We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but centrally located - NO wifi in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Pricey but centrally located - NO wifi in room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all you won't get to check in before 3 PM, the staff keep saying 3 PM 3 PM 3 PM and they don't care how long is your flight. The wifi is only available in the lobby area which located on the first floor and some areas on the second floor. So no wifi in your room if that what you are looking for. The breakfast can be super busy from 6-8 am and I mean really busy that you have to queue up before any tables are available. The room is small but that's normal for Japan. The price is quite high compared to what you will get. We paid almost 200 USD for a night and still regret it. The location is the best though, it's just right in front of the train station (1 mins walk from Otaru Station). See my photos for more details:)

Please vote for me if you find this review helpful to you. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    284
    49
    7
    9
See reviews for
219
187
99
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Unique room design combo of jap plus western.
Hot spring bath and breakfast included - such a steal!! Great service. Even free coffee and tea in the lobby. Enjoyed the lovely stone decor of the hot spring and the open air bath. Good good in all required aspects. But don't know why my foot was cut by the carpet floor. Some remnants of sharp edges? Well normal it's ok. Hazards in life exist. Will stay here again. I liked it. Close to train station, walking shopping street, convenience store, supermarket & eateries etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed three nights and were very happy with this hotel. The room was large enough to move around in, clean, and had several extras such as coffee/tea, shavers, and bottled water. It was quiet and well ventilated so we woke up refreshed each morning. The public bath has several pools and was immaculate; there was a reasonably priced massage service available as well. Breakfast was a buffet with both western and Japanese options.

Room Tip: A double bed might be too small for two Westerners. We opted for a twin (two single beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Dormy Inn Premium Otaru for two nights in July 2013.

You can't beat the location. It's the closest hotel to the Otaru JR Train Station, has on-site Mister Donut, chocolate shop, pharmacy and is within walking distance of Don Quijote and other shops and restaurants.

Within a 10 minute walk you can reach the historic canal district and another 5 minutes to the charming shopping sheet.

Our room was a typical Japanese business hotel room, which means fairly small, but well-appointed. The room was clean and very well designed. The bathroom was small but functional, with the sink out in the bedroom area entryway. The bed was firm (typical Japan) but comfortable. The windows are operable so you can get fresh air, and the air-conditioning was quiet and incredibly quick at cooling the room.

The property is shaped like a C, so nearly half of the rooms face inward toward the other rooms (like ours did), but it was still quiet and opening the windows provided good ventilation.

A great perk of this property is that on the 2nd floor there is an onsen included in the price. There is an indoor and outdoor pool (both hotter than I'd prefer...in fact, we found few people actually able to use them). But the onsen was quite nice.

If a friend was going to visit Otaru (a city that warrants about two days), I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel seems to be newly renovated as the room which we stayed in was new. Although the bathroom is kind of small but this seems to be Hokkaido's norm since the guests are expected to use the Onsen. The Onsen, however, and do not offer outdoor bath with good view, like the other Onsen hotels we stayed at Lake Toya, Norbeiritesu, etc. The spread at the buffet surpassed our expectations as we see delicacies such as salmon roe, which are not expected for the price we pay. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for room facing the streets. Some room has window without views, i.e facing the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeLeng73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good location of the hotel. We visited Otaru during March 2013. After came out from JR train station, it was snowy very strong and the hotel just in front of the station. Hotel serves good breakfast and their onsen was perfect good for our skin. Staff can speak english well and managed to visit round town easily. Supermarket just nearby. Morning market also nearby save time. We have good time at Otaru. Will go back to the same hotel if visit Otaru again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liew88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I arrived hotel early and the room is not ready. We left baggage and go out for sightseeing. We backed around 6:30pm and front desk staff help us check-in with good English speaking and servives. Our baggages already sent to room and no need to move by ourselves. I reserved Queen size room and there have enough space to open our two baggages (it is the common problems in small hotel room). The room is clean with enough equipments include TV, boiler and air purifier. There have two public bathing in 2/F, one for gentlemen and the one for ladies. Ladies need a password to enter the bath. The unexpected night meal ramen is free for every hotel guests after 9:30pm. The hotel is located a good location (opposite of JR Otaru Station), room not bad with public bathing and unexpected night meal ramen. It is valuable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian_Kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#4 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#5 of 21 in Otaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#10 of 21 in Otaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Address: 3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru 047-0032, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Otaru
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They're proud of a large hotspring and breakfast buffet-style meal. From Otaru station, 1 minute on foot. Parking lot 1 is day 1,100 yen. (I inform arrival order) parking lot at the time of no vacancies nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hotel Otaru
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing