We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very practical hotel in Tsukuba”
Review of Hotel Best Land

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Best Land
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels / Ryokan in Tsukuba
Certificate of Excellence
Driebergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very practical hotel in Tsukuba”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a very practical hotel in Tsukuba for the beginning of our trip. Good service, nice rooms, very clean. You are within 2 minutes of the train station that takes you to Tokyo, so very conveniently located. Many bars and eateries in the neighboorhood so also very pleasent. Price was a bit higher than normal but ok with an very good breakfast (buffet style).

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the train track if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    53
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
21
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Plain exterior and small lobby hides excellent rooms. Rooms were very modern and large. I am giving this Hotel five stars for Value. Best Land may not have all the bells and whisles of a larger hotel, but the rooms are among the best I have stayed in. The Beds are laree and comfortable with a big screen TV. The Shower/Tub has a window with a veiw of the city, and watch out for Robo Toilet. The toilet is in its own small room. When you open the door the toliet seat opens and a LED light comes on. The toilet seat comes down automatically when you are done. So no arguments with the wife, but I think little kids might be afraid :)

The Hotel is next to the Train Station, but there is not too much going on in the immediate area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Here for a week on a conference at the International Congress Center in Tsukuba, and feel quite at home. I'm from the States and have traveled to Japan before. On short trips I prefer to find western-style hotels for the sake of easing the jet-laggy adjustments. Generally I haven't been disappointed by Japanese hotels known for accommodating the likes of me, but the Hotel Bestland excels.

For looks, their website does it justice. Rooms are very clean and attractive. The style is of a very modern and cozy taste that's quite up to date I find very tasteful and relaxing.

There's always been a clerk on duty that speaks English, and they seem to identify the preference when you phone the front desk before they answer.

The Italian restaurant La Porta downstairs serves familiar fare as you please, with daily breakfast available as part of room charges at booking if you requested. I get by at La Porta using a bit of my child-like mastery of Japanese. There's also a sushi bar in the building and a few local restaurants just outside the front door that are quite worth the visit.

Travelers amenities are readily available including all toiletries, irons (loaned from front desk), LAN, and coin-op laundry.

Didn't look for a gym and don't think there is one, but if you maintain a jogging routine, there's a park just across the tracks that's fit for short runs. Others use it as well.

Speaking of tracks, the station here is one stop from the end of the line in Tsukuba and drops at Akihabara, connecting then to the rest of the rail. Extreme proximity to the station is great if you need it. It does detract with noise if you like to keep the window open at night and you're on the south side of the building, as I am. But with window closed, the room is very quiet.

Another reviewer mentioned not much room to hang clothes or put out luggage. On this I agree. The room is luxurious with many comforts, but smallish by some standards. There's just the few hangers on a rod against the wall for hanging a few important items and not much room elsewhere if you have a large case to set out. Not a big concern, but YMMV. That same wall does have a nice mirror, etc, for checking and brushing dress.

I highly recommend Hotel Bestland for a modern, western stay. Staff is friendly, amenities plenty, and it's an excellent value for the rate. They beat, hands down, most American hotels I've stayed with!

Room Tip: North side rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I stayed for a week at this property for a business trip. The hotel is nicely appointed with dark woods and dark green decor. The front desk staff is very friendly and professional. Most spoke English.
There are a few drawbacks which I noted in the survey in my room. There is nowhere established in the room to put luggage. No racks, dressers, etc. One rod attached to a wall panel with 3 hangers on it for hanging clothing. As a travelling business woman, this was a bit tricky to deal with.
Also there were very few instructions in English for the TV & phone. The hotel front desk had to help assist us with both items. There is a laundry room and a small machine where you can buy a TV card. This allows you access to a movie channel but you cannot choose the movie--its whatever is on..and the guide is all in Japanese.

No mini bar (there is a fridge but it has one bottle of water in it)

The hotel is directly above a train track with announcements and a rather quiet train whirring by about every 1/2 hour. If you are a light sleeper, this would be a struggle. I brought earplugs and was fine and my colleague slept fine in another room with no earplugs.

The hotel has 2 restaurants but no room service. I tried the Italian place where they serve breakfast each day. They had one English menu and one server who spoke English who was very helpful.
The breakfast was nice but very typically Japanese. They did have croissants and bread and tea with delicious Illy coffee. The rest was fish dishes, rice, seaweed etc.

Overall a good value and a good location near a huge mall and the train. If they add a few luggage racks and some more English directions in the room I think it will be a very good option for business & university travelers.

  • Liked — Location, decor, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of English instructions in room, lack of space to store clothing/items
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vivace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tsukuba hotels
1.6 mi away
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Tsukuba
1.8 mi away
Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba
1.9 mi away
Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba Epochal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Urban Hotel Tsukuba
Urban Hotel Tsukuba
#6 of 26 in Tsukuba
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mark-1 Tsukuba
Hotel Mark-1 Tsukuba
#5 of 26 in Tsukuba
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Land

Property: Hotel Best Land
Address: 5-8-4 Kenkyugakuen | Located Next To Kenkyu-Gakuen Station (Tsukuba Express), Tsukuba 305-0817, Ibaraki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Ibaraki Prefecture > Tsukuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels / Ryokan in Tsukuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Best Land 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:75 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten and HRS so you can book your Hotel Best Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing