We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uninspiring but airport location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Uninspiring but airport location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had a one night stay at the Hilton Narita whilst awaiting a connecting flight. All in all it was a typical chain hotel, of which there was nothing overly wrong but nothing particularly special either.

The shuttle bus is free of charge, but do note the times - they do not run as frequently as I would have thought (only one per hour and some times of the day).

The room was of the standard set up, although was perhaps a bit dated and it could have been cleaner (hairs in the bath..). The bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower was fine. I had no issues with noise.

As with others I am amazed at the lack of wifi in this day and age, and also by the price then charged for wired access.

The staff were courteous and efficient.

The hotel shop was a convenient and reasonably priced place for lunchtime snacks. In the evening the bar's happy hour made a beer or two affordable and the staff there were really friendly. The food however was exceedingly bland and a very small portion.

In sum the place was probably no worse than anywhere else in the nearby vicinity, but was probably a typical example of a chain hotel in a remote location being able to rest on its laurels a bit given the 'captive audience'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
aber_james,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Narita Hotel
It was pleasing to see that the hotel met your needs and that you found the location satisfactory.
Thank you for the travel tips about happy hour in the terrace bar and shuttle times. For a full list of shuttle times guests are advised to look at our home page

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review

Safe travels

David C Harper

General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    924
    388
    128
    46
See reviews for
474
463
342
678
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for one night before a flight back to London the next day.

The hotel is very big and is reachable from the airport by free shuttle bus in about 10 mins.

The room rate didn’t include breakfast but was very cheap when compared to other hotels in Japan.

Check-in was quick and efficient and because the hotel was busy we were offered a free upgrade to a bigger room.

The hotel is quite old and this was apparent when we stepped out of the lift and were hit by a musty smell.

The room was big and clean and had a large king size bed.

We had a few drinks in the bar and then decided to take advantage of a evening meal deal in the bar. The meal was very nice and the service from the bar was very efficient. This helped make our last night in Japan a pleasure. Eating in the bar area wasn't a problem as we had one table each and pushed them together.

The next day we paid for breakfast, which was a standard buffet style with plenty of choice, before packing up for our long flight home.

Enjoyed the 1 night stay at the Hilton and glad we decided to spend the last night in Japan there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
MarkAddy,

Greetings from the Hilton Narita team,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review

Great to see that overall your experience was a positive one and that the hotel suited your needs. It was pleasing to see that you made use of the Food and Beverage outlets and that you enjoyed the experience

Thank you for a positive review - it is appreciated. I will share your comments with the team

Safe travels

David C Harper

General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I really liked the location of this hotel as it's easy accessible by free shuttle bus.
Service was very good but that is not a surprise in Japan where people tend to be like this everywhere.
The sad side: it's 21st century. Is it really so hard to install Wi-Fi in the rooms?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ar0nUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Ar0nUK,

Greetings from Japan
Thank you for your recent stay and for the review on Trip Advisor
Glad to see that overall the hotel suited your needs and that your found the location and shuttle access satisfactory

Thank you for your comments regarding WiFi in the guest room. we are working on a solution and hope to have WiFi access early next year, in the mean time we offer free WiFi access in our Java cafe in the Lobby

Thank you again for the review and your feedback - both are appreciated

Safe travels

David C Harper

General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
242 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a one night layover in NRT due to plane schedules. I wanted a known quality hotel with convenient location, so decided to try the Hilton. The hotel offers complimentary door to door bus service between the hotel and all terminals. The hotel itself is modern and stylish. We reserved the standard room and were delighted by its clean design lines and good comfort. I obtained a hotels.com price of USD$122 including all taxes, so it was truly a remarkable bargain. I would not hesitate to stay again should my plans require an overnight at NRT!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dougananda,

Greetings from the team at Narita Hilton hotel

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of your experience
Great to see that you enjoyed the stay and the hotel offerings.
Thank you for the positive comments, especially about the great value for money offered. Best rates are always available at our home page, you will also find a selection of special packages there also.

Thank you again for the stay and the positive review

Safe travels

David C Harper

General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
198 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel appears a little dated, and has no wifi in the rooms... Very disappointing for 2012! The rooms are adequate, if not a little old fashioned, but for an airport hotel, service is excellent as to be expected all over Japan. Use the free shuttle into Narita, it runs regularly and offers use of a supermarket where products are offered much cheaper than the mini market in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
tomwmorton,

Greetings from Japan
Thank you for your recent stay and for the review on Trip Advisor
Glad to see that overall the hotel suited your needs and that the stay was a satisfactory one

Thank you for your comments regarding WiFi in the guest room. we are working on a solution and hope to have WiFi access early next year, in the mean time we offer free WiFi access in our Java cafe in the Lobby

Thank you again for the review and your feedback - both are appreciated

Safe travels,

David C Harper
General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a nice finish to a long flight from the central US. After many ours of travel, it was great to take a short 10 minute ride in an airport shuttle bus from the airport terminal to the hotel. The hotel staff were super accommodating (though telling us that we had been upgraded due to a full hotel might have been a factor). The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was great (though expensive) and a nice way to start our trek into Japan.

All in all, a really nice place if you're looking to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
GD R

Greetings from the Hilton Narita team,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review on the Trip Advisor web site.
It was pleasing to see that overall you had a pleasant stay and that the hotel suited your needs. Thank you for your positive comments about breakfast, our buffet is very extensive and offers a great selection

Thank you again for your stay and the positive review - both are appreciated

Safe travels

David C Harper

General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

If there's one thing that the Japanese don't do well it's hotels. Narita as a major hub airport is just surrounded by disappointing hotels.

So this time I chose to try out the Hilton.

First impressions - lobby is nice and the staff are welcoming and friendly - one of the best things about this hotel is the staff all speak a good level of English.

The rooms are small and no where near the usual Hilton standard - no robes, minibar and incredibly thin towels.

Bed was comfortable, shower was good and the air conditioning worked well.

The spa/massage is very average.

The health club is even more average ang guests are charged entry. The pool is a indoor lap pool that took me back to the '80's.

Ate in the buffet restaurant for breakfast which was great, alcarte lunch and dinner there were good. Bar was well priced with a good selection. The Japanese restaurant had great food and service.

Free bus to/from the airport however it doesn't run very frequently.

This is n average hotel and below average Hilton. Anywhere else in the world I'd recommend looking at another hotel but in Narita this is really the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnecpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHarper, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
bnecpl,

Greetings from Japan,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Narita hotel and for taking the time to write a review for the Trip Advisor
It was great to see that you enjoyed the overall experience and that you took the time to sample some of the Food and Beverage offerings at the Hotel. Our breakfast buffet is large and has an extensive selection - good to see that you enjoyed it. On the second floor of the hotel (western style 1st floor) our Japanese restaurant Matsukaze is very popular - both with locals and with hotels guests. It operates nightly from Wednesday to Sunday and for lunch on Saturday and Sunday.

bnecpl, thank you again for the stay and the positive review

Safe travels

David C Harper

General Manager
Hilton Narita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narita hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#2 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
1.0 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
0.3 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marroad International Hotel Narita Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel

Property: Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel
Address: 456 Kosuge, Narita 286-0127, Chiba Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Narita
Hilton Narita
Narita Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing