We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JR East Travel Service Center - Narita Airport Terminal 1
Open today: 8:15 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great Help

Was travelling on one of those JR tickets that made it all free to tour the country on the trains... read more

Reviewed yesterday
DanTheGreat123
,
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Efficient, courteous, fast service getting our rail passes and train reservations

We were initially concerned about the long line in front of us, but with good staffing and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Dan C
,
Jacksonville
Read all 67 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Narita
from $35.03
More Info
from $82.55
More Info
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
34
17
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
17
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japan rail pass nex train whole process basement level ticket counter first stop narita airport voucher queue tickets politeness jr platform travelers station escalator shibuya
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 67 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2019

In addition to getting our JR Rail Passes, we requested and received 13 separate train reservation tickets for our travel. We had a detailed list showing the train line, train name, departure station and time and arrival station and time. Having this list prepared made the process smooth and quick. The gave us small envelopes to use for each separate days reservations which proved helpful later in our trip in keeping us organized.
We went directly to this basement level center as soon as we cleared customs and our wait in line was less than 2 minutes. We saw a much longer line later and were glad we went there first.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank RobertH8090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

This office sells the Japan Rail Pass and the Narita Express tickets, and can help you make seat reservations, among other things.

While we had already planned our train travel in detail the staff in this office helped us make better decisions and saved us money. The agent recommended a week-long Japan Rail Pass, which certainly saved us money. She also got tickets for our trips that fell outside this period, and made the seat reservations for all of our travel to and from Wakayama. She made sure that we got to sit on the Mt Fuji side of the train for our return journey to Tokyo!

We were lucky that there was no queue when we arrived, and we were served right away. Upon departure, we walked past the office and the line was very long. Keep in mind that the office can get very busy at times.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MandanaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2018 via mobile

This is the worst part of arriving in Japan. Even when the terminal is not busy the queues are terrible. Often you can wait one or two hours just to get your pass validated. The system is broken and needs reform. The Rail Pass is great but needs updating or a larger office with more staff. When the rugby World Cup comes or the Olympics it will be impossible.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Rodkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

If travelling through Japan by train, buying a JR train ticket is the best way to go. It needs to be activated before it takes effect and since thew train from the airport to Tokyo is included, it is best to activate it at the airport.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Davo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2018

We were hugely impressed with the efficiency and politeness of the staff manning this counter. The speed with which they work is outstanding. All tourists queue up to get their Japan Rail pass validated and stamped at this counter. Tickets for the Narita Express is also issued from this counter. Staff speak in English so there is no communication problem. They go out of their way to guide you through the whole process and give directions at which level to take the train into the city.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank puchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews