We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Modern business hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed in a number of business hotels, but this tops it! As others said, it is right in front of the JR Otaru station so very convenient. A short walk to the canal street. The rooms are small but if you're just sleeping there, you'll enjoy the cleanliness and modern, comfortable feel. The onsen baths are fabulous and make this palce a bargain. Get a deal with breakfast as the buffet is very good. We went early on and it we didn't have to wait, got right in. Will def stay at other Dormy Inns if I have the chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    296
    51
    7
    10
See reviews for
228
196
102
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's near otaru station, very convenient.
Especially, carrying language in heavy snow, the location of this hotel is awesome.
The room is not big (as most of Japan hotels), but clean.
The sauna in the hotel is good.

The breakfast is delicious.
the only defect is restaurant is too small.
therefore, i waited 20 mins to eat my breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yafei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was in Otaru this December. Due to my previous pleasant experiences staying in Dormy Inn hotels, this hotel was my top choice.

Location: fantastic especially in the cold bitter winter. The hotel is directly opposite the JR station. Just exit from the JR station and cross the road. You will reach the hotel immediately. There is a Mister Donut and Le Tao confectionary store in the same building as the hotel. The famous Otaru canal is about 15 minutes walk away.

Room: I had booked a double room and it is very small. The decoration is nice though. There is hardly any walking space (smaller than other Dormy Inn rooms that I had stayed in). Free LAN access was available. Two free bottles of drinking water were available too.

Others: free onsen available on level 2. There is an outdoor onsen but has no view. Though small, the onsen is quite good and has a comfortable atmosphere. Free usage of washing machines was available in the dressing room. The free ramen every night was wonderful too.

Overall, this is a highly recommended hotel with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

It's just near by JR train station. Very good location(Supermarket is just close to here too). I book my first Dormy Inn in Tyoto, i like their room and service a lot. Thanks for provide us nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongiekimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaru
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We was charged the other person fee.
one room could not stay two persons?
Our order was one room two persons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank bo4Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a sightly more luxurious version of the normal Dormy Inn.
Room size are standard, nicely decorated which matches my overall feeling toward Otaru
Top floor Onsen is not huge but very comfortable and the lighting enhanced the mood.
You get a complementary ramen from 9-11, not the best tasting ramen you can get in Japan (but Hey its free!)
Located 3-5 minutes walk from the JR station and the 'sushi street' is within 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice and clean. There is an onsen (hot spring) in the hotel. Once you get used to the public bath, you will enjoy it. It's very relaxing. And, every night, they provide a free bowl of noodle in the cafeteria from 9 to 11. So, after taking the onsen, you can enjoy a bowl of noodle and chat with friends there.
For Yen1,500 (around U$20) , we got a very good breakfast. It's buffet style but food quality is very good. There are salmon roe, sweet shrimp, salmon,....Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanoshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
787 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
347 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#4 of 21 in Otaru
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 21 in Otaru
188 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#5 of 21 in Otaru
200 reviews
Smile Hotel Otaru
#11 of 21 in Otaru
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Premium Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Premium Otaru

Property: Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
Address: 3-9-1 Inaho, Otaru 047-0032, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Otaru
#1 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Premium Otaru 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
They're proud of a large hotspring and breakfast buffet-style meal. From Otaru station, 1 minute on foot. Parking lot 1 is day 1,100 yen. (I inform arrival order) parking lot at the time of no vacancies nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dormy Inn Premium Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hotel Otaru
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing