We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpising good find”

Hakodate Asaichi Restaurant Ikuratei
Ranked #46 of 2,173 Restaurants in Hakodate
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Ikuratei looks like one of the typical Japanese restaurants , amongst the many in Hakodate morning market. Surprising good find, as it turns out that the restaurant makes its own ikura, which tasted really fresh and springy and not too salty. The restaurant also had soups like fish soup which is not commonly found at the others. Extensive menu that caters to ramen and don (rice bowl) lovers.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AbadiSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2017

Oct 15
We booked the Hakodate Danshaku Club Hotel without breakfast since the Morning Market is just outside the door. The dinner last night at Uni Murakami Honten was disappointing that we had to eat another dinner later at Hakodate Dining Gaya. This fueled my skepticism about the upcoming breakfast.
The search for breakfast among the open market vendors was bewildering with so much fresh seafood to look at. It reminded me of the wide array of vendors at Stone Town, Zanzibar's Forodhani Park where we wondered if the seafood was fresh. However, the big difference is that the seafood here is uncooked and has a good reputation for freshness.
At the end of the Market in a building not far from the Hakodate City Tourist Information Center is this resto, which I was told was a good place for noodles as well as seafood. It was already packed as other shops and restos were just opening. Sitting at the counter, the customer next to me assisted us in ordering. I had the salmon roe and uni rice bowl with a small bowl of ramen with cha siu and seaweed -- 1150Y. My wife had ramen with crab legs for 1400Y. Tea is free. A bargain!
We bumped into our friends and directed them to Ikuratei. By then, there was a queue and they waited 15 min.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We had to return to Donburi Yokocho Market after an awesome lunch the day before. So we decided to try the 2nd best rated which is Ikuratei. We were here at 1130am and again no queue. We got seated downstairs. Service is friendly & attentive. English menus available.

This time we decided to go for the sets for variation. I had the scallop, ikura & grilled salmon belly set while my friend went for the salmon trio. The seafood were super fresh. Loved my grilled salmon belly. From the char to the oily flesh. Ingredients not as abundant as Ebisuya but still okay for the price. Love the complimentary side of scallops bits, miso soup & pickles. We also ordered the squid sashimi to share. It is a must in Hakodate. Pretty good especially with some soy sauce & wasabi or ginger.

Overall another great meal at this market. Recommended for seafood lovers.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

If you've never had raw seafood before, try it at Ikuratei. Uni is fresh and tasty. Squid(ika) is recommended since Hakodate is famous for it. Every bowl comes with miso soup.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Boonsita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

We had a Super late lunch, close to 330pm. While most restaurants around the seafood market was closed, this one remained open..

We tried the crab ramen, crab tempura and sea urchin/salmon don.. all were well portioned and tasty!

Recommended due to freshness and quality!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank adventure_freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakodate Asaichi Restaurant Ikuratei also viewed

 

Been to Hakodate Asaichi Restaurant Ikuratei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing