We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
FindHotel
$618
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Trip.com
$619
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Rakuten Travel
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
20
37
14
11
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
37
14
11
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 103 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Downtown Tokyo price for poor accommodation.
The Ryokan was hard to find and the staff seems confused by our arrival. The room and corridors smelt musty/smokey and very, very run down. Dinner was ok but the racket from the upper floors and the train make sleep difficult. The private onsen was another 3000 yen and you have to walk down the street and into another building to get to it.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We've chosen this Ryokan for its good price-value-balance compared to other hotels in Hakone and for the good location. The main building we stayed in was a bit run-down but ok. The annex seemed more modern. The food was really excellent (breakfast and dinner). The room was large and comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't have a nice view though. The private onsen was very relaxing, there was no extra charge for using it. The staff was very friendly and helped us where they could, although their English was limited but we were able to communicate quite well. Would recommend this ryokan.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tinchen_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

From the moment we walked up the hill to Kiritani Hakoneso, we felt welcome. It started when the proprietess came out and helped us drag our heavy bags up the rest of the way to the hotel then delivered them upstairs to our second floor room. The place is a bit dated, but it was very comfortable and we had an amazing view of the mountains of Hakone from our large picture window. We stayed two nights so had two amazing dinners and breakfasts there in our private dining room. The bath was also really great, very hot and relaxing and steps away from our room. We were there mid-week in October so it was very quiet, in our building we felt like we were the only ones staying there. All in all it was a great first experience for me, staying in a traditional Ryokan.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AppMyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I stayed a night here as it was the splurge for my Japan trip. It was easy enough to find - once you get out of the right side of the tram/cable car at Koen-Kami (from Gora station), you go down the stairs, turn right at the road, walk up the hill till you see the red sign on the left, then do a left and walk up the hill. There's a parking lot in the middle of the road on the left and the ryokan is opposite. It is a bit of a walk if you've got luggage but you can make use of the luggage forwarding service at Hakone station. When I left the staff were nice and dropped me off at Gora station without me asking.

The lady that greeted me was very nice, as I had a few hours till check in, she let me leave my luggage and go off exploring, explaining she'd take it up to my room for me. Not to digress but it was a lovely stay. It's in a nice location, easy enough to get to all the sightseeing bits of Hakone, the food was amazing, the service was great and the onsens available were just the cherry on the icing. All the staff some an acceptable level of English. I don't speak Japanese (I know a little bit) and we were able to communicate without any problems. I was travelling alone but still got a double room with single beds, the lounge area was huge too. There is no internet here though and there aren't baths or showers in the room, you have to use the onsen. However, there's a public male and female one as well as a private one. There's also the use of an onsen down the road from the hotel so many options for the shy ones. Overall a wonderful place I'd recommend to all!

It looks like the breakfast meal hasn't changed since the photos already available were taken, I got I believe the same thing. It was still delicious though!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shylock300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I visited Japan at the end of April, eager to catch the Sakura blossoming. Arrived in Tokyo early in the morning from Sydney, Australia and took several trains to Hakone and stayed one night at Kiritani Hakoneso (you can google the various way to get here but it's not hard!).

The pros:
Great service, friendly staff, clean, and gorgeous location. It is 5 mins from the station and a bit of an uphill walk. Not good if you have huge heavy luggage to carry but good exercise. I don't mind an adventure so I didn't mind that I struggled to find the place but once I did, it really was a short walk from the station.

The cons:
The map didn't help me and if I hadn't been able to speak any Japanese (my Japanese is quite basic), I may not have found it! I rang the reception and only one person (the nice gentleman) spoke English but it was as good as my Japanese... the location is a bit remote and not near night life if you want all that. The locals there don't speak English and the signs are in Kanji so you probably won't be able to follow any directions.

Instructions:
When you get out at Koen-Kami Stn, walk in the opposite direction of the Museum of Crafts. Walk down the road and take the first left turn. It's uphill and keep walking. I think it's several driveways in (see my 3rd photo). I asked several locals in basic Japanese and they were all very helpful and pointed me in the direction.

Comments:
If you don't mind the lack of net or nightlife and want something with great Japanese food, I'd highly recommend this place. I thought that everyone was lovely and I really love the view. It is a bit hard to find at first. I do hope the improve the signs (eg, many something in English, or even kana).

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcalex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews