We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view of the Otaru canal”
Review of Hotel Nord Otaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nord Otaru
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Room with a view of the Otaru canal”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Got a very nice corner room with a view to the famous canal, too bad it is a twin bed room but we did not mind because of the view. Quite a walk from the JR station due to the snowy weather, should one be a problem in the summer. Very seldom stay in Otaru while visiting Sapporo but decided to give it a try. Dont think will stay in Otaru again because you get better deal with the Otaru-Sapporo pass.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    168
    62
    7
    4
See reviews for
123
95
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We were pleased with our one night here on Christmas Day. The reception / foyer area was a bit cold and dated, and so we weren't expecting too much from the room. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious and comfortable it was. A twin room with a decent sized bed made up for our son in the lounge area. It even had two toilets, with a door for each. Unlike some other Japanese hotels, we were able to cool the room down and sleep comfortably at night. All the sights are an easy walk, even in winter, with the canal and restaurants just across the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melscottmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were on a Hokkaido road trip and stayed at Hotel Nord for 1 night. Its location is convenient and directly across the picturesque Otaru Canal. It is a very walkable town and you can get to most restaurants, shops etc. by foot.

My only complaint was the room. We had asked for non-smoking rooms and were told that the hotel was fully booked. We ended up in rooms reeking of cigarette smoke. It was an awful experience overnight. Also, the rooms were very small.

Breakfast was very ordinary, with typical Japanese fare.

Otaru is a nice quaint town to visit but I would give this hotel a miss next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My fiance and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Nord. It was a short taxi ride from the Otaru train station (which we could have walked had it not been snowing) and is located adjacent to the main canal, the prettiest part of Otaru. The hotel is an old stone building and the foyer is impressive with stained glass windows and antique style furniture. The rooms were standard for Hokkaido (clean, neat and generally smaller than Western hotels).

I highly recommend this hotel. It is good value for money.

  • Liked — Close proximity to cultural sites of significance
  • Disliked — Restaurant was pricey
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TypicalSilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otaru hotels
Grand Park Otaru
#3 of 21 in Otaru
785 reviews
Authent Hotel Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sonia Otaru
#9 of 21 in Otaru
187 reviews
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Furukawa
Otaru Furukawa
#4 of 21 in Otaru
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nord Otaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord Otaru

Property: Hotel Nord Otaru
Address: 1-4-16 Ironai, Otaru 047-0031, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Otaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Otaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nord Otaru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nord Otaru is located in front of Otaru Canal. It's located 7-minute walk from JR Otaru Station. Superior room has panoramic views of the Otaru canal. Free Wi-Fi support. Breakfast is served in buffet style in the image of the port city and Hokkaido. In the morning, you can also enjoy the magnificent scenery with views of Ishikari Bay in the top lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nord Otaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nord Otaru Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing