We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accommodation difficult to find in Hakone area”
Review of B&B Pension Hakone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
B&B Pension Hakone
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Rooms are clean and spacious but showers are not on the same floor.
To get to the rooms at least in some buildings you need to get down the stairs and then climb up again - no elevator: tedious if you have large luggage. No internet - anywhere!

Difficult to find hotel if arrival at the train station after 6pm... had to catch a cab from Hakone-Yumoto, cost us 3500 yens. Indications on the website to reach the hotel did not mention this and are way insufficient anyway.

Breakfast: pastries and tea - not bad.

There is a free shuttle from the hotel to get to the bus station, from where you can depart to visit the area.

A bit difficult to communicate with the hotel staff in English.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for B&B Pension Hakone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 188 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

if you are looking for basic, clean & comfortable hotel and you have a budget, This is the place to stay. All the rooms have no toilets and bathrooms. facilities are simple ! Bath towels, toothpaste, razors and all other amenities are available at the vending machines along the corridors. You can even get hot food such as french fries, yakisoba, takoyaki ans so on simply by inserting a few coins.There's a common area for shower & toilets on each floor. A small pantry is also available.
P{rice of room include the use of their huge Onsen (hotspring) which opens till 1 am and re-opens every morining at 6 am. Breakfast is from 7 am every morning at the dinning area. Checking out is self service, simply insert the room keys into the slots available at the reception.
Fot those taking the tozan Line bus, once get off the bus. there is a free shuttle to take you to the hotel every 15 minutes in fromt of Yunessan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarawaklaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family (2adults + 2 kids) spent one night in B&B Hakone on May 9th and we definitely recommand not to stay there. Except the price which is quite reasonable in the area of Hakone, the hotel is not easily reachable, staff is not friendly, doesńt speak a word of english and doesńt reply to emails. Even by phone it is very difficult to reach them. It has no restaurant inside the place which means you have to walk by night with no light almost to another hotel 700m away. Beside that in was completely invaded by mosquitos in the room. Last but not least, during the night the staff issued some japanese messages through speakers, very loudly. The last message was issued at 4:00AM ! This is completely unbelievable and it wake us up several times in the middle of the night. Of course we didńt catch a word of what it was said. The only positive point is the onsen which is large a with reasonable open hours. But honestly it does not justify to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank boule_et_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The best: The hot spring bath in B&B Pension that is accessible most of the time. i remember i went in the night 2300 to 0030 and the morning 0745 to 0830. it was a great place to rejuvenate and refresh yourself during the stay.

The good: the room was spacious enough to unpack luggages and have noodle cup sitting on the couch.

The bad: the kitchen microwave is dirty and there are many stairs along the way to the room. little bit difficult for the rolling luggages.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Now I'm rating this as a backpacker so it IS good when you compare its price with other backpacker hotels; with just a little more money you get something like a 'real' hotel sans private baths, but definitely not as posh or presentable as a 'real' hotel itself.

B&B HP has a nice external presentation like what you see in the photos on this website (though the hotel's layout was a little confusing to me at first). The room is clean and looked rather new as of Nov 2012 with decent space. I don't recall there being any bathrooms (as in the usual private cubicles) and the only bath there was was a shared onsen - if you're daunted by bathing Japanese style, do reconsider. Being a B&B, breakfast is served in the pantry (here, I noticed that most of hotel guests were elderly Japanese) in the morning till 9am if I can remember correctly with the usual bread, toast and pastries - don't expect too much out of it, just a morning filler to start the day. They have a special Japanese-style room which serves Japanese tea too if I'm not wrong.Overall, this was good enough for me as I only needed a decent place to stay for the night.

Now here come the parts that I didn't really like - firstly, its location. The location IS convenient if you take the shuttle bus that rolls out from Yunessun but the last bus is around 7-8pm if I remember correctly. Maybe this might not be a problem since there's nothing much to do and see in the area at night but still it felt rather restrictive (with me wanting to take a night walk around town) and if you plan to enjoy Yunessun's onsen till 9pm, this will cut everything short. If you're thinking of walking all the way up from Yunessun, think again - B&B HP is quite far up the hill and it is VERY tiring to get there and a lot more difficult at night as the place is very dark with no room for pedestrians on the road - look out carefully for cars. Secondly, there's no wifi in this place and thirdly, no storeroom to chuck your luggage.

Whether this place is 'good' or 'bad' depends on what you want - if it's reasonable comfort and presentation, this is a good deal if you consider the money paid. For backpackers I probably wouldn't recommend it that much due to its lack of internet connectivity and poor location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I thought I would chip in on my experience staying at this hotel in Hakone. I checked out of Citadines Shinjuku and proceeded to the Shinjuku main station and proceeded to the Odakyu Romance car counter on 2nd Floor or the west station exit. The girls there were able to speak fluent English and Mandarin. I would suggest for you to buy the 2 day Hakone Free Pass which allows you to ride on selected busses, cable cars, ship and trains to Hakone. You can get details from Odakyu' website to understand what I meant. Just search Google.

Now about the hotel. It is located about 10 min walk from the Yunnesun swimming pool & hot spring building. Why do I mention Yunnesun. This is because it is the aligting point of the Tozan bus. They stop right in front of the Yunnesun main entrance. Now you either walk to the hotel from here or wait for the shuttle bus from the hotel which comes every 20 min. There is a porter who can speak very little English but you can tell him you want to take the Shuttle bus to the hotel. He will ask you to wait and when the bus arrives, he will signal for you to get on.

The shuttle bus ride takes about 2 min and you will be glad to take it. I reached the hotel around 5:30pm and since it is Nov 2012, it is already dark. There are no street lamps on the road leading to the hotel, hence, you wouldn't want to be carrying your luggage uphill to the hotel on foot. You will regret it.

Upon reaching the hotel, you will go thru the small main entrance. The lobby is right behind the hotel where there is another tiny entrance with a small porch where the locals can pick up their luggages or drop off anyone. Opposite the reception, has around 4-5 vending machines which serve hot food and even a towel vending machine.

I expected the staff not to speak any English (I called them prior to this), but as I booked my rooms via hotels.com, I had the booking form printed out and passed it to the older man manning the reception. He passed me a map in English of the hotel and where my rooms were supposed to be (I took two rooms). It easily identified my rooms and proceeded to the rooms.

The rooms are broken down into clusters of rooms (6-15), with its own public bathrooms, toilets, and washrooms. My cluster had around 6 rooms with the public amneties. All amneties were very clean and I had no trouble using them although it is on a sharing basis with the other 5 rooms. The rooms were neat and tidy upon checking in. There is a slight stench of old building smell in each room, and what I did was opened the window and aired the room for around 15 min. The smell will be gone. There was an air conditioned in the room. I was pretty upset I could not find any Internet wifi or cable in my rooms. I thought they were included in the hotel room. Unfortunately the rooms, I stayed didnt come with any. Hence, I had to forego checking emails for that night until I get back to Citadines Shinjuku.

At around 6-7pm, you can think about going to the public Onsen or hot spring which is situated near the reception area. Yes, this is a real hotspring public bath where you go naked. Of course the males and females have seperate bathes. However, towels are not provided for you, hence make sure you have brought your own, or else you can rent a towel from the reception or the vending machine for a few hundred yens.

Breakfast is ok with assortments of buns, there is also hot coffee and tea plus apple juice. I can't really complaint about the breakfast as it is buffet style and it comes with the price of the rooms.

Overall, if you are looking for superb comfort in a stylish hotel, this is not for you. However, if you just want a clean roof over you for a night, with sharing amneties, a public Onsen (hot spring) and free breakfast, which is cheap, this is the place to spent the night.

Lastly, to get back to Gora, just take the shuttle bus from the main entrance where the bus dropped you before, and from Yunnesun, just take a short walk to on the main road to Hotel Kowakien (opposite Yunnesun), there are bus stops there which will take you to Gora and other parts of Hakone.

Your Hakone Free Pass should come useful and safe you a lot of money.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with smaller cluster of rooms, as you don't have to queue to use the public amn...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Batman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It is easy to get to. Take a bus to Kowakien (which is a big prominent station along several bus lines), then change shuttle bus at the Hakone Hotel right nearby.

The room is clean. Although you have to share bathroom and toilets with others, the facilities are really clean. The public Japanese bathroom is also decent and clean.

Vending machines are available in the hotel. Bring your own towel and toothbrush though. Bring your own dinner too if possible. There are no restaurants nearby! There is no lift in the hotel, so travel light.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Sengokuhara Onsen
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
Fuji-Hakone Guest House
#1 of 49 in Hakone-machi
350 reviews
Field Hakone Resort
#8 of 49 in Hakone-machi
1 reviews
Sengokuhara Onsen
Fukushimakan
Fukushimakan
#39 of 49 in Hakone-machi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K's House Hakone
#3 of 28 in Hakone-machi
77 reviews
Hakone Kuranju
#4 of 49 in Hakone-machi
13 reviews
Onsen Guesthouse Hakone Tent
#1 of 28 in Hakone-machi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Pension Hakone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Pension Hakone

Address: 1297 Ninotaira, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0407, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $64 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Pension Hakone 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Pension Hakone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Hakone Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing