We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
167
119
25
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
167
119
25
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo forest public onsen the bus breakfast and dinner worth the additional cost credit card for payment normal height small desk odawara station superior twin room ping pong table favorite experiences private onsen experience would recommend this hotel to anyone without breaking the bank traditional dishes ryokan experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 329 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this ryokan one night and we loved it. The whole stay is a experience from the moment you check in to the check out. As you come in you are welcome with English speaking staff your bags can be stored (if it’s before check in time) and you can go to town and sightsee. Once we returned all of our luggage had been taken to our room, the stay includes dinner and breakfast which both are traditional foods and very tasty. The rooms include yukatas for all guest and is encouraged to use throughout the hotel. The springs are great, however if you are like me and have tattoos you are not allowed in the public baths so you need to reserve a private bath, which in all honesty I preferred; we rented the bath for 45 Minuets which is plenty of time. We also reserved the massage which is done in your room after the baths, which is great because we were so relaxed we were ready to simply go to sleep. Overall it was a great place and worth the price, would definitely comeback.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank dcrios14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

We are truly grateful for your stay at Mount View Hakone.
Transport facilities, and close to tourist attractions, Lake Ashi 、 museums、Gotemba premium outlet....
Are you satisfied with the location?
Please stay at our hotel on your nest visit in Japan.
We sincerely look forward to having the delight of your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

The hospitality of the Japanese is unparalleled! We got to the hotel before the check-in time. The receptionist was very helpful with our enquires and provided detailed maps for transportation and the timings. When we got back again, our luggage were already in the room.

As for the private onsen available, when we got in about 1pm, (you can only book at the venue itself) , there were limited timings available for the day itself. Recommended to get there early to book if you're only staying a night and are keen on the private onsen.

Overall, the stay was really pleasant, nice onsen, big room and wonderful breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Therlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel.
Our hotel boasts the rare turbid hot spring.
We’re so glad you enjoyed our onsen.
All the experiences of Japanese culture such as Kaiseki、 tatami、 yukata,are so impressive,
aren’t they?
It has been our pleasure to serve you.
We sincerely look forward to having the delight of your visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

We had an interesting time trying out the yukata and wearing it as part of dinner attire. Awesome onsen and meals were excellent. Worth every cent.

Slept in Japanese style room and beds. Ideal for first timer in japan for a great experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank yummybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel.
Our hotel boasts the rare turbid hot spring.
We’re so glad you enjoyed our onsen.
All the experiences of Japanese culture such as Kaiseki、 tatami、 yukata,are so impressive,
aren’t they?
It has been our pleasure to serve you.
We sincerely look forward to having the delight of your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in July with family. Good part is Onsen and Ryokan experience. However on not so good is staff does not understand English, is very dated hotel with limited service, does not have restaurant even for basic requirements. No room service. This when you compare to Price being charged is no where close to expectation. Would not recommend to book.

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank darpan1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel.
Our hotel boasts the rare turbid hot spring.
We’re so glad you enjoyed our onsen.
All the experiences of Japanese culture such as Kaiseki、 tatami、 yukata,are so impressive,
aren’t they?
It has been our pleasure to serve you.
We sincerely look forward to having the delight of your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We stayed there for three days. The hotel doesn't have any good view and a very cold place. The hotel is over priced and everything else like food, spa are extremely over priced. The Onsen is not very clean. The toilet doesn't have a bath and hence felt very unclean. The worst was that one the day of check out (at 10am!!) we had to come back from mount Fuji and got delay by 3 hours and for that we were charged more than 6000 Yen inspite of informing them. We had stayed in many other hotels in Japan who were very happy to extend the check out by 2-3 hours. Apart from the receptionists, no one else in the hotel even speak rudimentary English. It was a mistake to stay at this place reading what now clearly appear like paid reviews or reviews written by them themselves.

Room tip: All rooms are same- not worth it
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaGan_In
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount_View_Hakone, お客様担当マネージャー at Mount View Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel.
The famous tourist attractions are not merely Hakone area but also Mt.Fuji and Gotemba
premium outlet.And our hotel is conveniently located with good transportation facilities.
Please enjoy food ,onsen ,beautiful scenery, take pleasure here and relax yourself on your next visit.
We sincerely look forward to having the delight of your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews