We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellant hotel”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

the location is good that it is just opposite of Otaru station & in a walking distance to the canal.
the room is clean and the price is unbeatable that it include free public onsen. ramen as supper & sashimi rice as breakfast.
the only inconvenience area is it don't have inroom wifi but in public area at first & second floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    295
    51
    7
    10
See reviews for
228
195
102
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I can barely remember the Hotel anymore. It was close to the JR station making it easy to get to the New Chitose Airport on our 20th Day. It was close to the bus terminal we were able to buy all day bus/street car passes to enjoy the sites. Great Markets surrounded us with good food and shops to buy souvenirs for the family. We slept deeply on the Queen bed. I enjoyed the best massage of my life at the hotel. I was totally relaxed and ever traveling knot had been removed from my body. It was 7500 yen for 80 minute massage. Totallllly worth it! I was jello when the masseuse finished. The first day I slept through breakfast, but the next's day's breakfast was good. It was a great location for seeing all the sights of Otaru.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanikani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located directly across from the JR train station and only 5five to ten minutes walk to the canal. Very comfortable rooms. Rooms are clean, well appointed and the service is excellent. The price is unbeatable, with hot springs, both indoor and outdoor, complementary Ramen in the evening from 9pm to 11pm, and the wonderful breakfast. We had a wonderful time in Otaru.

Room Tip: For family of three or five, it is cheaper just to get a single person room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all you won't get to check in before 3 PM, the staff keep saying 3 PM 3 PM 3 PM and they don't care how long is your flight. The wifi is only available in the lobby area which located on the first floor and some areas on the second floor. So no wifi in your room if that what you are looking for. The breakfast can be super busy from 6-8 am and I mean really busy that you have to queue up before any tables are available. The room is small but that's normal for Japan. The price is quite high compared to what you will get. We paid almost 200 USD for a night and still regret it. The location is the best though, it's just right in front of the train station (1 mins walk from Otaru Station). See my photos for more details:)

Please vote for me if you find this review helpful to you. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
241 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Unique room design combo of jap plus western.
Hot spring bath and breakfast included - such a steal!! Great service. Even free coffee and tea in the lobby. Enjoyed the lovely stone decor of the hot spring and the open air bath. Good good in all required aspects. But don't know why my foot was cut by the carpet floor. Some remnants of sharp edges? Well normal it's ok. Hazards in life exist. Will stay here again. I liked it. Close to train station, walking shopping street, convenience store, supermarket & eateries etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed three nights and were very happy with this hotel. The room was large enough to move around in, clean, and had several extras such as coffee/tea, shavers, and bottled water. It was quiet and well ventilated so we woke up refreshed each morning. The public bath has several pools and was immaculate; there was a reasonably priced massage service available as well. Breakfast was a buffet with both western and Japanese options.

Room Tip: A double bed might be too small for two Westerners. We opted for a twin (two single beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Dormy Inn Premium Otaru for two nights in July 2013.

You can't beat the location. It's the closest hotel to the Otaru JR Train Station, has on-site Mister Donut, chocolate shop, pharmacy and is within walking distance of Don Quijote and other shops and restaurants.

Within a 10 minute walk you can reach the historic canal district and another 5 minutes to the charming shopping sheet.

Our room was a typical Japanese business hotel room, which means fairly small, but well-appointed. The room was clean and very well designed. The bathroom was small but functional, with the sink out in the bedroom area entryway. The bed was firm (typical Japan) but comfortable. The windows are operable so you can get fresh air, and the air-conditioning was quiet and incredibly quick at cooling the room.

The property is shaped like a C, so nearly half of the rooms face inward toward the other rooms (like ours did), but it was still quiet and opening the windows provided good ventilation.

A great perk of this property is that on the 2nd floor there is an onsen included in the price. There is an indoor and outdoor pool (both hotter than I'd prefer...in fact, we found few people actually able to use them). But the onsen was quite nice.

If a friend was going to visit Otaru (a city that warrants about two days), I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
785 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
347 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#5 of 21 in Otaru
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#4 of 21 in Otaru
200 reviews
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 21 in Otaru
187 reviews
Smile Hotel Otaru
#11 of 21 in Otaru
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Address: 3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru 047-0032, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
#1 Family Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They're proud of a large hotspring and breakfast buffet-style meal. From Otaru station, 1 minute on foot. Parking lot 1 is day 1,100 yen. (I inform arrival order) parking lot at the time of no vacancies nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hotel Otaru
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing