hakone, especially for the price that was charged by Ichinoyu. We got the gourmet meal package with annex room with private onsen for approx $400 for 2 people together. You can definitely pay less depending on what you want (room price varies by type and so does the meal plan). We thought that the experience was worth every penny considering the high quality food served and the very well appointed rooms with private onsen. Please not e that many of the quality ryokans in hakone are pricey so the $400 for 2 people price tag is a steal considering what was included.
- we definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for that great hakone onsen experience with the luxury of enjoying it privately together as a couple (most public onsen are same gender only).
-public bath was also available but we loved our private one so much that we did not feel the need to go to the public one.
-highly recommended

Room Tip: definitely a room with a private onsen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LDV15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Cute ryokan-style hotel in a beautiful location in Hakone. We got there by taking the bus from Hakone Yumoto station and getting off at the 'Highland Hotel' stop. The same bus will take you to Togendai for the cruise ship and cable car.

We chose this hotel on the basis it appeared to be the cheapest place that had private onsens in some of the rooms. Unfortunately, I'd booked the hotel through a Japanese website, and somehow managed to book the 'gourmet' package for dinner - more on that later!

Our room was wonderful - very large, with tatami mat flooring (remember to take off your shoes!), futons, a sitting area and a separate washroom. There is no separate shower so you have to use the one outside for washing down before you get into the onsen. Don't worry, the area is screened off to protect your modesty.

We used the onsen in our room after dinner on both nights. The water is blazing hot and you come out looking a little red, but after you get used to the heat it's very relaxing. It was quite cool when we were there, and it was amazing sitting outside in the dark in the onsen, feeling the cold wind on your face. A magical experience.

You don't have to eat dinner at the hotel, but there isn't really anywhere else to go in the area. As mentioned earlier, I'd accidentally ordered the gourmet package so we got bucketloads of food on both nights (including a mountain of sashimi once). The food was amazing, and we loved how inventive some of the dishes were (grilled red snapper in a delicious sauce was one of our favourites) but it really was too much food for two people and we felt bad about wasting so much.

Aside from the one minor issue, we had a pleasant stay in Hakone and would recommend this hotel for anyone else looking for a private onsen on a budget.

Room Tip: The private onsen is definitely worth it. The futons were a little hard (a single mattress instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Sengokuhara Shinanoki (Ichinoyu is a small chain of inns with several locations in Japan) is a romantic little Japanese inn nestled among the Hakone mountains. It is simple, clean, and welcoming. This was our first ryokan experience and we were left with a very favorable impression. Clearly, our favorite feature was the private, in-room, natural (VERY!) hot springs bath (onsen). The scrubbing shower and bath is located on an outdoor patio with privacy blinds. It looked out onto a beautiful garden scene. Note that as a result, the only other ensuite restroom features are a private western-style toilet (complete with a bidet and seat warmer :) and a separate, elegant sink, both located indoors. The sink and toilet are also separated from the sleeping area by a sliding door. We did have to jack up the heat quite a bit; the heater/AC wall unit was somewhat sluggish, though we were eventually warm enough.

Various rooms are available for your selection; we reserved through Japanican but the hotel also has its own website in English. We had a "combo" Japanese/Western style room on the first floor. The table was the typical low-lying, sit on the floor Japanese table, complete with green tea and snacks. Our eleven month old son loved it because it was just tall enough for him to practice finger foods! The twin beds were very firm mattresses (similar to a futon) situated on a slightly elevated corner of the room. The comforter on the beds, however, was clean, soft, and fluffy :) We did hear a little noise (besides from the baby) through the night; we figure it was from the onsen water recirculating through the pipes.

When making the room reservation, we decided to opt in to the dinner and breakfast plan, as we were just staying for one night. The meals feature an elegant presentation with highly authentic Japanese cuisine. We were big fans of the soups and stews, sushi, rice and tofu. We did not like the fried squid (not calamari; the entire squid is served) for dinner. There was
another whole fish (except the eyes were plucked out) served for breakfast the next morning; once you could poke through to the meat with your chopsticks, it tasted pretty good. There are several courses brought to your table for each meal, and an a la carte menu is available, so you can choose alternatives. However, the meals are quite exotic to the American palette. If this ryokan is going to be your home base for several days of exploring Hakone, you may want to consider this restaurant among others.

The public, single-sex onsens are also quite lovely (yukata and slippers provided); one is indoors and is similar to the private, in-room baths. The other public onsen is outdoors, and is more of a mineral bath with sulphur water. As always, the onsen works wonders to refresh our bodies and heal those everyday scratches, bumps, and bruises. Our favorite memory was spending time as a couple in our private, in-room onsen bath. (We brought a Pack & Play for the baby, and had already put him to sleep.) Sengokuhara Shinanoki is one of the best deals we found in Hakone for a private onsen, if this is a priority for you.

The ryokan is located on the outskirts of the park, so not as central of a location as other Hakone hotels we've reviewed. Still, it is fairly easily accessible from the Tokyo area via Odakyu Line's Romancecar, then switching to the Hakone-Tozan Togendai bus at the Hakone-Yumoto station. The bus ride was 25 minutes along a steep, meandering road and 730 yen pp/each way. The ryokan is literally across the street from the bus stop. It's a great choice that we'd highly recommend if you're looking for a simple, intimate, immaculately clean, and authentically Japanese inn. Compared to other lodgings with private, in-room onsens, Sengokuhara Shinanoki's price was very competitive. Staff speaks limited English but printed English information is available; the staff paid the utmost attention to detail.

Room Tip: Less crowded and better prices on a weeknight. Be sure you have an in-room bath :) Use Japanican.c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bklojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#11 of 254 in Hakone-machi
499 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 254 in Hakone-machi
295 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#3 of 254 in Hakone-machi
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#4 of 254 in Hakone-machi
167 reviews
Kowakidani Onsen
Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#29 of 254 in Hakone-machi
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu

Address: 940-2 Sengokuhara, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 254 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $157 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located at the entrance of Sengokuhara. Shinanoki Ichinoyu is accessible to Odawara,Izu and Gotenba. There are 2types of hot spring,the one is sulfureous spring and the other is alkaline plain spring. Moreover,We proudly provide you the beauty treatment. Please enjoy high quality"Ichinoyu Style" relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sengokuhara Shinanoki Ichinoyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing