We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
73
38
10
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
73
38
10
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 125 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2018 via mobile

Comfortable Japonese experience, connection with Nature, Onsen and a formidable restaurant (incredible) inside of the hotel (the best restaurant inside of a hotel ever)

I’m from Brazil and I had been here with my son and wife, and both loved the place !

Also a pleasant hotel staff !!!

Come and enjoy !

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Marcuscouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

My Wife and I arrived on 15 Feb 18 at about 6pm. Kazu, one of the owners graciously welcomed us although he was busy with the meal service. After welcoming us and giving gifts for our honeymoon stay, he meticulously cleaned the wheels of our luggage and helped with carrying them to our room - one of nine. And that’s I think where staying in a Ryokan really shines. Staff make their best effort to serve their customers offering personalised and outstanding service.

Our room was a traditional ryokan type but with some modern additions like a TV. They also provided a green tea set and snacks to go along. Later when we went down for dinner, we found our futon beds already setup for us when we came back.

The meals were nothing short of spectacular. They served both breakfast (0800-0900) and dinner (1800-2000) and having stayed 2 nights found that they changed meal sets from day to day- meaning customers on day 1 get served a certain menu while customer on day 2 get served with a another one. We often walked away from the meal feeling wonderful satisfied. Of note is the beef sukiyaki served on the second night which I thought was extremely good.

And the best thing to do after a good meal and a long day spent traveling was to enjoy a good bath and soak in the onsen. To that end, yukatas were provided for my Wife together with 2 towels- one big, the other small. The baths for ladies and gents rotate daily so do be aware. Body foam, shampoo and conditioner are all provided for the bath but you can bring your own stuff as well. Baskets available at the bath allow you to deposit your clothes and you enter the baths with your towel.

For the bath, the water pressure was excellent and the temperature constant. Though it can be abit awkward at first, you gradually get used to it. After the bath there is a sitting area with cotton buds, hairdryer, shaver etc.

My Wife and I also tried the private outdoor onsen the second night as well. Reservations have to be done and we did it via the front desk. Do be aware also that there were no baths in the private onsen so you’ll have to bath in the public baths first. Reservations are in blocks of 30 mins from 7pm.

In terms of location, I’ll be the first to admit that it took abit of time getting from Hakone Yumoto up to Gora but once there, you will be within 10 mins of Sounzan one of the main attractions and from there you can take a cable car to Togendai where you can take a sightseeing cruise to hakone machi or Motohakone. After which you can take a local bus back to Hakone Yumoto.

For travellers I would recommend you arrive the first day, explore the area around Gora and go on the round tour as described above on the second.

In short, my Wife and I had a wonderful stay in Lalaca. The staff provided service beyond what I expected and location-wise, it’s near the main attractions. Experiences were aplenty as well bathing in a public bathhouse, having a soak in the onsen and having a Keiseiki Ryori breakfast and dinner.

I would highly recommend this Ryokan if you are looking for personalised service and an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dankang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Lalaca made our first trip to Hakone a wonderful and memorable one. Our family of 4 was made to feel very welcome and it felt like home in our short stay there!

Service: being a small hotel (~9 rooms I believe) the staff was so prompt, friendly, and warm and really made us feel at home from the moment we stepped inside. There are multilingual staff (Japanese, English, Chinese) and each of them were super helpful getting us settled in and helping us with even the smallest of services. Your futons will be made while you enjoy dinner, and they will seamlessly clear them up and tidy your rooms while you are eating breakfast. You will even see the owner of the hotel helping out, impeccably dressed and friendly to all guests.
One of the big highlights here is the food - be sure to book meals when you are staying here. The seasonal dishes all arrive looking like works of art but are filling and delicious as well. The morning view into the mountains and surroundings are just what you need to start your day off over breakfast.

Facilities: Spotlessly clean, comfortable and beautiful. Our Japanese-style room was beautifully traditional with futons so comfortable that even the floor-sleeping haters didn't have any complaints. The onsen are well-maintained and very clean - a lovely touch was all the toiletries, cosmetics, shampoos that were available so you didn't have to bring anything with you but a towel inside. Staff will kit you out in comfortable yukata and really give that authentic touch as you stroll around the hotel along with the other guests also wearing their colourful yukata.

Location: Easy walk from the second stop of the cable car (Koen-Shimo) and easy to find with the directions provided on the website. The hotel is tucked away from the street and has a real homey feel to it (dog lovers will be delighted to meet the resident labrador). Good access to all of the main tourist points and transport lines around Hakone.

Lalaca definitely a great choice if you want that extra step of service and authenticity above some of the bigger chain hotels in the area. Highly recommended! We will return for their smoked fish eventually...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyH3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

What I love most about this ryokan is the location. It is located in a very quiet area and not far from the cable car station (3mins walk). The breakfast and dinner are nice. The beds are really comfortable, I have a really great sleep. Both public and private onsen are all nice, however, the private onsen is located outdoor so be prepared if you go there in winter.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank PLa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

The Lalaca rayokan has a good location, near Gora station and offers easy access to and from the rayokan. The staff attitude was great and very helpful, The Japanese food offered during dinner and breakfast was rich, interesting and delicious. The public onsen was great experience and the outdoor onsen offered private bath for me and my wife. The onsen was well equipped and spoiling.
However, the facade of the room and the dining room both looked a bit "tired" .

Nearby attractions and what to do: the Hakone Open Air Museum, touring Hakone environment, in a circular route, overlooking Mount Fuji in 5 different modes of transport: train, cable car, tram, boat and bus.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews