We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otaru - ski town”
Review of Grand Park Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Park Otaru
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Otaru is an interesting location, 20 minutes in any direction and you are skiing in one of Hokkaido's unknown ski resorts. Lots of fun to be had in the area and really great food nearby.
The hotel is like a 3-4 star western style hotel, very clean, good service, very helpful staff. Location is a 3-4 minute taxi ride from centre of town. Taxis are cheap. Breakfast offers western and asian food, western is pretty average. Free wifi in lobby, has a business centre. Connected to shopping mall and train station. Mall is pretty average but there is a large department store "Aeon". Train offers direct connection to Chitose Sapporo international airport.
Overall probably the best western style hotel in area and they do a pretty good job of looking after you. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: room 1518, very quite, on mountain side, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lippi-2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your good feedback to us.

We are very happy to hearing you are very enjoy to stay with us.
It will be summer season in Otaru soon, you can enjoy a nice
ocean view, historical city view and fresh sea foods here.

Welcome you come back to Otaru again.

Thank you again for your stay ing with us.

Your sincerely,
Shimada / Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 848 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

Hotel is far from Otaru town ,if you take taxi is around ¥800-900 from town.
Hotel is connect with shopping mall (Aeon). I think is very big hotel in town.
I reserve package room rate+breakfast+2time taxi. It's save rate.
Breakfast is great many kind of food and have a good view.
The room is big so comfortable and can take city view from guest room.
Not have wifi in room only LAN for laptop but have computer in the lobby.
Free for guest to bath house (onsen).
Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM0134, お客様担当マネージャー at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Deaar armam san,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Park Otaru.
The hotel is located in the new part of the city and you may enjoy the difference between the city center and the new town. The hotel is located in front of the ocean and the room has a different taste as you may enjoy the beautiful mountain called Tenguyama.
The restaurant on the 2nd floor, we do serve many of local traditional cuisine to feel the great culture of Otaru and we are always ready to serve you and all of our valuable guests.
The hotel package, we do have more to choose these days so please visit our web site to find the best for you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hotel rate a bit pricey (an international standard hotel ) , however if you consider the free bus shuttle to Kiroro skiing resort and the fantastic Japanese buffet breakfast .. the sashimi and king crab meat, worth to consider. On the map this hotel is bit far from Otaru town but it actually quite convenient . located in a huge shopping mall . If you are travelling in a group of 3 or 4 .. better to take taxi .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPOT_1, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased that you had pleasurable stay at Grand Park Otaru. Loved your comments regarding free bus shuttle to Kiroro skiing resort and our breakfast.
Hopefully we can be of assistance again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spend a nite stay in Otaru during our trip to Hokkaido and we manage to book a ocean view room with promo price. Very convenient location as we can access direct from JR Station, Wing Bay and also strollers bus stop direct in front of hotel. But WiFi is not available at guest room. We really enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPOT_1, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you for staying at Grand Park Otaru.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Our convenient location is a great place to stay in Otaru.
Thank you for your suggestion、We will consider this feature for a future release.
We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My family recently stayed overnight at the Grand Park Otaru and we had a great time. The hotel is right on the ocean and the ocean view from our room was spectacular. From check in to check out the staff were very friendly and helpful. When we got to our room an extra bed for our son was already set up. The hotel is located in the middle of a shopping centre called `Wing Bay Otaru` and there are lots of shops and restaurants. The centre of Otaru is about 2.5kms away but it is a quick and cheap taxi ride (and there are also buses that go into the town). The room was spacious and very clean. We were sad to leave after only one night!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank AdrianinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM0134, お客様担当マネージャー at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear AdrianinJapan san,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Park Otaru and we are so happy to know that you had a good time with us enjoying the view from our guest room.
The hotel is located in front of ocean and next to the Wing Bay Otaru that is the biggest shopping mole in the area. We also would like to recommend you to stay at our Mountain view room and we are very sure that you may enjoy the different view to enjoy the city of Otaru.
We are very much looking forward welcoming you back to Grand Park Otaru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Grand Park did not disappoint us again this trip. The Staff was just as friendly, helpful, and courteous as they have been in all past visits. The room we had was on the 15th floor, facing away from the ocean - still a nice view, but mountains and city vice water. The room was exceptionally clean, just as always before. It seems like the breakfast buffet was exactly the same food as in previous visits, but I think they need to get an additional toaster oven for those wanting bread/toast - the wait is sometimes long. It would also be very nice if there was better access to the internet - only one position in the lobby - 100 Yen for 15 minutes. Small beans for the nice visit in Otaru. Great location, Great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indian1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM0134, お客様担当マネージャー at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear indian1617 san,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Park Otaru.
The signature ocean view we have as well as the mountain view to see the Tenguyama and both are very popular to our guests.
The restaurant menu has changed a lot and I really hope you to have another chance to enjoy the dining at Grand Park Otaru in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on Christmas night 2010. A friend helped us book this hotel. We know nothing about this hotel before but my friend told me that this hotel is very close to the Chikko train station and the Wing Bay outlet shopping mall. We arrived late at night due to train delay (JR website states that JR will never delay...). There is a bridge linkage between the train station to the shopping mall and eventually to the hotel. Unfortunately it was too late and the shopping mall was closed, so we have to walked down from the bridge and walked in the one-feet-thick snow to reach another entrance of the hotel. It was snowing like crazy that night and it took us 15mins to get there...

Once we were in the hotel, everything is wonderful. It is indeed a GRAND hotel. The receptionist is polite and helpful and efficient. We were upgraded to a seaview double room. The seaview is great at night and at daytime as well. The room is clean and spacious (much larger than that of hotels in Sapporo).

The only thing that we were not satisfied is the breakfast. We paid JPY3,000 for the breakfast for two. The western breakfast is not good at all and my wife didn't enjoy Japanese breakfast neither.

The Wing Bay Shopping Mall is just under the hotel so we spent the whole morning shopping. The price of the jeans here is only half of that in Hong Kong! There are many nice Japanese restaurants as well but we didn't try any since we had breakfast at the hotel.

It is only two station away from the downtown so we think it is still very convenient. We went to the Canal and tried the famous Sushi restaurant.

There is no famous onsen in this hotel but we are not coming here for that, so it is not a problem for us.

We will consider staying in this hotel again if we re-visit Otaru and we also want to recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max_hkxx2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM0134, お客様担当マネージャー at Grand Park Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2015

Dear Max_hkxx2001 san,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Park Otaru.
I would also like to thank you very much for your valuable comment.
The Hotel is located and connected to the Wing Bay Otaru which is the biggest shopping mole in town. The place may enjoy the shopping and dinning too.
The view from the guest room, we have two different enjoyable side as ocean and mountain.
Both view are very enjoyable and decorate our room nicely.
We have changed the menu of the restaurant and I am sure that you may enjoy more and more if you may come back on next.
Please visit our web site to book the best offer from our hotel group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Authent Hotel Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
371 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#4 of 21 in Otaru
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 21 in Otaru
205 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Asari Classe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Otaru

Address: 11-3 Chikko, Otaru 047-0008, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Otaru
#3 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
Price Range: $61 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Otaru 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel, International Grand Park Otaru located on the bay area in Otaru. With this strategic location easily accessible to Yacht Harbour in Otaru Marina, offering magnificent view of Ishikari Bay, the Hotel provides special moment away from routine and gracious resort life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Rakuten, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Otaru Hotel Otaru
Grand Park Hotel Otaru
Otaru Grand Park Hotel
Hilton Otaru
Otaru Hilton
Grand Park Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing