We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“運河側の部屋”
Review of Hotel Nord Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nord Otaru
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
Abuta-gun, Hokkaido, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“運河側の部屋”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed with friend who come from NARA
It is location that is convenient for Otaru tourism
Itwas very cheap rates and yet Service attitude was very good

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koyukisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    169
    62
    7
    4
See reviews for
123
95
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is just next to the canal and close to the tourist spots, convenient stores and restaurants. The location is better for those who drive as there’s certain distance away from the JR station although not too far. The room we stayed was quite small, but very clean. We did not expect much for the room rate we paid as it was quite cheap. When we got there, there's snow storm and since we arrived quite late and could only park our rental car outside the hotel. The staff was very nice and they helped us drive our car inside the parking lot in the next morning and clean the snow for us. The staff was very helpful when we asked them to help us call to reserve table in the nearby restaurant as well.
The European style of the hotel is also nice. The hotel also offered free wifi, but customers need to borrow a wifi router at reception in order to use it as there’s only lan inside the room. There’s a small shop inside the hotel which you can find some necessity including the anti-slippery shoe pads. Overall is a very good stay and recommend to those who would like to stay near the canal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovechubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My room has a view of the canal where some touristic boats are navigating. There is a square shape huge administrative building in front preventing the sceanary of habour.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loupserguey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A conveniently located hotel in Otaru. Rooms a bit small but generally clean. breakfast choices were a bit limited and bland. Nice building but feels a bit cold and impersonal like a castle. Staff was polite and efficient. Parking available but via lifts and fancy stacking in high tech Japan. Just across the road to the canal and shops. Just off the sasson highway and convenient to drive to other places. Just run of mill service. The exterior building is nice but otherwise nothing stands out in terms of service, rooms or facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked this hotel because of friend's recommendation. They said the view from this hotel is nice with the iconic Otaru canal view. However, the room we got is on the opposite site of the canal so there is nothing but street. What we love about this hotel is room decoration in European homey style with separate toilet and bathroom. The room is spacious and comfortable. Our room did not include breakfast because we planned to find a good Japanese restaurant that serve breakfast in the morning. Surprisingly, no shops or restaurant open before 10 AM so we had to head back to the hotel for breakfast. So, I recommend the travelers to book the room with breakfast otherwise you will have to pay for it at the hotel anyway. The breakfast is not so variety but enough selection and all are delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Didi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to have ample room to walk around after staying at tiny Sapporo and Hakodate hotel rooms. There's three "rooms" for bathroom (one for toilet, another for the sink/changing area and another for the bathtub with separate shower), which was a bonus.

It is about a 10-15 minute walk from JR Otaru Station so taxi is not required (we had two large luggage and managed to walk to the station in less than 15 minutes in the snow). It is very close to Asakusabashi Bridge, which is the perfect location for a picture of Otaru Canal with a view of the romantic warehouses. Otaru Beer is less than 5 minute walk away. The popular Sakaimachi Street that runs parallel to the canal is only a 5-10 minute walk away. The location is wonderful.

The hotel staff was super friendly and helped us make a dinner reservation at the famous Masa Sushi on Otaru's Sushi Street via our email communications. The only drawback is that breakfast is not included, but there's plenty of eateries within walking distances for great breakfast options.

Definitely would return to this hotel on our next trip back to Otaru.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hotel Nord's location makes it the Iconic hotel at Otaru, it is situated next to the canal and we stayed in a room which has the canal view. It was a memorable and romantic expenrience, during winter and in conjunction with the annual Otaru Light Festival! The bed is very comfortable and the breakfast is simple but good.

Room Tip: Choose the canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
788 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 21 in Otaru
188 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#5 of 21 in Otaru
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nord Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord Otaru

Property: Hotel Nord Otaru
Address: 1-4-16 Ironai, Otaru 047-0031, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nord Otaru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nord Otaru is located in front of Otaru Canal. It's located 7-minute walk from JR Otaru Station. Superior room has panoramic views of the Otaru canal. Free Wi-Fi support. Breakfast is served in buffet style in the image of the port city and Hokkaido. In the morning, you can also enjoy the magnificent scenery with views of Ishikari Bay in the top lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nord Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nord Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing