We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gora Hanaougi(Hakone-machi)
$809
$634
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
$357
$320
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Kijitei Hoeiso(Hakone-machi)
$347
$290
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Mikawaya Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
$360
$303
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Aura Tachibana(Hakone-machi)
$441
$298
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Fukuzumiro Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
$281
$244
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$387
$235
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Mount View Hakone(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
$224
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gora Kadan(Hakone-machi)
$851
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
91
138
47
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
138
47
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake ashilake viewfloor to ceiling windowsjunior suitelakeside settingbar pricesrooms face the lakeriviera tourmorning omeletteomelette stationhotel breakfastpirate shipthe busthis lovely hotelhotel is situatedspacious bathroombig room
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 299 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in Hakone with stunning views of Lake Ashi. Great buffet breakfasts !! Good for girls' getaway! Right near ships that connect you to Ropeway and cable car. Hakone Pass includes those excursions, bus and train as well in area. Bus to Hakone Yumoto is worth it too!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmajere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night for our second wedding anniversary. We chose this hotel because of the location and the reasonable room prices.We were welcomed by friendly lobby staffs and welcome drinks which we could choose between orange juice or grapefruits bulldog. The hotel interior are minimalist but very clean and comfortable. It was very nice of them to upgrade our room to 4th floor Superior Twin Room. The room was a good size and beautiful with high ceiling and a unique wooden window that connects bathroom and bedroom. I was also surprised to find a blue roses bucket in the room. My husband said he asked the hotel staff to prepare blue roses and they successfully arranged a very pretty bucket for me and even gave us a set of L'occitane products as wedding present.

My advice for improvements... First, I think the restaurants staffs need to smile more. ;) They seemed to be so nervous. We had European dinner and breakfast and the food tasted so-so. The last, it is unfortunate that the hotel's onsen can only be used with reservation and we need to pay for 1,500 JPY per person to use it only for 45 mins!

Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much. We took a walk around the hotel and Ashi Lake after breakfast. The view and air were so relaxing, peaceful and beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baliwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is attractively situated on the lake, and a great attraction of the hotel is not only the lakeside setting but also the views of Mount Fuji when this capricious mountain decides to show itself. Unfortunately the weather was mist and rain when we were there, so we missed out on this.

This is seems to be the only hotel of any size within the small town of Hakone and appears to cater mainly for tourists. It has a curious lobby layout, the small entrance door to the reception lobby off which passages and steps lead to a couple of shops and restaurant. It didn’t take me long to become disorientated when I came down from my room in search of the restaurant (but then I’m easily confused!)

Our room was a good size and comfortable, with a lovely view over the lake (or would have been if it hadn’t been raining), but the bath/shower was impractical for anyone with mobility difficulties (or short legs) as there was a wide flat tiled expanse between the lip of the bath and where it dropped to the floor necessitating a wide stretch to step into the bath. My wife, who is not disabled but does have mobility difficulties, could not manage it. It also seemed designed to ensure the floor becomes flooded when the shower is used, as water from the shower runs down the tiled wall behind, but the raised lip of the bath above its tiled surround does not allow this water to drain into the bath so it runs onto the floor instead. However, this was the only drawback with the room.

Although there are a couple of small eateries opposite, these close early. As there seems nothing else in the town open in the evening, which appeared absolutely dead after about 6.30, you are virtually forced to drink and eat at the high prices of the hotel.

Our dinner, which was European style, was of good standard and breakfast OK, even though the western hot selection was the same few items that seem to be on offer in all hotels (and thus get a bit boring after a while). However, the Japanese selection did have curry and rice, which I had and made a pleasant change, if a little different from my usual morning sustenance.

It’s worth noting that this hotel also has an ‘Onsen’ (a traditional hot spring bath) for use by guests. You should be aware that bathing is done nude and swimming costumes not allowed. There are separate sessions for men and women, but as there was no viewing gallery I did not bother to seek it out!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour of Japan. Our room was comfortable and had a well equipped bathroom. If the weather had been better I'm sure we would have enjoyed the lake view. The dinner arranged for our group was of good quality and well presented.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The outside of the building is rather like a concrete bunker but this all changes when you get inside.Room was luxurious comfortable sitting area overlooking the lake, the bathroom was cavernous and well appointed. The food was tasty and well cooked.on the downside the free wifi is only available in the lobby and the tea/coffee in the rooms are chargeable.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews