We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
25
66
32
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
66
32
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foot massage bit dated japanese style free shuttle next morning gora station bath mould hakone meals spring
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 145 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2018

As many have mentioned that the hotel is a bit dated, well, unless you enter the rooms, you don’t get the feeling. And once you do feel, its an old hotel, you kind of love it. It has that old world charm. Very large rooms by Japanese standards, well furnished and beautiful location. What else do you want? Even the robes they have in rooms, are provided in 3 sizes and those are printed ones, not the standard white ones which you find in other Japanese hotels.
Around 30 mins of drive by taxi from the Hakone ropeway gate, its located in the hilly region, and it was raining the day we checked in. Reception is on the 2nd floor, and 1st floor is the one for onsen, and spa and tennis court.
Hakone is city of onsen, Japanese style of public bathing, in naked. So obviously the resort has one. It also has a spa and provision for free massage through their motorised chairs. Tried the foot massage chair (desperately needed as you have to walk so much in Japan), and full body massage chair. Both were very comforting.
Hotel doesn’t have coin laundry. Apart from that, everything was there.
There is no buffet system for food, so you got to book your breakfast and dinner in advance. Since we were vegetarians, they made efforts to make a lavish dinner for us which consisted of marinated veggies, boiled ( actually grilled)veggies, and dessert ( 5 course meal) but I was just not able to eat another plate of raw vegetables next day in breakfast. I think , they should update the chef that vegetarians are not vegans. A bowl of cereals, milk and bread would have been just enough for the 2 of us . But still I highly appreciate the effort they put in feeding us. And boy, someone has to learn from Japanese how to present food.
There is free shuttle to Gora station from where we took the mountain train to Odawara, hardly a 5 min drive, but very handy in rain, and also because it’s a hilly region. The first shuttle leaves at 9 am.
If there is anything that I would like them to change, then it will be their exhaust system in the bathrooms. It was very weak, and it made the bathroom very stuffy, and I could see mould in some parts of the ceiling.
In all, I loved the hotel. Kind of regret it that we just had few hours to spend in the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolIndiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Hotel trying to live up to its past glory, but falling way behind competition. Price are up there, location is good, but its look rundown. However it is clean. The hot spring is functional but look tired. Being a foreigner, I was very disappointed by the food. There were no Japanese food, only international or french at good price ( $70.00 average for a set meal per person). Complimentary continental breakfast was OK, again with no Japanese flair. You have to set your choice the night before (only 3 choices). After 3 days you want something else than croque monsieur. Rooms were confortable with no luxury. Service was cold (dining room) Friendly at reception

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morenaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

surprisingly large bedroom and an adjoining Japanese style sitting room with mats and featured wall. bedroom have a double bed and plenty of space. have good view of surrounding. autumn colours of foliage. lovely garden area. hotel staff are very friendly and shuttle service offered.
The meals are certainly unexpected. Dinner is full serviced, French cuisine, set menu and changes daily. one have to book meal times on each day of our stay.

Room tip: we have an upper floor room and very quiet
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Other reviews are right that it’s a little dated, but it’s not like wallpapers hanging off or anything, it’s just very obviously not modern. Staff were as friendly as you would expect in Japan (over polite), hot springs good, nice massage chairs etc. Great view from the breakfast room, breakfast was a little odd. Choose from 1 of 3 options and pick a time slot, eggs, sausage, potato, or croquet monsier, all coming with a big portion of salad. Swaps were made for vegetarian option for my wife. Big plus is the shuttle bus to and from station, 10 yen to call the hotel from pay phone at station. Very steep walk otherwise. Good location for the cable car, 3 min walk from hotel to koen kami stop. Not really a lot else on offer in Gora so we had pot noodles in our room for dinner.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank E7842JQgregm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017

the place has the view to win you over but the rooms are kinda old looking and the washrooms feel like some plastic cell that you just bring over and install. But yeah the view is great and the Onsen is really relaxing, it has an outdoor and indoor onsen and would really loosen you up after a long day or hiking and walking around the mountainous hakone area!

Room tip: all the rooms are facing the forest and it was designed for this purpose that no one has a bad view.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azreal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews