We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Narita”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Narita
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Saint John
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mercure Narita”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Mercure Narita and found it very convenient. Short distance from the airport and short walking distance to local restaurants. Rooms were clean and comfortable (not extravagant) and the staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeeSaintJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    322
    288
    69
    26
See reviews for
131
203
188
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here when I was in transit and found it convenient as it wasn't too far from the airport. The courtesy airport shuttle only runs every half an hour or so in the evening so we had a bit of a wait when we arrived. The check in was smooth and easy with helpful staff. Make sure you buy a breakfast voucher on check in as it is cheaper than paying when you dine. The rooms were comfortable with everything you need. The wifi was free and very easy to access. Room service was good quality and quick, it was available 24 hrs so was perfect for a late arrival. On the whole a very nice hotel and the 11 am check out was good. The reception staff are happy to look after luggage during the day too. Good hotel located in a nice area. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinablueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel serves the purpose of being very convenient for Narita airport. We were able to get two adjoining rooms which was great for our family of 4 to have the feeling of all staying together.
It's only a short stroll to a few restaurants and shops which is a bonus. The hotel provided the use of plenty of umbrellas which we were grateful for as it was raining the night we stayed and we were still able to have a walk around without getting wet.
The hotel has a complimentary bus transfer to and from Narita airport.
The downside is that the hotel is quite dated and smelt a bit of old cigarettes in the corridors. There isn't any wifi but there was a small room with coin operated Internet computers which was ok to check emails etc.
All in all - not an impressive hotel but not too bad either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzfenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Little old hotel, not as good as some of the Mercure hotels can be.
We had some problems with checking in. We booked a twin at Agoda but the the receptionist had a reservation for a twin but only for 1 person. We had booked for 2 persons. She just had 1 and that was it. She gave us the option to pay 20 euros more, or leave and figure out yourself how to get your money back. We were not in the mood for discussions and paid the 20 euros, because this only took half an hour. We also booked this hotel for the shuttle bus, but the first bus will go at 07:00, so we had to take the train. We were happy that we did not include breakfast, because a breakfast to go was also not possible and their breakfast start from 6:30.
We were given a room that was old, small, run down and next to the track where we could hear the people talk and the loudspeaker. Nothing like the room we supposedly booked and paid an extra unclear 20 euro's for. Asked the receptionist if she had at least a room at the other side. Also that was so difficult and took forever, but was possible after 14:00. So I waited but nothing happened. No, was her answer all of a sudden, no more rooms. Got irritated and luckily another receptionist stepped in and solved the problem in 2 minutes! She apologized for her behavior and told us that she always upsets the customers. She showed us a good room at the other side of the building. We were happy with this room, which was a very comfortable room, quiet and great beds. Location is great of this hotel, a 10 minute walk to the temple, which is absolutely worthwhile. You walk directly to the street with a lot of nice restaurants and souvenir shops. Train station is 2 minutes walk and in 10 minutes you are at the airport (first train goes at 06:10am will take about 10 minutes) Supermarket across the street, so very convenient. Normally hotels this close to the airport has these services like breakfast to go, or frequent shuttle busses that takes you also early in the morning. But this hotel does not, we stayed for these prices at much better hotels(including other Mercure hotels). I was quiet though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not along the train track. The first shuttle bus is at 07:00, also breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am from the USA but live and work in South Korea; overnight layovers at Tokyo Narita are the norm for me when traveling back and forth between the two countries. As far as Narita airport hotels go, I have tried the majority of them with the Radisson and Crowne Plaza being my top two choices in that order.

I chose this hotel this time around because I had a much later flight than usual and this hotel is one of the only ones that are actually in the town of Narita where you can walk around and site see a bit to kill time before going to the airport. Most of the other major hotels have absolutely nothing around them with nowhere to go and nothing to see that is close by.

This is an older facility compared to some of the others but still of an acceptable quality. The free airport shuttle is a bit less frequent than the other hotels (approx. 45 min) which can be a bit trying on a cold winter day if you happen to just miss the shuttle and have wait until it returns as I did.

The front desk staff are very professional, well trained, and English speaking as is typical for most airport hotels, both the restaurant and bar staff were clearly English challenged but the menus are in both Japanese and English so you can just point to what you want, I had dinner in the restaurant and evening cocktails in the bar and found both to be quite good.

The room was also typical Japanese, tiny but clean and functional with “no frills" what so ever. One English TV channel (CNN), one tea bag, etc. The bathroom was small even by Japanese standards with the typical amenities.

The breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing, I'll use the word "sparse" and I'm being kind. If breakfast is included in your room rate as mine was then you have nothing to lose, however if it is not included I would not consider it worth the going rate of 2000 yen (approx. $24 USD) but rather opt to eat at one of the many choices in town.

Probably the best thing this hotel has going for it that sets it apart from the rest is that the charming little town of Narita is right outside the front door, you can walk around and browse the shops or eat at one of the many little bars and eatery’s, also one of the most famous Japanese temples is within walking distance. While this hotel is not at the top of my Narita list, it definitely is a nice refreshing change of pace especially if you have a later flight and need a nice place to kill some time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outlaw1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This Hotel is Old and priced accordingly, but don’t let its age put you off. It is very handy for the Airport for a short stop over, great for experiencing Japan and for the novice traveler ,lots of Western Airline crew stay around Narita so English is spoken in many places. The hotel staff a very efficient and the rooms larger than most budget Japanese hotels

Room Tip: Facing away from the rainway station would be less noisy. IE North
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grif65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location of the hotel is really good - right next to the JR Narita station. However, the hotel gives no value for money. The room needed a refurbishment. The wired Internet is available, but you have to pay for it. I didn't like the plastic bathroom. I stayed in better hostels in Japan than this hotel is, and they were cheaper as well. I enjoyed an in-house japanese restaurant and a free airport shuttle bus. The western-style breakfast was avarage - nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tygrysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narita hotels
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
0.1 mi away
APA Hotel Keisei Narita Ekimae
3.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#3 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
0.2 mi away
Narita U-city Hotel
Narita U-city Hotel
#15 of 30 in Narita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.2 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Narita

Property: Mercure Hotel Narita
Address: 818-1 Hanazaki-Cho, Narita 286-0033, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Narita 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Narita is located at Tokyos Narita Airport, a few minutes walk from Kesei rail station. The hotel features 248 rooms, a restaurant, bar, gymnasium, squash court and complimentary airport shuttle service. Narita San-Shinshoji Temple, one of the largest temples in Japan, is also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Narita
Mercure Narita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing