We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
FindHotel
$619
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Trip.com
$619
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Rakuten Travel
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
20
37
14
11
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
37
14
11
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 103 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was my second attempt to stay at this Ryokan, the last time I was booed with a friend the day of there the March 11 earthquake that hit Japan and we had to cancel due to transportation issues.
For me second attempt we arrived the Kiratani Ryokan about two hours before a major typhoon was due to hit the area, and already the storm and wind outside was very strong. We times the arrival to beat the typhoon, and as a result we arrived about two hours before the official check-in time. After a long drive in very bad conditions we wanted to check-in but were told we had to wait until check-in time as that is policy.
This inflexibility is a common issue in Japan, and not guest friendly. After showing strong disapproval at this, the manager agreed to let us into the room which had been cleaned and was ready for guests. From here on in the Team Members and the Manager were all incredibly accommodating. We stayed on the upgraded package, therefore in the Annex which is down the street a little from the main building - it was a little dormitory like but the rooms were clean and comfortable - and a welcome relief for a retreat to sit-out the typhoon. There was an onsen which was indoor-outdoor and excellent as well. We also enjoyed the deluxe dinner menu in a private room which was very very good.
They offer parking (undercover ) and we were rewarded the following day by beautiful clear skies and a wonderful trip to see Mt Fuji.
Apart from the misunderstanding on our arrival at the hotel, the remainder of our stay was very pleasant, although nothing fancy, and the Ryokan is well located for sightseeing

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelHappyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Downtown Tokyo price for poor accommodation.
The Ryokan was hard to find and the staff seems confused by our arrival. The room and corridors smelt musty/smokey and very, very run down. Dinner was ok but the racket from the upper floors and the train make sleep difficult. The private onsen was another 3000 yen and you have to walk down the street and into another building to get to it.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We've chosen this Ryokan for its good price-value-balance compared to other hotels in Hakone and for the good location. The main building we stayed in was a bit run-down but ok. The annex seemed more modern. The food was really excellent (breakfast and dinner). The room was large and comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't have a nice view though. The private onsen was very relaxing, there was no extra charge for using it. The staff was very friendly and helped us where they could, although their English was limited but we were able to communicate quite well. Would recommend this ryokan.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tinchen_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

From the moment we walked up the hill to Kiritani Hakoneso, we felt welcome. It started when the proprietess came out and helped us drag our heavy bags up the rest of the way to the hotel then delivered them upstairs to our second floor room. The place is a bit dated, but it was very comfortable and we had an amazing view of the mountains of Hakone from our large picture window. We stayed two nights so had two amazing dinners and breakfasts there in our private dining room. The bath was also really great, very hot and relaxing and steps away from our room. We were there mid-week in October so it was very quiet, in our building we felt like we were the only ones staying there. All in all it was a great first experience for me, staying in a traditional Ryokan.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AppMyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I stayed a night here as it was the splurge for my Japan trip. It was easy enough to find - once you get out of the right side of the tram/cable car at Koen-Kami (from Gora station), you go down the stairs, turn right at the road, walk up the hill till you see the red sign on the left, then do a left and walk up the hill. There's a parking lot in the middle of the road on the left and the ryokan is opposite. It is a bit of a walk if you've got luggage but you can make use of the luggage forwarding service at Hakone station. When I left the staff were nice and dropped me off at Gora station without me asking.

The lady that greeted me was very nice, as I had a few hours till check in, she let me leave my luggage and go off exploring, explaining she'd take it up to my room for me. Not to digress but it was a lovely stay. It's in a nice location, easy enough to get to all the sightseeing bits of Hakone, the food was amazing, the service was great and the onsens available were just the cherry on the icing. All the staff some an acceptable level of English. I don't speak Japanese (I know a little bit) and we were able to communicate without any problems. I was travelling alone but still got a double room with single beds, the lounge area was huge too. There is no internet here though and there aren't baths or showers in the room, you have to use the onsen. However, there's a public male and female one as well as a private one. There's also the use of an onsen down the road from the hotel so many options for the shy ones. Overall a wonderful place I'd recommend to all!

It looks like the breakfast meal hasn't changed since the photos already available were taken, I got I believe the same thing. It was still delicious though!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shylock300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews