We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Poor Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Narita U-city Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Narita
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel is near the Narita train station, which makes it a good location for visiting Tokyo or going to the Narita airport. The room was clean, small, and efficient. The hotel staff was friendly. The wired internet worked well. The main problem was the bed. All of my beds in Japan were hard, but this was the only one where I could feel the individual wires in the mattress. It made sleeping difficult. You really had to move around the bed to NOT have the wires digging into you body. A hard bed is fine, I slept well on hard beds in the other hotels I used in Japan. However, feeling the coils dig into your back or side was NOT comfortable. The area is fine. There are many places to eat near the train station. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 336 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located near Narita airport. There is a free shuttle service, but the schedule is not very convenient and finishes early. Taxi is relatively expensive despite proximity to airport. If your schedule doesn’t match with the shuttle bus schedule, the best option is the train. Indeed, the hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Narita JR station, which is 1 or 2 stations away from Narita Airport depending on your terminal. There are plenty of convenient stores around. Small restaurants can also be found near the station.

Rooms are large for Japanese standards. The room was a little bit old and stains were massively present on the carpet. There is a small fridge in the room.

It is a hotel that does the job by its location. It is convenient for an overnight stay in Tokyo between flights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Although there was one less expensive hotel in Narita which I found, the free Internet makes this the cheapest if you use the Internet. Less frequent bus from the airport than other hotels and a long ride but comfortable bus and I could enjoy the sights along the way. At rush hour it took an hour. Might be more convenient to take the train to the hotel depending upon the timing. Everything about the room was perfect except small as expected and the carpet was stained but seemed clean. Love the charming area on the other side of the station and many restaurants and convenience stores. May be the dirtiest & smallest elevator I've ever seen but who cares with all the pluses. I WILL be back!. Cons - Desk didn't have a 3 prong adapter for my laptop & neither did any of the many stores around, carpet stained.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Only two minutes' walk from Narita JR station this hotel is very convenient. It is a fairly typical business hotel, friendly and clean and is on the quiet side of the railway. The other side of the station is also quiet but is more busy as it is the town side.
Narita is a lovely, traditional town with lots to see and plenty of restaurants and is a nice place to stay for 2 or 3 days. Great temple with stunning gardens only 10 mins walk from the station. Highly recommended. From London, I have been to Narita over 350 times and never get bored with it.

Room Tip: Several mini supermarkets, food shops, cake-shops, barber and chemist shop all right across the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

good for a short layover in narita or if you have an early flight and need a place to stay close to the airport...it's less than 5 min walk from narita station (not narita airport station)...hotel offers free shuttle bus to the airport 5 times a day...but trains depart twice an hour for only about 200 yen...the building is a bit old and room wasn't that clean...carpet needed to be changed...other than that it's an adequate place to stay a night...it's pretty far from tokyo proper, so for extended stay in tokyo, look for a place closer to the city...it's pretty close to disneyland though, so a good base for disney trip...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were disappointed by the stains on the carpets, the noisy hallways, and the bad tasting water. The price was excellent, but we could have hoped for better sound- proofing. Although we were on a smoking floor not by our choosing, the room smelled ok and only the hallway was smoky. The shuttlebus to the airport was complimentary and very effiicient but only goes about 6 times in a day, so you can't miss the one for your flight. The hotel is very close to the JR station but quite a long hike from the Keisei line station--with luggage this was what we didn't need. There are some decent and inexpensive restaurants within a short walk but no real shopping without a 20 min or train ride.

Room Tip: ask for nonsmoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njvacationer724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Good quality hotel, fair price. Free shuttle to the airport, although not at all times, so check the schedule. We had a good rest before heading back to Europe, no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narita hotels
0.3 mi away
APA Hotel Keisei Narita Ekimae
0.7 mi away
The Hedistar Hotel Narita
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel Narita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Narita View Hotel
Narita View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Narita
959 reviews
2.1 mi away
Narita Gateway Hotel
Narita Gateway Hotel
#10 of 30 in Narita
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Narita
Mercure Hotel Narita
#12 of 30 in Narita
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narita U-city Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narita U-city Hotel

Address: 1-1-2 Igodai, Narita 286-0035, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Narita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Narita
Price Range: $45 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Narita U-city Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narita U-city Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narita u City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing