We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best temple and Grounds of the Trip”

Naritasan Shinshoji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.67*
and up
Narita Layover Tour
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Narita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This temple is known for its fire ritual, which is performed several times a day. Visitors wishing to know their fortunes can purchase paper oracles from vending machines located on the grounds or pay a visit to one of the local soothsayers.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best temple and Grounds of the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

First, the town of Narita is very nice. We had been to Tokyo and Osaka, this was a charming small town with little shops, friendly people and (an issue) cash machines that didn't work.

We got to the temple in the morning with a tight time frame for a flight and shuttle. It was amazing. The temples are beautiful and the grounds extensive. We walked and walked along sunny or shady groves of trees, koy ponds, plantings. We had spent 2 weeks in Japan, including imperial palaces and hundreds of temples, but we enjoyed this so much. Cherry trees were just starting to bloom but here the focus was broader.

I suspect most visitors to Japan will miss this by the airport town and this temple - but I hope if you are going you don't. It was amazing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    565
    127
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the most important Buddhist temples in All of JAPAN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I went with Rainbow tours to this temple on my layover. I have been to many temples in various Asian countries and this temple complex is worth the visit. There are many temples in the complex plus a beautiful garden with a pond and koi fish to feed in the rear of the complex. The burn ceremony is 5 times a day and the only temple left who does it. I went to the 2 pm. Before the ceremony you can buy for 500 yen a wood stick to write on it what blessings you need. You can also have the monk bring your purse up to have it blessed so that you are protected. Photos are not taken inside the temple. It is very dark inside anyways. There is also a vending machine that you can get a blessing from, if you don't like it you can tie it up across the walk way and get another!! Please see this temple with a guide, it has so many neat things to learn about and you need a translator!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kbelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“WOW as good as any temple in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

As most people I guess, we were just on an airport stopover and visited the temple at sunset - absolutely brilliant and if I ever come back to Japan I will stay for 1 day to revisit. The complex (free admission) is huge, with many buildings, shrines, formal gardens, ponds and an informal park with lakes nearby. it is as good as any I saw in Kyoto and the little town of Narita is absolutely charming. Much better than either Yokohama (concrete and sterile) and Kyoto (touristy, tacky (Gion), frantic), just busy enough to be buzzing but relaxed enough to enjoy. Loved it here. If you fly from Narita - plan a stopover. USE MOZZIE REPELLENT if visiting in the evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice walk up amongst local houses to get to the Temple which was Beautiful inside and out- Glad we went

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“It was built long long time ago, long before the Narita airport was built.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The temple was founded in 940. 58m high Great Padgoda. 25m tall Three-storied pretty Pagoda built in 1712.
Niō-mon Gate erected in 1830.
Gaku-dō Hall built in 1861.
Kōmyō-dō Hall, erected in 1701.
A beautiful Narita-san Park (Japanese garden).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentePaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naritasan Shinshoji Temple also viewed

Narita, Chiba Prefecture
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
 
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
Narita, Chiba Prefecture
 

Been to Naritasan Shinshoji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing