We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very close to the JR station so easy to get to and from if you travel by rail. The rooms are lovely, well designed and well appointed very comfortable beds.

The onsen is well designed and not to busy, well worth a visit after a long cold day of travel and sightseeing.

Although the hotel says it has WiFi there is only one router per floor, so if you are in a corner room forget wifi access. Although there is good ethernet access in the room, so take you mobile wifi router for assured wifi in your room.

We will stay in this hotel again, so its a thumbs up from us o for the Dormy Inn.

Room Tip: If you must have WiFi then a room near the lifts is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    282
    48
    7
    9
See reviews for
218
185
99
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We picked Dormy Inn Otaru after looking through several websites and weren't disappointed at all. Dormy Inn is just right across from JR Otaru station. The hotel staff is very friendly and hospitable. Hotel facility include a public bath area and free ramen for hotel residents for supper. The public bath also include an outdoor area where you can feel the air outside. Although the room is a bit small but everything is well organized with all the amenities included. The only regret is we didn't get to try their breakfast due to an early check-out. No complaints at all...recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small, not suitable for big luggages. Single-bed rooms seems to be a bit bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

the location is good that it is just opposite of Otaru station & in a walking distance to the canal.
the room is clean and the price is unbeatable that it include free public onsen. ramen as supper & sashimi rice as breakfast.
the only inconvenience area is it don't have inroom wifi but in public area at first & second floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I can barely remember the Hotel anymore. It was close to the JR station making it easy to get to the New Chitose Airport on our 20th Day. It was close to the bus terminal we were able to buy all day bus/street car passes to enjoy the sites. Great Markets surrounded us with good food and shops to buy souvenirs for the family. We slept deeply on the Queen bed. I enjoyed the best massage of my life at the hotel. I was totally relaxed and ever traveling knot had been removed from my body. It was 7500 yen for 80 minute massage. Totallllly worth it! I was jello when the masseuse finished. The first day I slept through breakfast, but the next's day's breakfast was good. It was a great location for seeing all the sights of Otaru.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanikani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located directly across from the JR train station and only 5five to ten minutes walk to the canal. Very comfortable rooms. Rooms are clean, well appointed and the service is excellent. The price is unbeatable, with hot springs, both indoor and outdoor, complementary Ramen in the evening from 9pm to 11pm, and the wonderful breakfast. We had a wonderful time in Otaru.

Room Tip: For family of three or five, it is cheaper just to get a single person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all you won't get to check in before 3 PM, the staff keep saying 3 PM 3 PM 3 PM and they don't care how long is your flight. The wifi is only available in the lobby area which located on the first floor and some areas on the second floor. So no wifi in your room if that what you are looking for. The breakfast can be super busy from 6-8 am and I mean really busy that you have to queue up before any tables are available. The room is small but that's normal for Japan. The price is quite high compared to what you will get. We paid almost 200 USD for a night and still regret it. The location is the best though, it's just right in front of the train station (1 mins walk from Otaru Station). See my photos for more details:)

Please vote for me if you find this review helpful to you. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Unique room design combo of jap plus western.
Hot spring bath and breakfast included - such a steal!! Great service. Even free coffee and tea in the lobby. Enjoyed the lovely stone decor of the hot spring and the open air bath. Good good in all required aspects. But don't know why my foot was cut by the carpet floor. Some remnants of sharp edges? Well normal it's ok. Hazards in life exist. Will stay here again. I liked it. Close to train station, walking shopping street, convenience store, supermarket & eateries etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mingzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#5 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#4 of 21 in Otaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#10 of 21 in Otaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Address: 3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru 047-0032, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Otaru
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
#2 Best Value Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They're proud of a large hotspring and breakfast buffet-style meal. From Otaru station, 1 minute on foot. Parking lot 1 is day 1,100 yen. (I inform arrival order) parking lot at the time of no vacancies nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hotel Otaru
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing