We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
42
9
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv family mart great hotel balcony japan canal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

Need I say more? The friendly staff welcome you with a lovely tea before wine hour 5-7 (complimentary glass), great location, comfortable beds, high ceilings, and great vibe. Feels like a historic building that’s been brought back to life in a fresh and brand new way. Powerful showers, clean rooms and comfy pajamas. Breakfast is scheduled but very skippable - we stayed an extra night because we enjoyed the boutique style. Great stop on our journey, would return again for another night.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank K4683TBnicolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unwind-otaru, フロントスタッフ at Unwind Hotel & Bar Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2019

Dear K4683TBnicolem

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and atmosphere.
We wish to keep you satisfied during your stays with is.
We look forward to your next visit.

UNWIND HOTEL & BAR OTARU
staff yuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

Nice!!!! Location and general environment is good. The room is clean and tidy, breakfast/ food is good. With welcome drink and fee wine. Love it, lGood service! For sure will book again for my next visit!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank freemen0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unwind-otaru, フロントスタッフ at Unwind Hotel & Bar Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2019

Dear freemen0811

Thank you for staying at this hotel. I am very happy to like our service.
We will prepare more wonderful service this time!

I look forward to seeing you again.

UNWIND HOTEL &BAR OTARU
STAFF momoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

Having returned to Otaru for the 3rd time in 3 years, I decided to stay here as it was a new hotel. Being new, all facilities were kept in great shape and very clean. Carpets were still new with little to no stains, as were the walls and sheets. We stayed in the loft that accommodated 5 and although cramped, this is expected of hotels in Japan so it was not a problem. Having a "indoor balcony" was a nice touch and provided ample natural daylight into the room. I was very pleased with the service by all the staff from FO, to wait staff, to housekeeping. The bar in the lobby is cute, cool, and quaint and the free happy hour was definitely a nice touch which I barely arrived in time for. On site parking is available for a few and on a first come first serve basis. They have set the bar high for themselves and I would definitely come back again. Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank EATxPLAYxLIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unwind-otaru, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Unwind Hotel & Bar Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2019

Dear anitac479,
Thank you for your stay.
We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your time at Unwind Hotel, and liked the room, service, bar and so on.
We will keep doing our best to make our hotel better.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Sincerely,
UNWIND HOTEL & BAR OTARU staff MAIKO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

We loved this hotel! It was right near the canal and great restaurants. We didn’t have to take a train or bus anywhere. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was adorable. We loved the free wine and service throughout our whole stay. We will definitely come back! The rooftop terrace was nice too.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 293hilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unwind-otaru, フロントスタッフ at Unwind Hotel & Bar Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2019

Thank you for your stay!
I'm glad to see your message!
We look forward to coming again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

Great location and very affordable price! Very nice and thoughtful service! A combination of heritage and chic! Love the fact its newly renovated from an old heritage building! Great experience from early luggage storage to checking in with drinks to 5-7pm free drinks at the bar to staff trying their best to solve in-room apple tv with their minimal English communication thus just come up to the room to help! Waking up want to postpone pre-booked breakfast again they come up to help as can’t communicate on phone in english! Being very flexible and helpful unlike usual Japanese rigid and stubborn style!
Highly recommended and will definitely come back!

Good for someone want a quiet all taken care of weekend getaway at a quiet yet convenient location!

Personal like is there’s a post office just 10m next which I had bought and posted some special edition postcard before leaving Otaru! Already looking to book for August again during the summer festival!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank 797gracec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unwind-otaru, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Unwind Hotel & Bar Otaru, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Dear 797gracec,
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your time at Unwind Hotel. We also are glad to know that you liked the staffs, building and services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon!!
Sincerely,
UNWIND HOTEL & BAR OTARU staff MAIKO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews