We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, efficient and plentiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent location, efficient and plentiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Best location just in front of the JR station and bus terminal. We took the JR rail from Chitose airport to Otaru (approx 1+ hr). We originally wanted to bus but there are no buses for that route. We had ski and snowboard bags plus luggage so once we arrived, it was easy for us to just walk across the street in snow and stormy weather. Paid USD65 through booking.com. We were here for 1 night on the 10th floor. Room was tiny and faced other buildings. Bathroom was small and a bit claustrophobic but shower was good and shamp/cond/wash come in big bottles. Bed was a bit small for the 2 of us but comfortable with duvet and foam pillows. The hotel has everything you need including a GREAT onsen (not a real one as this one had chlorinated water instead of sulfuric) but still a nice experience. They provide a set of "spa clothing" and slippers in your room. Both men's and ladies' onsens have 5 pools indoor and out (4 hot, 1 cold) plus a sauna, free of charge. Another GREAT thing is free ramen every night 9:30-11pm! Front desk staff can barely speak English which was not convenient as we were trying to find out which bus to take the next morning to Niseko. We ended up taking the bus to Kutchan Station (1.5hr) for our ski trip in Hirafu (best powder ever, highly recommended!). Overall a very decent property. Excellent food in town!!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with views of the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    282
    48
    7
    9
See reviews for
218
184
99
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel just in front of the station, you cant go wrong. There is mister donut serving very good breakfast beside the hotel. Walking distance to warehouse. Wifi at the lobby. Efficient staff.

We were there during winter, it was snowing. We asked for umbrella, the staff provide us without filling any form or asking for deposit.

There is onsen. For security of lady, they even provide pass code to enter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamsulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pros: Excellent location, reasonably good onsen, good services and attitude of staff, great Japanese breakfast but not the western one.

Cons: Small room, breakfast finished early than expected- supposed to be ended at 9:30am but stopped to top up by 9:15am, incl coffee and even started removing food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carllam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Highly recommend! This hotel is in a convenient location, just across the JR Otaru station, good for winter! Free Onsen & Ra-men are offered here. Of course the room is not big as most of Japan hotels, but clean and decent enough. Several blocks walk to Canal and Port. Great choice in Otaru.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher floor you can get a great view of Otaru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent location with just in front of Otaru JR Station. You can see it after out from the station, short walking distance even in heavy snow with heavy luggage. Clean and nice room. Walking distance to the canal and nearby shops. Must try the free onsen in the hotel and don't miss the free ramen starts at 9.00pm. A free WIFI only available at reception area. Those who love Japanese food can try their buffet breakfast at very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We got a room at 11th floor with the view facing the JR Station and the mountainous behind. Very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The Dormy Inn Premium Otaru is literally across the street from the JR Station which we were very pleased about since we had large suitcases to cart through the snow. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful when we checked in. There is a useful map of Otaru to pick up near the front desk as well. The double room is very cozy with a unique design and modern furnishings. The room contains all the amenities and has a really comfortable bed and memory foam pillows! I loved the winter-time complimentary soba noodle soup from 9:30-11pm at the hotel restaurant, it was really delicious and a great way to warm up after being in the snow. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelseyjanewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Location : excellent! Just across the street from JR Otaru train Station. Able to roll our big luggage in the snow to the Hotel.

Staff : friendly and helpful. There is a map of Otaru you can get from the reception and it shows many places to visit in the area. Staff also helpful and providing the instructions.

Room: small and cozy, just nice for couple. We chose a double bed which was just comfortable for the both of us. They provided contour pillows which I didn't like, so we request for normal types which were available.They really know how to maximize the usage of space for that small area. There is a standing shower, toilet is just in front of it. The wash basin in just beside the open concept closet. But most of the time we used the facilities in the Onsen area which provides Shampoo, conditioner and Body soap. Hair dryers and comb also available.

Onsen area on the 2nd level. Has total 4 pools (2 indoor and 2 outdoor), a shower area to cleanse yourself before getting in. There is a sauna as well which was really hot! There is also a very cold pool available, only if you dare as it's icy cold. usage of the washing machine is free and so is the detergent, which helped. Dryer is available for 100 yen only! and dries really fast within 20 mins. So we had fresh clean clothes to wear again.

Food : Free Ramen. We absolutely loved this! served from 9.30pm to 11.30pm. Great for supper. Breakfast was a good spread and we loved the details of it.

We will definitely recommend this place for it's value, location and good service. And will be back to stay too!

Room Tip: Double bed is just nice for asian couples who are on the slim side. If you are bigger in size it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snah55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#5 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#4 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#3 of 21 in Otaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#10 of 21 in Otaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Address: 3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru 047-0032, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
#1 Family Hotel in Otaru
#2 Best Value Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They're proud of a large hotspring and breakfast buffet-style meal. From Otaru station, 1 minute on foot. Parking lot 1 is day 1,100 yen. (I inform arrival order) parking lot at the time of no vacancies nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Hotels.com so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hotel Otaru
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing