We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who could ask for anything more?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Who could ask for anything more?”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a delightful find! Mt. Fuji in the background... sitting in a relaxing onsen.... fabulous meals... I couldn't recommend Hotel Green Plaza more. Be sure at request a room with the Mt. Fuji view. Then imagine relaxing in the outdoor onsen with Mt. Fuji in the background.
The hotel is conveniently located so take advantage of all Hakone has to offer.
English is a bit limited but the staff is typically helpful and willing to bend over to help...and be sure to enjoy the welcoming drink in the lobby before checking in. Will definitely be returning on our next visit.

Room Tip: request Mt Fuji view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GFByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    163
    69
    13
    12
See reviews for
173
94
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Nice traditional hotel with onsen (bathing area). Close to the ropeway for exploring the area. We were glad to wear our yukatas so we had no worries about what to wear :-).. We had breakfast and diner here, and we liked it very much. It was very nice to use the onsen. Sitting around and bathing with my daughter and all the other women was great! It was not cheap but we knew that when we booked it. The only disappointment was that is was cloudy during our whole stay and therefor we missed the view of mount Fuji..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jongebloet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to explore the Hakone region and it was a good location to do this from. It is very close to the Ropeway so easy to travel down to the lake or to the volcanic area. We also enjoyed a nice walk through the forest not far from the hotel. We had a room with a private hot springs bath. We made the most of this morning and night and really enjoyed it. We explored Lake Ashi and went to the Open Air Museum during our stay. It was easy to travel using our Hakone Free Pass. We were lucky enough to see Mt Fuji clearly on two mornings. What let this hotel down was the staff and the meals. If asked we were provided with service but in a very half hearted way. This is so different to everywhere else we have experienced in Japan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jackirmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located within 5 minutes walk from Ubako (姥子) Ropeway Station.

We arrived at the bus stop at the main road at (姥子) bus stop and contacted the hotel which provided a shuttle bus to pick us up.

Hotel onsen and the hotel restaurant has a magnificent view of Mt Fuji at sunset. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous with a very good spread of japanese and western food.

The hotel did not use air-condition in the cool months and we were advised by the hotel reception to keep the hotel room windows opened.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is expensive. The only reason one would want to stay here is to gamble on the chance that the sky is clear and one can see Mt. Fuji from the onsen in the room. We got lucky and had two clear days with a great view of Mt. Fuji while we were in the onsen. It was worth it. The hotel itself is getting old, the internet does not work, but service is still great. It is nicely decorated with a nice garden around the hotel with a great view of Mt. Fuji. Of course there is also a public onsen where one can see Mt. Fuji on a clear day. We wore the yukata and haori (Japanese loungewear) to have the Shabu-shabu supper in the restaurant and it was fabulous. There were some very unique dishes and was quite an experience. Breakfast however was a little disappointing with limited selections. One thing to watch out for is getting back to the hotel at the end of the day. The ropeway stop running after 4 to 5 pm depending on the season and the cable-car stops running at around 7. After 8 pm, public bus service is only once an hour. So one really need to plan ahead so to where to go if you do not want to rack up more expensive taxi fare. The walk from the ropeway to the hotel using back alley is 2-3 minutes and about 4 minute from the bus stop via the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We came by on 6 June and it was a rainy day. No Fuji and plenty of icy rain. However, thanks to its location we managed to travel up half of Hakone to reach Ubako station, where the station people asked us to call on our own (pay phone, just 100¥) to the hotel to send us a pick up.

The Fuji facing Japanese room is very nice, stocked with plenty of
Titbits that they replenish daily, and could be found in the hotel store.

Dinner was a great Kaiseki which we ate till we couldn't finish. The kids portion were nice as well, different for my 8yo and 4yo. Service by the waiter was impeccable and he was thoughtful and thorough in explaining to us each dish, in his halting English. He was delighted when my Mr praised him at the end for very good service!

Breakfast the next day was an extensive 4-5 tables of food. The simple square hokkaido bun is my favorite when paired with butter. A simple bun was soft, tasty, sweet and simply a flavor burst in the mouth. A must-try !

While we didn't get to see any Fuji, we had a great time in the Onsen, resting in the rooms and time passed way too fast.

The next day the entire free pass section was suspended and they arranged for us to Odawara by their own hotel transport.

I will return again :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank by_lish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, our luggage was quickly taken away from us and we were shown where to check in, complete with a nice welcome drink. Once checked in, we were escorted to the elevator along with our luggage. There wasn't enough room in the elevator for the person escorting us so he left the luggage in the elevator with us. To our surprise, when the elevator door opened, he was there, having just run up 3 floors to catch us. We went out of the hotel to do some more sightseeing and when returning, it was raining quite hard. When we got back to the hotel, we were greeted with towels to dry up. Service of the hotel staff was definitely quite exceptional!

The female outdoor onsen was very nice with a great view of Mt. Fuji (if you're lucky). They provide you with a lot of great products to try after you finish bathing, like facial creams / body lotions and hair treatments, and offer you free sanitized hair brushes if you forgot yours. There are also free foot and body massage machines in the area as well as refreshing tea after your hot bath.

Our room was roomy and we had 5 people sharing the Japanese style room. We were supposed to have a view of My. Fuji from there, but because of the clouds (even on a sunny day), we weren't able to, unfortunately.

The dinner meal was pretty good. The only thing I'd like to mention is that we felt quite rushed by the waiters because the food came out way too quickly. We would only be less than halfway through out first course and the second would already be put on the table for us, which made us rush to finish our first course so that we would have more room on the table. It would have been more enjoyable if the courses could be paced a little slower.

Breakfast the next morning was quite grand with a wide selection of both western and Japanese food. When they ran out of buns, we informed the waiter and when they restocked, they made sure to come back to let us know.

All in all, this was the priciest stay for our trip, but it was worth the experience in Japan and is actually one of the more affordable accommodations with great service. It takes a while to get to and is a little out of the way because it is only accessible by the ropeway, which closes around 5:15pm everyday, but they say that they can pick us up from certain areas if we give them a call.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Mt, Fuji boast exceptional views, if you're lucky that it is not covered on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tto218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Gora Onsen
Laforet Club Hakone Gora Yu no Sumika
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#8 of 242 in Hakone-machi
467 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Pax Yoshino
Hakone Pax Yoshino
#22 of 242 in Hakone-machi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sengokuhara Onsen
Mount View Hakone
Mount View Hakone
#3 of 242 in Hakone-machi
188 reviews
The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
#28 of 242 in Hakone-machi
487 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 242 in Hakone-machi
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Plaza Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Plaza Hakone

Property: Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Address: 1244-2 Sengokuhara, Ashigarashimo-gun, Hakone-machi 250-0631, Kanagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Sengokuhara Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 242 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Green Plaza Hakone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Green Plaza Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing