We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun for family”

Hakone Kowakien Yunessun
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A hot springs spa resort and water amusement park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So much fun for family”
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We loved the hot waterside and kids area, green tea and wine tubs. My 3 yo enjoyed being outside without freezing. Some pools are hotter than others, so she came into some. We did not go to mori-no-u, the hot tub side, as our hotel had one.
The cafe in te Aegean sea was nice. The "dr.fish" carp foot pedicure was amusing.

The pool in "you-topia" side of the park, was dated. Most of the restaurants were closed, and employees pointed us on long walks to places like the buffet that appeared long closed down. The lap pool had burgers and fries, they were fresh but boring, we were the only ones there on a mid-day great fun, Terrible food.

Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    223
    137
    41
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very amazing and relaxing for a family trip!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a good price offer from the hotel for this swimming facility. Ask your reception before you go to this facility since price can be rather different.

It was rainy day and we spent near 40 min in the queue just to enter the pool. There were many people there but if you are familiar with Japan, it would not surprise you! Besides, facility was very large and could host a rather large crowd.

We had a lot of fun in this swimming facility. Fish spa and aroma hot springs were the bests for us.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baboo_ghotbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Novel experience”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you are looking for a traditional Japanese onsen experience this isn't the place for you. However if you are onsened out or want to do something a little different it's fun.

We went in late May, after golden week. There weren't too many people and it was clearly the off season. There were lots of kids but they were all well behaved. The staff tended to spit out information in rapid fire Japanese so I'm not sure how it would have gone without speaking the language. There are coupons on their website that have substantial discounts if you can find someone to help you translate them.

That said where else are you going to get a chance to sit in sake, wine, coffee, green tea and charcoal. Sure there was some dying of the water going on but it was a fun experience and I think worth the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Felt a little like a tourist trap”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This place was like an immense water park, something like hurricane harbor at six flags in that the pools have dozens of people and it can be a little overwhelming getting around. This was in no way a relaxing place to experience the baths, it was more like a tourist trap met a kiddie hall. As soon as you go in you get a watch that you can charge lunch and items to, that was cool but problem was food was just okay, nothign very special. What we really went to do was experience the hot baths, they had a coffee bath, wine bath, green tea bath etc. They are all on the outside so unfortunately for us, since a typhoon was on its way it was raining outside and this really put a damper on our experience. In any case we went to tour the baths, first coffee bath, not very hot but yes the water looked like a very light brew of coffee and it smelled like coffee too. We hit the wine bath, the green tea bath and the sake bath. They were all extremely crowded, especially the wine bath. Green tea was the best since the water was really bright green so that was really cool, and it was the hottest one! Overall, I wouldn't really suggest unless you feel like you have to check out the different baths, that's why we went.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAround24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had such a great time in this waterpark!

There were two different areas to visit, one with the odd but interesting baths, such as the red wine bath, sake bath and coffee bath. They were outside.

The main area has a huge hot tub pool, fish that eat the skin on your feet, waterslides, a grotto, a collagen bath and a few more.

I highly recommend using google translate to find the coupons on the Japanese site, for a few dollars more than the regular price you can get a buffet lunch with a mix of western and Japanese food.

We had a lot of fun here, and 3 hours was enough time to at peasantry everything. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakone Kowakien Yunessun also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
 

Been to Hakone Kowakien Yunessun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing