We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mito in the Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Mito
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mito in the Winter”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I really did not have a choice about staying this hotel since it was a company arranged accomodation. To my surprise there were lots of positive things about this hotel. The most important is the location as I had taken a bus from Tokyo airport to the bus station which is one level below the hotel entrance. The Mito train station is right above that and it's literally a two minute walk from the hotel lobby to the platform. A nice lobby next to a good breakfast room was also a good asset. In the evening there were many things to do around the hotel, which is probably as much that goes on in this town. The room was reasonably sized by Japanese standards and the bed was excellent. TV channels were useless but the wired internet gave access to news and entertainment. The hotel provided a free device to create a wi-fi hot spot in the room by plugging it to the LAN and that was very fast and worked for all my devices. The view was nice and gave a glorious view of the sunset. Breakfast was included in our package but not sure about the rest of the guests since everyone seemed to have a voucher for breakfast and they did not have a room list per say. The weekend was too crowded, specailly in the morning, as the hotel is linked to a wedding hall and many guest stay in the hotel overnight. There was no minibar but an unplugged fridge (thank God for that as they can be noisy) that one could freely use for purchased drinks. They provided a daily bottle of water that could be supplemented by a second bottle if the guest opted for the hotel not to change the sheets and pillow cover. There are other amenities included but I had no time to make use of them so I cannot really rate them. A very good hotel although the building from outside is not very impressive and the TV listings are terrible (a decoder was available in the room with a vending machine that one could use to buy viewing cards for premium channels). I may stay there again if I had a choice but I would also look around since there are many other hotels that look just as good in the same great location, which is a short walk to the wonderful lake, gardens (wrong season for blooming trees though) and a beautiful temple. Nothing was lost in translation here as the staff spoke perfect english. Thank you Terrace the Garden Mito for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Get a view of the train station entrance to enjoy a glorious sunset and wake up to the hunderds of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habjouqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    69
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
17
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel and venue. On 30th March 2013 our daughter (Australian) married a local Japanese man. Family and friends travelled to Mito from Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, New York. We all stayed at the hotel and were 100% happy with the service, accommodation, helpfulness of staff. It was very convenient for people to find their way as it is at a JR station and the bus from Narita airport stopped at the door. The wedding was beautiful including the ceremony in their chapel then walk down the outside glass stairway followed by reception. The room had lots of candles and flowers in lime green, red and white The food was amazing, lobster, truffle pie, steak, triple desert and wedding cake. Their attention to detail meant the execution was flawless. All Staff-planners, waiters musicians, reception were perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had previously visited Mito on other occasions, but I have always stayed in other hotels. This time - having to be very close to the Mito station - I tried the Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito.

The hotel is nicely situated very close to the JR station and to various restaurants and commercial shops. The lobby is very welcoming and luminous. The rooms are relatively well sized and i was lucky to have a room facing the main station square. The window is huge with a nice view over the Lake Senba; if you are at a sufficiently high floor you can even spot the Art Tower Mito.

The breakfast is Japanese style and very good: plenty of selection for cold and hot dishes. The hotel features also a public spa (but i didn't try it due to lack of time).

Definitely suggested.

Room Tip: The rooms at high floor towards the Mito station square have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilkDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October 2011 for 2 weeks. At that time I followed the activities held by JAEA in Tokai. It is strategically located as close to shopping centers, train stations and bus stations.
My impression of this hotel is the convenience, friendly staff, cleanliness, and safety.
As for smokers and coffee lovers - I feel that the availability of rooms for smokers (although they had on the top floor) and hot water heater in the rooms - makes me feel at home. coupled with the availability of high-speed internet access - makes browsing activities and communication with family and friends in Indonesia was running smoothly.

Greetings from Indonesia ...,

Suhardi Hadi Pranoto.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hardy_HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A reasonable business hotel in a very convenient location (just outside Mito railway station, South exit). A few aspects are not really appropriate for a business hotel (e.g. no in room wifi, but then it is true that this is a general Japanese issue), no pool nor other amenities, restaurant so and so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hotel Terrace the Garden in Mito is very conveniently located right outside Mito station and right next to 2 department stores on either side or the station exit.
The Hotel itself is good. The staff are very helpful. The room I stayed in was perfectly clean. There are drinks machines on several floors, very convenient if you arrive late or are jet-lagged and wake up at silly times of the day. There is not wifi but the wired internet was good and cable is supplied. The room I stay in was small for Westeren standards but good for Japanese standards. I did not notice any sounds fro neighbouring guest which is a plus. The only thing is that I did not manage to get any Englisg speaking TV although it said it was there, must have been me not being to read the Japanese TV instructions.
They ahve a Japanese Spa, I did not use that so can't tell you much about that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valvefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel is a very comfortable business hotel in the heart of Mito. It is right next to the train station which makes it super easy to get in and out of town if traveling by train. There are shops and restaurants in the area. This is purely a business hotel. That means it is you miss out on amenities such as a pool. Also there are no laundry facilities on-site. There is free internet in every room but you need to use a network cable (available from the hotel). The only WiFi is in the lobby. The whole building is very clean and kept in great working condition. It is also close to Senba Boardwalk which is a great place to go jogging.

Room Tip: The top two top floors are smoking floors so beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpgradeMePlease1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mito hotels
Mito Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Mito
Mito Station
Hotel Mets Mito
Hotel Mets Mito
#5 of 40 in Mito
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mito Station
President Hotel Mito
President Hotel Mito
#6 of 40 in Mito
53 reviews
Mito Plaza Hotel
#3 of 40 in Mito
91 reviews
Mito Keisei Hotel
#7 of 40 in Mito
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito

Property: Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito
Address: 1-7 Miyamachi, Mito 310-0015, Ibaraki Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Ibaraki Prefecture > Mito > Mito Station
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Mito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:180/Paid Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terrace The Garden Mito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing