We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for musical box”

Otaru Orgel Museum Main Building
Ranked #1 of 24 Shopping in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent place for musical box”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

There are all types of musical box. They are all unique and attractive. Prices are reasonable and how i wish i could get everything. You can find soft toys and photo frames with music. I bought a figurine with the music of my choice. It is really worth visiting. There are special collections depending on the theme.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeginSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    232
    82
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Immerse in Musical Boxes”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

One of the main reason why we chose Hokkaido as a holiday destination is our desire to visit the Otaru Music Box shop. For non musical box lovers, this will be a boring places as the places is filled with musical box only.

On the ground floor, one can find all the pre-made musical boxes ranging from glassware to ceramic to wooden kinds. There are a couple of music available for the same design so remember to check and choose your desired one. Travel to the second floor to view the historical items. They have a small area cordon off for one to see the antiques. As for those who wish to customize their own musical box, you might want to travel to the attic. Here you can choose the design and the music you best preferred. It is a place where by one can lost track of time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassakating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just musical box”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It a museum that sell musical box, not much to see... But it scenic to stroll along the way there under the falling snow... Along the way, you can buy their famous,scrumptious cakes , biscuits and pastry. There is a shop that sell melon soft serve with fresh melon which is so delicious..

Helpful?
Thank Phinys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“It's just a place that sells loads of beautiful music boxes.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is a place that sells music boxes. Loads of them in many interesting shapes and sizes. It's a pretty magical setup as well. Beautiful but it's just a place that sells music box. Go only if you have 25 mins to spare. It's near the rest of the tourist attractions - Le Tao, Kitakaro, etc. Walk 10 mins from Minami Otaru JR station.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KCS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical place you must not miss”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a magical place. We visited in December during the really cold season. We are fascinated with all the art pieces and they are simply irresistible. Good for souvenirs and a sure must visit place in Otaru. They have many store assistants who can speak different languages like English, Mandarin, Korea to help the tourists. I am very impressed with their patience and service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ilovemiki1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otaru Orgel Museum Main Building also viewed

 

Been to Otaru Orgel Museum Main Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing