We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but staff not helpful or friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location but staff not helpful or friendly”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Yes the hotel is convenient, they have a pick up at the airport and provide a bus service but the staff is not helpful. We had to drag our luggage through the lobby to our room after an all night flight. We asked for information at the desk and received a big no at each request. We are pretty seasoned travelers who are very self sufficient but just wanted to avoid the 90 degree heat in the area today and were looking to find something to do before our flight out. They just want to get you booked in and out. The rates are good but don't count on much service or attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona83555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    588
    331
    42
    21
See reviews for
308
272
252
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Narita Excel Hotel for one night in June 2013. Great location near the airport and saves you having to get yourself into Tokyo at night if you arrive late and jetlagged like we did. Free transfer to and from the airport. Very well equipped, comfortable and quiet room, good shower, air-con and internet connection. Breakfast available but not included. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night with 2 toddlers. We stayed in a Gardenia room with two single beds. My toddlers (age 3 and age 5) slept in one bed and did just fine. I slept in the other bed and aside from the bed being hard, had an ok, quiet night's sleep. What made me book this hotel was the convenient transfers between the airport and the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that there were buses as early as 7am (I was sure the website stated "8:00am first bus") so we took the early bus and there was no stress.
Tips: I think 2 double beds would fit a 4-person family ok (1 parent + 1 kid in each bed). 2 singles wouldn't work I don't think. They do have connecting rooms if you book early enough.
Also: breakfast was meh. I would go on the early bus and eat at the airport. It seemed expensive and they charged me for my 5 year old.
And: read reviews of places that are closer. a 20-30 minute bus ride with 2 tired kids, then standing in line late at night at check in (because this place gets busy), is not the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneliese671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew back to the uk. We had stayed at a different hotel at Narita airport the previous year and after hotels in Japanese cities were amazed by the size of the bedroom/bathroom in a hotel geared for a one-night stay. This hotel has more compact rooms which are perfectly adequate for a one-night stay. the rooms are air-conditioned with free wifi and they even provide coffee and not just green tea. The restaurant is expensive, but the buffet had a good selection of food. We didn't have breakfast and just bought something at the airport after our transfer from the hotel. There is a bus service to Narita, but we were too tired to go for a visit.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the front on the top floor. We had an excellent view of the airport and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited Japan on business in April 2013. I had to stay a night by the airport before my flight back to London, as I wanted to give myself a chance to rest before the long flight. The hotel offers a shuttle bus from the airport, which takes roughly 15 minutes to get to the hotel. The Hotel is an airport hotel hence why it is so close to the airport.

I was impressed with the hotel which had a large reception area and a good sized breakfast room. I enjoyed breakfast which had a variety of Japanese breakfast items (rice, cold noodles, fish, miso etc) and continental breakfast (eggs, ham, bacon etc).

I liked my room which offered comfortable sleep with bouncy bed and fluffy pillows. I had a fantastic sleep. I would stay at this hotel again if I needed to. I only stayed the night and it was worth it. I booked via booking.com and it only cost ¥ 6020.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_n_M1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is your basic airport hotel. Definitely have stayed in better hotels near the airport such as the Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport.
Rooms were alright. Beds were fairly comfortable. Internet in the room was very nice. Great view of a parking lot.
There is a shuttle to the local Aeon mall that was easy and free. There is also a free shuttle to the airport. Just make sure you know ahead of time which terminal you are leaving from.
Really the only advantage of staying there was its proximity to the airport since Narita is far from downtown Tokyo. Breakfast was average compared to the other hotels we had stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our flight home. The lobby is lovely. Our room was very comfortable and clean - large by Japanese standards! I had a great night's sleep. The dispenser for the soap and shampoo in the bathroom was unusual but everything was clean etc. We had dinner in the restaurant and we were really happy with the food. The shuttle bus to the airport was punctual, and the hotel is in a perfect location for this journey.

Room Tip: We had a room on the highest floor and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narita hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#3 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
0.2 mi away
Narita Gateway Hotel
Narita Gateway Hotel
#7 of 30 in Narita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 31 Oyama, Narita 286-0131, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 706
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing