We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to go”

Otaru Orgel Museum Main Building
Ranked #1 of 24 Shopping in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to go”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've heard about this place from my japananese friend, it took 35minute of bus riding from my hotel. the set is stunning, it will make you confuse wether its a museum a shop or a mall,.. hahaha

there's thousand of music box to choose and buy of course. dont get wrong the first floor is a museum yah not a shop. you can always wait for the "big horn to make a sound'.

bought one of the orgel's for my first visit and give it to my 5 month baby girl, she like the sound, today she's 3 years old and still she like the sound very much.

brought my almost 3 years baby girl, to the place ,.. and you know what she refuse to leave the place, hahahahaha

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dani b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    218
    73
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Methven, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museum or Shop”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The building that the Music Box Museum is set in is stunning.

The museum area itself is rather mall - when you enter you will mistake the building for a shop.

The music boxes that are available for sale are incredible and there is a very large amount of choice.

For the first floor I didn't even realise I was in a museum - I honestly thought it was a shop. It is well worth a look - but if you are going for the history - it is in a relatively small area, but spread throughout the shop.

There is not a large amount of information available in English.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guri, South Korea
Level Contributor
1,587 reviews
490 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Fantastic orgel museum.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

CYC(2013.2) + G
Though this museum was antique and dark in outside shape, view of inside was fantastic and glittering by orgel's light. There was an awful lot of orgel, so I'm very surprised. Many orgels pleased my eyes and ears. In Otaru, I think this museum is the best trip place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh, I dun ever want to leave here!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The heavenly notes of orgel come floating to you before you even stepped past the door of this museum as there is twinkling music floating from a large speaker outside, transporting visitors to a whimsical fairyland AND shopping spree. I think it is mounted on one of the nearby buildings. Walk past this door & you will find yourself amazed at all the museum has to offer. Elegant music box pieces? Check. Cute little ones? Check? Quirky ones? Check. Plain boring ones? Check. Psst... These happen to be the cheapest too. I think it was 700 yen or something. Listening to all that soothing notes eases away all of one's stress & I envy the staff for working here. There are 3 floors here with the first floor being the largest, the second floor medium & the 3rs, which is more like a large attic, the smallest. It was tough deciding which piece to buy as there were just too many to fathom! I did not wanty to leave this place. Do carry a basket around to put your music box, no matter 1 or more than 1 piece because you would not want to break it while admiring other pieces.


Oh, & check out the toilets located at the first floor. They have nice stained glass inside. Take a picture!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harumi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“enjoyable place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

i think i spent close to 2hours in this place! They had many lovely and different types of music boxes. plus photography was allowed, so i ended up spending most of my time taking photos of everything unique! Also purchased some music boxes. Given that they are more than just your average squared-wooden music boxes, this place is worth visiting, just to appreciate all the effort that has gone into every music box design, hence the price i would guess hehe.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otaru Orgel Museum Main Building also viewed

 

Been to Otaru Orgel Museum Main Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing