We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Hakone Kowakien Yunessun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hot springs spa resort and water amusement park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very busy on the weekend, not relaxing at all!
Would only recommend going for a laugh or if you have children to entertain.
Definitely not worth the 2800yen entry!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlessandraPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    227
    141
    41
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For best experience go in offseason”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Yunnesun spa was really fun. We went during the off season and the clientel was couples, a few small kids and other tourists. We had a great time, my daughter and I sat in every spa, wine, sake, charcoal, etc. About half of the food places were open, but we had a snack, then ate at an Italian restaurant on the way out which was remarkably above average for a Japanese Italian place (most are really, really bland). They give you a wrist band which you can charge stuff one.

Word of caution: I can see during tourist season this place being unbearable with kids screaming, crowded spas, heavier chlorination, etc. Would highly recommend going during the offseason. Also, it's probably not a great place to go in the summer, as the hot spas coupled with the hot weather, would wreak havoc on your body.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmperorMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special theme onsen in Japan”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Hakone Kowakien Yunessun is a hot springs spa resort and water amusement park which have the traditional Japanese onsen (hot springs) and water recreation services and activities. Yunessun consists of "Yunessun" (swimwear zone) and "Mori no yu"(naked zone). So you can wear swimsuits for the outdoor themed Yunessun onsen. The bathroom is individual and private, your privacy is well conserved. There are many bathrooms with full bath sets and makeup room with mirror and hair dryer. There is spin dry machine in bathroom to spin dry the wet clothes.
Note: towel and bath robe needs rental fee. It is 100 yen per towel (bath robe rental fee I forgot already, not sure is 200 or 300 yen).
If you visit hakone, don't miss out Yunessun. It is a good experience with friends and it is a nice photo taking spot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_eel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the best place if you are looking for hot spring(onsen).yunessun resort got a vast spread out of hot spring which is of two types-traditional Japanese which is pure hot spring .separate bathing area for men and women.the other one is spa which includes green tea,wine,sakae,coffee,miso soup,some precious stones hot spring,men n women together.children are allowed in both.beautiful experience ...must try!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simple_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our first and definitely not last time visiting Yunessen was great fun. We went on a week day and it wasn't crowded at all. It was a fun experience, by no means "traditional" onsen, but the different baths were nice...chocolate, rose, sake, coffee, wine, green tea, charcoal...many others. We did a40 min massage, which wasn't really worth the money we spent, my therapist seemed distracted...there was a tv on in the back ground, maybe she was watching it? Oh well, won't pay for that again. They also have Dr Kiss Fish, that you. An experience for an additional 100¥- totally worth it! We will definitely go back, again on a week day. Tolls were less than 1000¥ each way from Yokosuka and all day parking there was 1,200¥. Combined with our discount ticket prices (mil base 15-17$) , it is a very affordable day out. The only thing that I found gross was the bathrooms- everything was wet, but I guess that can't really be avoided! go well. Had fun regardless.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MiDiRi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakone Kowakien Yunessun also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Kowakien Yunessun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing