We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Munich
Level Contributor
586 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Small room, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

On a business trip, I stayed here to be close to the Makuhari Messe. In that respect it was a great choice. The hotel is connected to the Messe via an elevated, covered walkway and since it was rainy the whole time, that was especially nice. It's also about a ten minute walk from the JR train station, ca. 40 min to Tokyo Station. The baseball stadium is nearby as well.
My room was a single, and typical for a Japanese business hotel, pretty small. But nonetheless it was comfotable, the quality of the bedding and towels, etc. was good, and I slept well. There were the usual amenities like small fridge, tea kettle, desk space and such.
The breakfast was more extensive than you would get in a typical business hotel, many more choices than usual. I was highly amused that every morning they played Hawaian music -- that and the pool must be the reason the the "resort" part of the name!!! Otherwise there is nothing much of a resport feel about the place.
Due to the event I was attending, the price was much higher than the usual business hotel. But the New Otani next door was double the price, so in comparison it was a good deal.

Room Tip: The hotel is some 50 floors tall, so you can pay a bit more and get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    425
    237
    70
    38
See reviews for
218
146
158
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was expecting a larger room and a more comfortable bed, but was disappointed with both. The hotel lobby is nice, and there are lots of conveniences like a 24 hour convenience store on the second floor, and an onsen. The narrow floor halls were the first indication that the room will be small. The room was smaller than I expected. The tv was large but the pay-channels were 1000yen for movies, and all were in Japanese with few exceptions.
The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the Keihimmakuhari, so I walked.
I would stay here again but will lower my expectations.

Room Tip: get a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_nagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were here for an expo at Makuhari Messe, so we stayed nearby rather than travelling out and back. I have stayed at a few different APA hotels with my husband, and this is probably the best one so far. The rooms are standard sized for a business hotel in Japan, maybe a little larger than what we are used to. The facilities are fine, bed comfortable, bathroom large enough and with a decent shower.

The little extra bits and pieces really made this. The hotel has a few different restaurants on different floors, including a couple of all-you-can-eat restaurants. We went to the Chinese restaurant and specified we also wanted all-you-can-drink, as they had this option for a bit extra. The options were good, and because the restaurant was located close to the top of the high-rise tower, the view out to the sea and over nearby Makuhari made it special.

It's about a 5 minute walk from KaihimMakuhari station, a 1 minute walk from Makuhari Messe, and it's close to the Mitsui Outlet Park if you fancy some shopping too.

Along with the restaurants located on different floors, the hotel also offered a large sento, or public bath. It's artificial, so it can't be called an onsen, but the relaxation was identical. Many different tubs to choose from for a soak, and they rotate the baths for men and women every day so if you stay for more than one night, you can try both public baths.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femcastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at three different hotels while in Japan and this one was the best one we stayed at. The room was small and somewhat outdated but we noticed that seemed to be the case with all the hotels we stayed at. The bathroom was decent sized and it was nice that they provided so many amenities. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Kaihin-Makuhari Station but it's a nice walk. In fact the whole area is pretty nice. We even walked to the beach.

Room Tip: We asked for one facing the ocean. It was a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Room is small but fully equipped. The proximity to Makuhari Messe is a big bonus point. Highly recommended for business travellers who attends exhibitions at the Messe. You can return to the room to drop materials if your bags are too heavy from collecting brochures.

My room has a Tokyo Bay view which is spectacular.

Breakfast is specially catered for trade show visitors and the food is the same for 5-6 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel has obviously had better times. Situated directly at the bay (sea view if you are lucky) and opposite of the Makuhari Messe, it might be an option if you are here for business no longer than a day or two. The whole equipment is dated - from the carpets being full of spots, the worn out furniture and plastic built-in bathrooms to the scratched wallpaper and chipped cups. Having only super-slow wire-related internet in the rooms and not even dial-through telephones available, don't think about calling it a business hotel. It is an alternative if you have meetings at Makuhari Messe and want to sleep a bit longer in the morning - but I guess there are better hotels around. Having paid JPY 15,300 per night (150EUR), it is not even for Tokyo a good price-value deal. No fitness center, no room service, no mini-bar, no international TV, hardly any staff that speaks Englsh. Sorry, but for a hotel that calls itself "international resort" and that gets so much international guests due to the location, one could do better.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here at all, ask for a room high up an with a view to the sea. You will see To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobettertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiba hotels

Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very strategically located hotel in suburb of Tokyo near Tokyo metro station, near (or almost inside) convention centre, veiw from window is ultimate as this is the tallest building around. Language is a problem (Very few can speak English). room are very small but cute, no space for movement but I like that. The ultimate thing was its Public bathrooms ( I can not explain in words, you feel this by seeing this only).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmmunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiba hotels
Kaihin Makuhari Station
New Otani Makuhari Hotel
Hotel Francs
#7 of 45 in Chiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Green Tower Makuhari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel Springs Makuhari
Hotel Springs Makuhari
#11 of 45 in Chiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Chiba
#8 of 45 in Chiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Chiba Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Chiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Property: APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Address: 2-3 Hibino, Mihama-ku, Chiba 261-0021, Chiba Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Chiba Prefecture > Chiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari 3*
Number of rooms: 1501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising majestically over Tokyo Bay, the metropolitan Makuhari Prince Hotel is drawing worldwide acclaim as Japan's newest international business center. The 50-story tower is conveniently connected by an arcade to Makuhari Messe, which hosts some of the world's most important trade shows.Offering a high level of hospitality, this urban hotel has some outstanding features including restaurants with spectacular views, and state-of-the art wedding and conference facilities. Best of all, the Makuhari Prince is strategically located near both business and leisure areas of Tokyo, making it the perfect starting point for business travelers who also want to add some vacation time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your APA Hotel & Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel And Resort Tokyo Bay Makuhari
Apa Hotel Chiba
Apa Hotel Tokyo Bay Makuhari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing