We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Narita
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Certificate of Excellence
MI
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cosy and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Very comfortable and cosy hotel with easy access to trains and eateries. Rooms had all the amenities you could need including free internet and kettle. The rooms are quite small and wouldn't be able to accommodate an extra bed (bigger rooms are available). The hotel provided an airport shuttle which was under trial for the month of March 2011. Very convenient especially if you have lots of luggage to save the trouble of negotiating stairs to the train station. Considering it is a business hotel, the staff could do with better command of English.

Lots of good food near the town centre and along the main street, all within walking distance. Travel into Tokyo takes about 1 1/2 hours to Ueno interchange depending on whether you catch the express train. Great if you're visiting Narita city or transiting at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lminhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    514
    81
    21
    4
See reviews for
232
308
304
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

I used this hotel as a "layover" at the end of my trip in Tokyo. Stayed here 2 nights and would definitely recommend it. You will want to go down to the B1 Floor of the Narita Airport and take the Keisei Line to the Keisei Narita Station. This is 1 stop from Terminal 2 and 2 stops from Terminal 1. If you're hesitant about buying your tickets from the machines, there are ticket counters where you can buy the tickets. It should be 250 yen and everyone at the information areas in the airport knew how to get to Richmond hotel. When you get off the Keisei train, you'll want to go up and across the tracks using either stairs or the elevators. You should see the hotel when you leave the station, but if you are unsure, you can ask the attendants where you turn in your train ticket and they can point you in the right direction!

The room is typical of most rooms in Japan--fairly small; however, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is a good size as well. They even provided whole bottles of shampoo and conditioner for use while you are in the hotel along with other shower and personal accessories. There is also free wireless internet that is fairly fast, and if you find the right button on your remote for your television you can get movies in English that have been dubbed into Japanese.

You can get a map of the local area from the front desk and it highlights some sightseeing places along with local restaurants. Right outside the hotel there are 2 convenience shops. If you walk up and around the corner and head towards the JR Narita Station, you'll find an abundance of places for both shopping and food, including a popular 100 yen store. There's even a 7-Eleven on the far side of the JR station in case you need an ATM. And if you're hesitant about trying local food, there is a 24 hour McDonald's right near the JR station. The lunch menu in the Stella restaurant was not in English, but the staff was more than helpful with translating what was on the menu. Fantastic service as that was above and beyond what they had to do!! Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a hotel before heading into Tokyo or otherwise just need a place to stay near Narita Airport. If you want to book it online ahead of time, the hotel's website is only in Japanese. However, if you use another source (like expedia or travelocity) you can find this hotel and book it easily and in English or your language.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank japantraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We opted to stay in Narita because our time in Japan was limited to a day. We arrived in Narita on 26 December, and given that we went from Christmas Eve dinner table straight to the first airport. We'd predicted correctly that we'd be as wired as we were tired and wanted to stay close to the fast train into Tokyo where we went for dinner. The town of Narita is one stop from Terminal II or two stops from Terminal I of the Narita airport, and the hotel is down is at most a block from Narita's train station. You can see the sign out the window of the left side of the train as it approaches the station (perhaps 10 minutes from the airport where you can get the fast train into Tokyo). We wanted easy to get to, and we got it. The rooms are very small, but well equipped, the beds are comfortable. Upon arrival guests are offered extra amenities at the front desk, but the bathroom is perfectly equipped without them. We did take the fast train into Tokyo returned too late to take it back to the airport (I believe the last fast train leaves Tokyo for the airport at about 9:30 PM) so we took a regular train, which took significantly longer, but with enough well populated while not crowded back to Narita. We cannot comment on the restaurant because the breakfast service ended bye the time we got up the next morning. Sadly, there is no coffee service between sittings. On one final note, the town of Narita is well worth a visit with an exquisite temple and park, and a lovely main street with shopping and dining options. It made for a relaxing and stress free day without the need to rush back to the terminal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

I have stayed in other hotels in narita before, but this hotel impressed me the most. Location is excellent, close to narita station and convinient shops nearby. Hotel staff is very friendly, and the hotel itself is very modern. The room is very clean and bigger than other single rooms I have stayed in japan before . I pre booked the room and got an exellent rate around £35 for the single room but the bed is big enough for 2 people. I'd definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakacarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed for one night at the Richmond Narita on the next to last day of my trip to Japan. Since I had a relatively early flight, I decided to stay in Narita and was very pleasantly surprised by the Richmond Hotel. I paid 5,900 yen for a single room that included the full breakfast buffet.

The hotel is very conveniently located just a short two or three minute walk from the Keisei Narita station and only one stop away from Narita terminal number 1 (250 yen). There's plenty of restaurants and drinking establishments within walking distance of the hotel. The room itself was very clean with a modern design. The entire hotel appears to have been renovated very recently. Check in was a breeze with a friendly and welcoming staff. Payment was made through an automatic machine similar to an ATM.

I definitely recommend the Richmond Hotel. I consider it to be a "best in class" hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Booked the hotel as I was arriving into Narita late and knew I'd want to get to bed quickly rather than travel into Tokyo.

The hotel is very handy for the train station, check in was efficient and the room was quite big by Japan standards.

It was very clean and comfortable and I had a great night's sleep. Only slight issue was that reception called our roon a few minutes after our check-out time (as we were leaving the room) to say we had 15mins to get out or we'd be charged. That seems to be quite common in Japan however.

Would definitely recommend and would use the hotel again if I had a late arrival (or early departure).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowmanrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

The Richmond hotel is very accessible from Narita airport. You will have to take a local train from the airport. Make sure you take the right train; there are a number of trains that depart from Narita airport that seem to go in all directions, skip stops, etc. As someone else mentioned, you should see the Richmond hotel on the left side as you pull into the station.

You can exit only from one side of the station, so make your way to that side/exit. Once you go through the exit gates, you can either walk straight out of the station onto the streets or if you look to your right, there are stairs/hallway that leads to City Hall. Take that direction and keep going down as many stairs as you can until you actually hit the road. I believe this was about 4 sets of stairs. The escalators only go in the up direction! When you actually hit the road, go towards the left. You should see Apa hotel and Lawson's. Walk up this block and Richmond hotel is on the right side, you should see the sign.

Check-in was a bit confusing, as we booked via the hotel website for a special anniversary rate. It is in Japanese, so either call them for a reservation or have a Japanese person help you make a reservation. After checking in, they have a huge basket of toiletries (sample size) for you to choose from. They have everything: shampoo, soap, hair ties, brush, etc.

The room itself is a standard size for a Japanese metropolitan city, which is small but pristine. Everything was very clean, as expected. The internet is free, which was nice. Bathroom is small but very clean. After traveling through Southeast Asia, it was nice to be able to brush my teeth with the tap water in Japan.

The area was a little quiet, but the hotel has a map of the area for you to explore. If you make your way to Narita's center, it is a cute strip of shops and restaurants that lead to the temple. Many tourists abound. There was a ramen shop that was very good along the way. We picked up a lot of Japanese rice crackers and mochi to bring home as souvenirs.

Lastly, the breakfast was great. We opted to pay more for it and it was worth it. A good mix of Japanese and Western breakfast. Everything was well prepared, fresh and clean. I highly recommend it if you don't mind spending a little bit extra. It was nice to not worry about eating before we caught our flight back to the USA.

It was perfect for a layover and a much better deal than any of the other options in Narita. I recommend this place wholeheartedly; I hope they don't raise the prices too much as they gain more popularity!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenbee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narita hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Narita
Hotel Nikko Narita
#2 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Narita Excel Hotel Tokyu
2.1 mi away
Hilton Tokyo Narita Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Narita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
APA Hotel Keisei Narita Ekimae
3.0 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Narita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Narita

Property: Richmond Hotel Narita
Address: 970 Hanazakicho, Narita 286-0033, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel Narita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Hotel Narita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing