We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, well located”
Review of Otaru Furukawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Otaru Furukawa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place, well located”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay here on our 3rd trip to Otaru.

For the price, it offers sufficient space and more than adequate service.
Rooms were comfortable and the Japanese room we stayed in even had an in-room "mini onsen"

The location suited our needs; near lots of eating places and at the end of the shopping/sightseeing/tourist street, and just across from the famous canal.

Breakfast was more than sufficient and exactly what you would expect in a Japanese establishment.

The lift was on the small side, but they brought our bags to our room (while we popped out for some lunch), so that helped a lot.

The onsen on the first floor was a delight, and the small number of rooms meant almost perfect levels of privacy. Even on a cold winter's day, the outdoor portion was sufficiently sheltered that we could bear with walking naked in sub-zero weather.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank digitium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    70
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
67
76
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed in the top floor suite with onsen in the room. View is spectacular! Very spacious in the room as we had a twin bedrm space, a TV living room and another traditional Jap living rm.

Soaking in onsen and overseeing the Otaru coast line and canal is a really a wonderful experience.

Dinner is good but it did not surprise us tho' when comparing to the one in Otaru-kourakuen Onsen.

For location, view from rm and night view of Canal, I will stay here again. For the onsen and dining experience, I might have 2nd thought then.

Room Tip: Suite with onsen in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Although I only stay in Otaru for 1 night, I do feel this is a wonderful ryokan.

Right after got off at Otaru JR station, abt 15 walk easily to Furukawa, of course with many luggages you could use taxi, 5 mins and JPY 500.

And don't be surprised when you step into their amazing lobby :)

Room is cozy, they prepared complimentary biscuits and, even facial masque and herbal sticks. Bathroom is spacious, while I didn't use it, I have been to the onsen twice evening Nd early morning, love it a lot especially the outdoor one. Hotel has two onsen, in the evening lady @ 2nd floor and morning 1st floor, both of them are terrific, you can't miss it.

10mins walking to main tour street, have fun there.

And I will recommend both this ryokan and Otaru to my friends.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was traveling with friends to Hokkaido and found this nice hotel which is locate next to the canal. I really love the location. I have a walk after dinner and before breakfast. The location is also close to the main shopping and tourists spot. It is approximately 5-10 mins walk from JR station.

Our package included breakfast and dinner. The dinner is really nice with fresh raw fish slides and other nice dishes. We love it very much. We also love the breakfast very much. It is buffet breakfast with choice of Japanese food and western food. It is so nice to enjoy a cup of coffee beside the view of canal early in the morning~

We have tried the onsen. It is a very relaxing style and the outdoor one is nice and comfy. There is a few lockers at the 2/F onsen to store my belongings. I haven't pay visit to the 1/F one, so I'm not sure if there is any lockers there.

Staff are very helpful. I have booked it via email as we need some special arrangement for our rooms. Staff could communicate with simple English and very helpful. I am looking forward to revisit this place in future. :)

Room Tip: If canal view room is available, request canal view. It would be worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kakahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The night before we stayed at Furukawa Jozankei which was excellent and we look forward to our stay at Furukawa Otaru, both sister hotel and we were not dissapointed. Furukawa Otaru is as good as their sister hotel at Jozankei.
Location of hotel is very good, right in front of the canal and a short walk to Sakaimachidori, Otaru's main shopping street.
We arrived early so we dropped our bag and went out for a walk. When we came back, our bags were already delivered to our room. The service is great here.
We stayed in a twin bed room, which is very comfortable. Room face the mountain, which is ok for us as the main priority for us is a nice comfortable bed.
The main reason why we stayed here is the onsen, and the we had a great relaxing time soaking in the onsen. The outdoor bath is wonderful !
Our room package includes breakfast and the food is very good. Apart from the standard japanese food, there is a western selection of scrambled egg, ham and a very delicious croissant ! If you stay here, make sure you book the package with breakfast included.

Overall we had a great stay here and i would have given it a full 5 stars, except for an unfortunate incident that happened on the next morning. We went to the onsen for our bath before breakfast and unfortunately when my wife has finished her bath and went back to the changing room, she found that her facial kits and cleansing lotion ( expensive brand ) were missing from the basket where left it along with her yukata!! As in most onsen, there is no locker, and yukata is left in the basket in the changing room when one goes to the osnen.
We had been to many onsen in japan, and this is the 1st time my wife has lost her facial kits which she always bring along to the onsen. Most unfortunate......
We did make a report to the manager and he apologized over this matter. So, lesson learn, be careful next time if you are going to the onsen, dont bring anything you don not want to lose. Never hurt to be careful.

Thats the only black mark on our otherwise excellent stay here at Furukawa Otaru.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rödermark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in the Furukawa Onsen Hotel beginning of February 2013 together with our friends. The Furukawa is conveniently located near the Channel and not too far away from the train station.
The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. English language skills are sufficient and the manager in the restaurant was fluent in English.
Our room was located on the mountain side with a nice size and fully equipped. Immediately after arrival we changed into the provided Yukata clothes and enjoyed the hot baths in the attached onsen. Male and female onsens offered indoor and outdoor pools and a hot steem bath.
After the bath we stayed for some time in the library with very nice music and very relaxing massage chairs.
We had booked Furukawa including diner and breakfast. The diner was very delicious with a couple of courses of typical Japanese dishes plus a good selection of hot and cold sake.
Next morning we enjoyed another round in the onsen, followed by a breakfast with a huge selection of Japanese and Western dishes.
All in all, Furukawa Onsen can be recommended and we will come back definitely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank michael0357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this hotel online and on arrival the staff was very kind, they served us welcome drinks while we arranged to be checked in. Luggage was quickly taken to our rooms and we were shown our way after. The onsen is a big plus for this hotel, as the toilets in the room can be a little tight. Suggest taking a cab from Otaru station as its only about 500-600yen, especially if it snows. Location is quite good, canal directly opposite and the main street with shops just 5 min walk away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Dormy Inn Premium Otaru
1.5 mi away
Grand Park Otaru
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nord Otaru
Hotel Nord Otaru
#5 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Authent Hotel Otaru
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Neushloss Otaru
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonia Otaru
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#10 of 21 in Otaru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otaru Furukawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otaru Furukawa

Property: Otaru Furukawa
Address: 1-2-15 Ironai, Otaru 047-0031, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru > Asarigawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Otaru
#5 Family Hotel in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Otaru Furukawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Otaru Furukawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otaru Furukawa Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing