We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gora Kansuiro
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
$536
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$432
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$850
$550
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marroad Hakone(Hakone-machi)
$596
$369
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Gora Hanaougi(Hakone-machi)
$1,379
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Yoshiike Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
$794
$432
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Merveille Hakone Gora(Hakone-machi)
$610
$504
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Sounkaku(Hakone-machi)
$753
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$592
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
47
31
7
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
31
7
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmt fujiryokanjapanbathsonsen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 96 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Traditional ryokan, located 3 minutes to GORA train station. Large room, bathroom with thermal hot water. Fine and copious traditional dinner served in the room. Do not confuse with another Kansuiro located at Hakone Yumoto.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ParisAlainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We had never been to Japan before and visited as part of our honeymoon. We stayed here for one night to experience staying in a traditional style Japanese Ryokan with Onsen (natural spring hotbath) (We booked private bath accommodation). GORA-KANSUIRO is not cheap! But Ryokan’s of this type are not. We do not speak Japanese except for the basic greetings, thanks etc and neither do the staff, however we got by.
The place is only a couple of minutes walk from Gora station (for the cable car/lake Hakone circular route). We arrived early to drop off our bags, no problem so we could visit the open air sculpture park/museum (well worth the 15 min walk down the road - excellent). On our return we were greeted with Japanese tea and a local style sweet. After we enjoyed our natural hot spring bath, lovely after all the walking we had done over the previous days. We wore then on in provided Japanese clothing for the stay.
The meal served in our room was amazing and we tried everything put in front of us (not for the faint hearted). The many courses were served with no common language but the lady was very patient (we tried to translate some words as we went along with a book). All done with a smile. Drank beer and sake from the mini bar.
In the morning we walked around the Ryokan garden and pools/streams. The onsen was running overnight for another soak in the morning.
The place is old and looks old and a little tatty in places but this is the only negative aspect of the stay. It is very clean however. The attitude of the staff made it for us and I would recommend this stay to any of our friends. A little bit of traditional Japan is now left in our memories forever due to GORA-KANSUIRO and its wonderful staff. Nothing a little patience, manners and understanding cannot sort out !

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eanright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

It's difficult to review this Ryokan because we didn't enjoy the experience, so have a bias view of our stay here. The Ryokan is on the main road and we took the bus from the station which was easy enough, with the name and address written down (via the tourist office in the station).

We paid a lot of money for a large suite with a few rooms and outdoor garden with a private onsen. Be aware that all the public onsen are segregated for men and women.

The rooms were exactly as you would expect. Very sparse and simple with traditional old fixtures and fittings, even down to the oldest TV I have seen in a long time. Good enough for watching the sumo if it's on! (If it is, make the effort to go and see it live - excellent experience). The communal areas were all very old, and being so you could see the owners are obviously reluctant to change or update anything, which would of course spoil the character.

Dinner was served precisely on time, as you would expect, but because there was noone to explain anything, and the food is completely unusual to a westerner, it's easy to feel uncomfortable about what you're eating. And unsure about what you are meant to do, or not to do. The lady looking after us spoke no English. Not her fault but when everything is so unusual it would be helpful to receive some guidance.

Outside the room was a private japanese garden with a small onsen. Though this was a highlight, be warned that the water is very hot, and I doubt anyone who isn't used to it will stay in for longer than ten minutes at a time.

The Ryokan is also on the road to Hakone, and not as far as Hakone iteself.

Overall, we didn't enjoy the stay here and thought it was overpriced for the experience. You may totally love it though so don't take my word that you won't. If I were to book a Ryokan again, however, I would book further in advance and have more choice of which one to choose, which wouldn't be this one. It gets three out of five because a Ryokan is an experience, not just a hotel, and I have no idea how it really compares to the alternatives. If we went back, we would take a day trip to Hakone from Tokyo rather than staying overnight.

If you do stay here, it's worth having a walk by the river and also visiting the local town outside the station as you will be the only western tourists there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank brindlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 離れは価格は高いですが、広くて趣があり、落ち着きます
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews