We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pui_Waleeporn
Bangkok, Thailand

Nice hotel...great location, nice onsen, and superb breakfast

Review of Otaru Furukawa
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 2, 2012
The hotel is in great location just opposite the canal. The hotel is quite small and has sign of old but it has good atmosphere of Japanese tradition. The service is great, the onsen is nice. What we love most of this hotel is the breakfast with good quality and wide variety of food and melon! Highly recommended!!
Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Superior Twin - 軟石 design -
$101
$74
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • japanican.com
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$105
$93
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
0.4 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ホテル外観昼 exterior
$105
$102
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
0.1 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ロビー
$116
$84
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
0.3 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$80
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
4.2 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • eDreams
    $99
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • eDreams
    $101
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $68
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • StayForLong
    $124
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Otaru Furukawa
ホテル外観
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Otaru Furukawa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Otaru
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
146
95
16
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
95
16
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 266 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at the Otaru Furukawa with my spouse and another couple of friends for one night recently during the Otaru Snow Festival. We had booked rooms directly with the hotel a few months prior to our stay. One of their staff is able to speak and write good English, so making the booking was not a problem, and their rates were very reasonable and attractive.

The Inn is located right in front of the canal. It is an easy 7-10 minutes walk from the JR Otaru Station with no big bags or luggage. Sakaimachi, the famous stretch of shops, restaurants and cafes, is to the right of the Inn, one street away, again an easy and lovely 5-7 minute walk along a small canal. It's a very quaint, historic looking building, with a foot bath at the front of the Inn for hotel guests' use, and a very informal front desk.

We arrived before the check in time of 3 pm, and deposited our bags. Immediately upon our arrival we were offered hot tea and invited to warm ourselves by the hearth. We were provided with maps and even hand warmers before we headed out for a spot of sightseeing. A very warm welcome indeed, and extremely good service. We were asked about our dinner plans, and whether they could assist with dinner bookings.

Upon our return, we were informed our rooms are ready, and our bags already in the rooms.

We were lucky to have been given an upgrade, we had booked town facing rooms but found our rooms to be facing the canal. The room is spacious and well equipped, complete with humidifier and air purifier. Very clean and comfortable beds, and even had a cedar wood balcony overlooking the canal, which afforded lovely views at night when the banks of the canal were lit. Toilet and bath area is very decent and clean, a bit worn around the edges but acceptable. There's a tap just for drinking water, and we were informed the drinking water in Otaru is very good! Very quiet room, restful and comfortable.

There is a public bath within the building, and the pools are on levels 1 and 2 for men and women respectively. The use of the pools are alternated in the course of the day. The onsen is lovely, especially the outdoor pool, and not too crowded given the size of the Inn.

Can't comment on the food, as we opted for accommodation only with no meals. Plenty to eat and do around the hotel, so we found no reason to eat within the hotel.

A very lovely stay we had indeed, and will definitely stay at Otaru Furukawa again should we return to Otaru.

Room tip: Standard rooms are a little on the small side. Try and pick a canal facing room, views are lovely at night.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The lounge at level 2 is very comfortable. Viewing Otaru canal in the snow and enjoying the good music is very relaxing. Staffs are friendly with excellent service, but one thing is everytime when you leave the hotel, you need to leave the key at the reception.
By the way, their coffee and honey ginger tea are quite good too.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ww0099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

It is located in front of the Otaru canal where is a must visit spot of Otaru.

I drove to the hotel and as soon as I stopped the car in front of the hotel, a hotel staff rushed out to take my car for parking, a definitely high level of service. The hotel is a very old building, and the reception gave you the home feeling. The room is nice though not very big. We have a room facing the canal. However, Otaru at night is a very quiet city, not much to see, except that a few restaurants still open. The breakfast restaurant gives you the same home feeling with the library besides.

There is a foot onsen at the hotel front where people can take hot foot bath in winter time. Furukawa has a sister hotel in Jyozankai offering a smiliar stay.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We made the mistake of thinking we can carry luggages and a snowboard through the snow from the station. I strongly advice against it! We walked about 4-5 blocks from the train station to get to the hotel in heavy snow. Please - catch a taxi. Its not that expensive!
Given the research, I was expecting very small rooms in Japan. We were therefore pleasantly surprised to find a large clean room, and very comfortable.
The onsen - is without doubt the most beautiful Onsen I have ever seen in Japan (and I have been to quite a few). There are 2 floors, but alternated between men and female during the day. Both are quite magnificent.
Pleasant staff. Not too helpful with recommending places to eat around there, but there is a tourist walk just further down the road and we found alot of good places to eat.
Recommended.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yolanderHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We had a memorable time, staying in Otaru Furukawa hotel. The location was excellent, just near the Otaru canal and close to all the eateries. The service was excellent & the hotel food was great. The hotel rate is a bit pricey but we had the best stay in Hokkaido ! It has a lovely onsen in the hotel. It's not the comtemporary hotel, very quaint & unique. We love the ambience.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews