We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst.Bed.Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels / Ryokan in Urayasu
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst.Bed.Ever.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had four days at Disney planned, and I wasn't going to pay the ridiculous Disney hotel rates when staying on my own. I read the few English reviews on Hilton, Sheraton and this hotel, and none of them were all that good. Almost every review of the Hilton and Sheraton (and there are a lot more English reviews for these two) said the rooms were tired. So I took a gamble and picked this hotel, mostly because it's right across the road from the monorail station.

The room was easily the biggest I had stayed in during my two weeks in Japan, but it too was a bit outdated. Lots of peach and beige. The bathroom is quite beautiful, and again, absolutely massive. Compared to some Japanese hotel bathrooms, where a misguided step out of the shower could see you standing in the toilet, it was easily three or four strides between the sink, bath, shower and toilet. The towels were lovely and fluffy. And that's about where the good stuff ends.

I had read reviews on the 'hard' bed and thought I could deal with it. These reviews were not accurate. The bed isn't hard, it's just of the lowest quality they could possibly find. To lay on, it's like having a box of springs, covered with a layer of thin fabric. The whole bed was completely devoid of padding. I was tempted to order about a dozen of their plush towels just so I had something comfortable to lay on. For such a fancy (and expensive) hotel, this is really unacceptable.

Speaking of expensive, the restaurant was ridiculously so. You would be much better off eating at the park...! And on the park, accessibility is very easy. This hotel really is right across the road from the monorail station. They run a bus between the station and the hotel, which seems extraordinary considering it takes all of five minutes to walk between the two. And there seems to be some discouragement from walking given the way the buses park across all the pathways leading to the road. And yes, the Sheraton and Hilton would both be walkable, add another 5-10 minutes (they are either side of the Hotel Okura).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    486
    131
    39
    14
See reviews for
827
186
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Baby supplies provided very full, the rooms are large with bathroom
We can see the ocean view that it's very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 喵小霧
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I'have book this hotel via booking.com and it cost me around 165 € per night. The hotel services: indoor pool, outdoor pool, sauna, gym.... None of these are accessible when you are a hotel guest (apparently coming from a travel agency). So this is really a shame staying here for 1 week and not beeing able to enjoy the facilities. They wanted me to pay 35 euros for 30min of jogging! Unfortunately it's hot outside, so it's hard to go running outside. I also ordered a ceasar salad just for a lunch: 25 euros for only some pieces of salad and some chicken. I was starving and there was absolutely no cheese, nor croutons, really I wonder if the chef didn't forget something... The more nights I stay, the more hotel things disappear: pyjama, pillows... Why do they remove things. How told them I don't want 2 pillows in my rooms???
And they wake you up on Saturday at 9am....
Anyway, DO NOT go there if you are used to 4 or 5 stars hotel. It doesn't deserve it. People are kind and service is good but like anywhere else in Japan, no special things for this 4,5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: South wing building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuteamande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel before a day at Tokyo Disney Sea. Room was very spacious and had beautiful Shiseido amenities which was an excellent touch. Beautiful big bathroom and great bath. Be warned though, beds were very hard. Staff were very friendly and the buffet breakfast was very yummy. Good priced hotel in the Disney resort area

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice classical feel hotel with the service that is second to none. The staff were always friendly and helpful, even if most of them aren't too fluent in English. The rooms were big and spacious, but the beds were a little too stiff for my liking.

For breakfast, there are 4 restaurants on the ground and 1st floor for you to choose from, but you can't beat Fontana. Great variety of Japanese food (think hamburg, karaage, ebi fry miso, curry, gohan, soba) to Western selections (omelette, french toast, bacon, ham) they have it all.

The locations is one of the hotel's selling point, being right outside the Bayside monorail station that can take you straight to the Disney parks. A shuttle bus runs frequently between the hotel and the station, but you can't walk there in about 5 minutes. It is the closest of the Tokyo Disney official hotels to the station.

Free wi-fi is available only in the lobby area, just get the 24-hour login details from the concierge desk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooohnBonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is in Disney resort area and it was as expected, not so good, not so bad.
I went to Tokyo Disneyland and stayed at the hotel at night. I could check in my luggage near the entrance of Disneyland. The hotel staff carried my luggage to hotel.
I brought my computer to use internet but I could not use internet in my room. There was internet corner at 1st floor and I had to pay to use it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights last month. Usually don't stay at hotels when I'm in Japan but nobody we knew lives around TDR.

The hotel is great. My gf booked the room through a Japanese agency and got a fantastic rate. The first room we got smelled like smoke, both of us being non-smokers this really bothered us. I called the front desk and they immediately apologized and offered a new UPGRADED room. I didn't ask for that, they offered it. Got the new room. It was bigger than my apartment back in Minnesota LOL! Great view of the bay I could stand around watching the water traffic all day.

We didn't really spend that much time in the room as it was Disney Disney Disney. Got the driver of the MIckey Mouse shuttle to take a pic of us in front of it, great pic. lol (the bus takes you to the shuttle train station for a short ride to the parks)

The breakfast buffet was really good. Mostly western style. We didn't dine at any of the other restaurants but according to some other guests I talked to there they were very good. I was on a mission to find Chiba's best tonkatsu myself, so evenings were spent in search of that!!! (and found it oh yeah mmmm tonkatsu!)

I found this hotel to be great. Even if we had stayed in the original room it was fairly large. Bigger than any I've ever seen in Japan. They are clean, neat and comfortable. Service is as you would expect anywhere in Japan, five star. If there is a problem the management will bend over backwards to make sure you're happy. Employees are very polite and professional. I would stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jettsett3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Urayasu hotels
Maihama Station
Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel
Maihama Station
Hilton Tokyo Bay
Hilton Tokyo Bay
#6 of 25 in Urayasu
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Emion Tokyo Bay
#3 of 25 in Urayasu
646 reviews
Sunroute Plaza Tokyo
#10 of 25 in Urayasu
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay
Address: 1-8 Maihama, Urayasu 279-0031, Chiba Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Urayasu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Urayasu
#5 Family Hotel in Urayasu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Urayasu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Bay Hotel
Okura Tokyo Bay Urayasu
Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay Japan/Urayasu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing