We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, easy access, service with extra mile, fantastic mt fuji view -- everything you want under one roof!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good location, easy access, service with extra mile, fantastic mt fuji view -- everything you want under one roof!”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights on the 7 & 8 April. Initially, we planned to stay at a hotel neat Hakone Yumoto. We had no regrets choosing this location as it enabled us to explore much more and covered a wider area in Hakone and Kawaguchiko in 2 days. We arrived at Kawaguchiko taking the first bus out from Tolyo using our fuji-hakone free pass. We reached Kawaguchiko station before 9am but sadly Mt fuji san did not appeared on our first day there. The trip to Kawaguchiko was still good though. We took the retro bus and dropped by a few places, we typically like the Ukai music musuem, it was a gem and the surrounding was so beautiful. I could imagine this place as a romantic wedding venue. Afterwhich, we travelled down to Gotemba premium outlet for some shopping. We spend some 2.5hrs there. Not too sufficient for a shopaholic like me but I had my fair share in Tokyo. So no complaint. We took a shuttle service back to the Gotemba station to catch the 610pm bus that will fetch us to Hakone. With us lugging our luggages and when the sky turned dark and was drizzling, and the bus did not arrived on time...we got a bit worried. A kind japanese lady assure us that the bus will come and we were heading the same direction so she told us not to worry. The bus arrived at 630pm and the journey was over an hour. We alighted at the bus stop (Ubako) where the hotel staff made special arrangement to pick us up from there. The hotel staff pick up arrived just the moment we stepped out of the bus and helped us into the car with the luggages. It was a welcoming experience after a long day and as we reached the nice hotel lobby, the staff was courteous and warm.

We were informed that dinner was ready 15 min before 8pm. The Kaiseki dinner spread was OK. As it was dining in the restaurant and not in a ryokan, the experience was not that authentic. The food tasted very much like the usual hotel standard not the best I would say. Although the abalone was a treat, but it was not my favorite food anyway.

The onsen and the otenburo experience was great. I typcially like the outdoor one. I like the range of bath products that was available for free use. The skin care products in the dressing room was pampering too. I love the rose mineral water cream which the hotel manufactured and sell in their shop. It literally felt like water on your skin, no oily or creamy feeling at all. I should have bought a fewmore tubs!! I recommend to buy the horse oil products as they are really good. I bought the balm which I thought is really good for dry skin and lip. I grab 3 bottles and gave the other 2 away to my mother in law and my helper.

The buffet breakfast was typcial so nothing much to talk about...but we enjoyed 2 days of mt fuji view right in front of our eyes while taking our breakfast in the dining room. Although we stayed in the western room (the cheapest at 10500 per person/ per night), we had a pleasant surprise when we reaslised that we could actually see Mt Fuji from the window right on top of our bed. I think it is a secret but you must ask for the last corner room....

1 day is defintely not enough to cover much. As we have enough time to explore over 2 days, my other favorite experience was the open air musuem, the artistic sculptures and monuments were rather interestingly displayed. It was a very enjoyable walk around the huge park, especially with the nice cooling weather and the cherry blossom trees around. We visited the La petite prince musuem too with a cute little mocked up olden french street and buidlings.

Hakone Green Plaza was a good choice if you want to explore the Hakone area. The cable station is just a few steps away. We took the wrong path the first time and went by the front exit while the nearer way to go is by the back door.

On our last day, the hotel staff has also kindly ferried us to the cable car station instead of us having to walk with our huge lauggages. It was this little kind acts and the extra mile that made the stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    163
    69
    13
    12
See reviews for
174
94
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The best part of staying at Green Plaza is the availability of free-flow sake (Japanese Rice Wine) at the ladies onsen. Onsen-ing with alcohol during winter is a very nice experience. Food was good. It was kaiseiki dinner style - very beautifully presented and tasty. Breakfast was a huge Western-Japanese buffet spread.

The staff welcomes you with a very nice yuzu vinegar drink.

Worth the price we paid for the rooms.

Green Plaza is also a good hub to venture to Lake Ashi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

like most other japanese hotel, green plaza hakone has close to perfect service, so I won't expand on that.

location is very convenient if you take the ropeway to ubako station. Don't take the main exit. There is a side door which leads directly to hotel for about 200m. Part of this path is not paved, so if one has big luggage, it will be difficult to walk this way.

we paid 11000yen/person for the japanese which is a very good deal for this hotel and we can even see mt fuji from window. (but if anyone is very keen on the view of mt fuji, should go to kawakuchiko instead of hakone. )

The public bath area is very clean, with a couple of standing showing catering to foreigners. The rotenburo has nice and open view even on the days when mt fuji is not visible. Free self served sake in the pm. All very nice except that the rotenburo is a bit too small for the number of people that were there. This was the most crowded furo i've been to in japan. Guess everyone else want to have a nice view of mt fuji when soaking in hot spring and this is one of the few hotsprings in hakone where view of mt fuji is possible.

Kaiseiki dinner was quite ok except that the extra abalone we ordered was pretty fishy. Dinner was served course by course in a basically western style restaurant setting. If they have dining rooms japanese style like ryokans then this hotspring experience would be unbeatable.

All in all a very nice hotspring hotel. Highly recommended if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

It is not that easy to find one's way to Green Hotel Plaza in Hakone. In the matter of fact it is about 45 minutes buss ride from Hakone Yumoto and we had to wait quite a while for the bus to come.
The local bus was on the other hand an adventure as we did not know how to act and much this would cost to get to the bus stop Ubako. The road was winding and went higher and higher up in the mountains.
It was beautiful even though we never saw a glimpse of the Mount Fuji due to the thick mist. We also passed by some hot spring out from the mountain that created thick steam in the cold temperature.

When we finally arrived to Ubako bus stop (with a friendly signal from the bus driver as we had to ask him where to get off), we felt a bit deserted in the middle of a cross road. No western sign told us to which direction we should go to get to the hotel. After been lost for a while we stopped a car and asked the direction and fortunately they were to the same place.

A few hundred meters walk further we finally reached our destination.

A bell boy (a woman actually) ran out to meet us and picked our luggage to the lobby which was very stylish and gave a luxurious impression.
We checked in the room 2312 which was a Japan-style room with a nice mountain view. No sight of mt Fuji though.
Very nice and clean room in green shades. The room could be divided in two with sliding doors. There were also a hallway were you are suppose to leave your shoes off. In the same hallway there was a washing basin and a bathroom with bath tub, shower and a toilet. The toilet had the bidet features and warm seat. Very comfy.

The common bath and spa were down in the basement. But you need to put on your yukata and the belonging jacket before going down the the facilities. And the slippers of course.
The women's spa was elegant and had all the equipment you'll need to sweep of the dust from a long journey and indulge your self in the hot spring both inside and out in the open air. Still no sight of Mt. Fuji.
The make up table along a wall in the dressing room offered skin care products for different skin types that you could use for free. (Well, better so say included the price you've paid for the hotel lodging)

Our accommodation includes two meals, dinner and breakfast. Around 8 p.m. the restaurant call us and announced that our table was set for us to dine.
It was so many courses that was brought to our table I can't today remember them all and neither remember the specific taste of them. Subtle taste of pickles, fried fish, chankunabe, soups, sashimi, followed one another, each presented as piece of art.

Our children were served the children's menu western style. But the only western about it was a kind of a meet ball that our children unfortunately did not appreciated. As our children neither eat fish or prawn there were not much for them to eat as the plate the got contained deep fried prawn and sashimi. Well, we are aware that our children are picky, so they were sent up to our room without any food replacement when they made face even before tasting the sashimi. Needless to say, but they did not get the dessert ice cream either.

The beds were made when we got back from our dinner.

The next morning we went down to the same restaurant for the breakfast buffet. There were both Japanese style and western style. I was of course more interested in the japans that contained different kinds of fish, soups and pickles. The children had their western style with bread, jam, sausages, ham, scrambled eggs and a strange stew. We arrived quite late (around 9 a.m) so some of the trays were almost empty which gave a poor impression.

We checked out the Green Hotel and left this place with no regrets of staying there longer. The bill convinced me it was better to leave that to stay as we did not see mt. Fuji anyway.

At the time we stayed there it felt nice and pleasant. But today writing this review with other experiences to compare, I must say it was a bit overrated accommodation. The food and the service was a typical hotel style, no personality, no charm (at least not the restaurant), just a presentation of luxury.

I have to point out that the staff were very friendly and the onsen was absolutely spectacular. But to experience real Japanese culture, a Ryokan would have been the better place to stay.
Would we get back to stay there? Yes, only if they promise me the view of mt. Fuji. ;-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveladdictedAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Access to the hotel is via the ropeway / cable car from Ubako station. I saw Mt Fuji on the way up but the view from our room was so much better: clear uninterrupted views. I stayed in a Japanese style room with tatami mats and went to the outdoor bath (rotemburo) in my yukata after a swift check in. Our luggage had been delivered from Hakone Yumuto and was waiting for us in our room. The women's bath is famous in Japan for its views of Mt Fuji and the free sake on offer. I watched the sun set behind Mt Fuji sipping sake in a hot bath, bliss. Free toiletries, hairdryers, lockers, and a pay massage are available in the changing rooms.
Dinner was included in our package, and was a fugu (blowfish) dinner course (kaiseki). The hotel had taken the trouble to find out if we were willing to eat fugu, and any allergies and had adapted accordingly, discreetly setting out menus of what was to be served at each place setting. The food was fantastic, the service great. Breakfast was similarly fantastic with the widest range Western and Japanese breakfasts I have ever seen.
Checkout was efficient, luggage sent back to Hakone Yumoto whilst we spent the rest of the day sightseeing. The package was quite expensive altogether, £230, but it included return on Odakyu Romance Car (try to get seats 1ABCD for the best views), cablecar, ropeway, pirate ship and buses in the Hakone Area, hotel stay, dinner and breakfast, and discounts at Hakone area attractions.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haikugirl_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Fantastic Place with great view of Mount Fuji, the food was great and the access to the Ropeway is just beside the hotel. They provide pickup service should you forget the timings of the bus or ropeway.

Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aizutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

From Tokyo to the hotel you will enjoy nearly all modes of transportations including a ropeway for the last part. The hotel is really nicely situated near the Ubako ropeway station and has stunning views to Mt. Fuji!! We stayed two nights in an “Asian Twin Room” which include a private onsen. The room was comfortable although it could have been a bit cleaner. The private onsen is really lovely a cool feature. Diner was really good, delicious and elaborate. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#11 of 242 in Hakone-machi
469 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 242 in Hakone-machi
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#4 of 242 in Hakone-machi
188 reviews
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#27 of 242 in Hakone-machi
487 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Plaza Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Plaza Hakone

Property: Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Address: 1244-2 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Green Plaza Hakone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Green Plaza Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing