We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
114
94
46
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
114
94
46
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no shoes cable car yakitori restaurant private onsen tatami area open air bath right hand side and vice versa wagyu steak japanese socks buffet breakfast quiet room hotel is modern check in process huge room stayed here for one night instant noodles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 273 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2019

This is very peaceful hotel.
Great for hot spring. Rooms are good for 3 star property.
Service is ok and pleasant.
Hotel feels little outdated.
Very strange, the do not have restaurant a la cart.
You will need to book prifix dinner, which I did not.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StasNYCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

The hotel is very relaxing, no shoes allowed and you walk around in slippers only. Onsen is very nice, including a small outdoors one. Breakfast was really exceptional with a good Japanese and western range that could even satisfy this vegetarian. Well located for the cable car (5 mins walk without any hills for arriving with suitcases). First experience of a Japanese toilet as well, lots of buttons to press.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Spent three nights here with my wife and drove up from Tokyo. The ride was smooth and lucky we had google map as the road was dark and windy. But once we arrived at this sanctuary, and had our shoes taken and locked away, it felt like the ritual took us to a different parallel universe.

Yes, the staff didn’t speak very good English, but had enough and were polite. The breakfast spread was sumptuous and provided a wonderful start for the day. We had the dinner package which was a set menu every night; the food was ok, not particularly memorable. The best part was certainly the in room onsen, with views of the Hakone valley. Maybe because many rooms had their own hot tubs, I went downstairs to try out the “public” onsen and was rather disappointed as it was pretty small and basic. So I quickly jumped out, dried myself, dashed back to the comfort of my own room and lounged in the tub on the balcony under the starry night.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank YauBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019 via mobile

Having experienced multiple ryokans and onsen hotels in Japan, this hotel is a huge disapointment.

The biggest disapointment comes from the  staff who are ill-trained, inhospitable, and very poor in English. They seldom respond correctly to the questions asked, and do not have the right mind ser of serving guests. (Wrong directions, wrong answers, miscalculation of fees, and most of all, no immediate apologies)  So, do not expect the famous 'Japanese hospitality' here. For example, in the restaurant, a serving waitress chatted with a Japanese guest next to us with her backside (behind) almost touching our table for at least 10 minutes, and no apologies for our complaint! And just look at pics showing their sloppy room cleaning!

Room interior and furniture are cheap and worn-out. Amenities are very stingy (no soap towel, no extra towels at public bath, etc.). 

Some say kaiseki here is very good, but, on the contrary, it's mediocre at best. It's neither French nor Japanese. Every meal is served in the restaurant with rather tightly set tables and chairs. You can enjoy much better dinner at an excellent restaurant with far less than 9,000 yen (which ia the price of the hotel dinner)

Poor shuttle service: Although it takes only 5 mins to Gora station, they provide shuttle service only 3 time 9, 9:30. and 10:30am. It's odd when the check-out is 11am. If you check out on time, you either should take taxi or drag your bags to the nearest cable station.

Stingyness: No welcome drinks, No customized service, cell-like smoking room, cheap tea and coffee bags, no coffee machine, paper cups, flat-cheap-tasteless room design and brick-hard bed: these may not be major issues but categorize this hotel little better than business hotel. 

Overall, this hotel is far below the standard of 4 star hotel let alone international.

아래의 이유로 절대 권하고 싶지 않은 호텔

1. 서비스 정신과 영어실력 낙제인 직원들

2. 4성급 호텔로 보기 힘든 amenities

3. 불편한 셔틀 서비스

4. 식당 분위기, 서비스, 맛 모두 별로였던 카이세키

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 문원 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights in premium room with tatami area and open air Onsen. We had breakfast and dinner package. Hotel is modern style , tatami style floor through out the building. We used cable car from Gora and head off at Naka Gora Station. It is important to get off the right side of the train as there are 2 platforms on each side and no signs or whatsoever to go where. If you get off from the wrong side - you need to wait for another train to use as bridge to go across and that’s what happened to us. So to go to hotel - you need to get off from right side of the train ( if you face the forward where train is heading ). From that station , 5 -10 mins walk to hotel. Checking in process is smooth. The staffs are friendly and helpful. There is a staff who will take your shoes and help to put them in the lockers as you are not allowed to wear shoes throughout the hotel. Room facilities are good as expected for this range of hotel ( we paid 900 Australian dollars per night including breakfast and dinner). Internet connection is smooth and
Hot spa experience at open air space is Excellent. The food quality is great - I m impressed with the presentation of food as well as taste of the food, very delicious. Breakfast is mainly Japanese -varieties of Japanese food and some basic western breakfast - breads, sausages and eggs.
There is one vending machine on the floor where public Onsen is - soft drinks and beers available. Going to hakone rope way/ lake Ashi - pirate boat ride - all easily accessible with public transport.
We had surprise treat from hotel - cakes for our anniversary trip - which was nice.
All in all - this is nice place to chill with great food in Hakone.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank ATGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews